We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Nearby Hotels
US$495
US$387
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$156
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$133
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$506
US$483
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
US$209
US$204
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$167
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,519)
Filter reviews
2,519 results
Traveller rating
1,191
913
299
89
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
913
299
89
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic poolgarden poolsea viewbuilding sitelovely hoteltime sharetea and coffeesalt waterold townjunior suitebuilding workbed and breakfastsea watergreat facilitieshalf boardbig hotelpool towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,106 - 1,111 of 2,519 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a great 4* hotel in Funchal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is great and offer free WIFI access. (No WIFI in the room). The rooms are big and comfy. I had a mountain view and it was really nice. The breakfast buffet had a great selection with cold and hot dishes. Downtown Funchal is about 10 mins walking distance. Around the hotel there is many restaurants as well and some convenience stores. Don't miss the view at sunset!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent 1 week here in May/June. Very nice relaxed hotel with very good services overall.
2 Outdoor pools which have to be accessed on lower floors on separate lift which can become a chore as the week goes on - would be more pleasant if one hadnt to change lifts to access it. Indoor pool and jacuzzi etc very good. Breakfast had a good selection of all the usual Fruits/Cereals/Fried Foods/Cheeses/Meats/Pastries/Breads and whilst good it would have been nice to have a more fo a variation over the week - as the week went on i found i didnt bother with breakfast. I would have liked if some fish was introduced and more quality meat and Cheese as the easy singles dont rate! Food in the outdoor dining near the pool appeared good and we had some drinks here which were enjoyable.However drinks at the bar were very expensive and a lot of the guests could be seen drinking in the bar across the street at nightime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnabellaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a time share which although very dated was clean with fantastic views of the sea. The hotel and hotel rooms though are well maintained and modern. Awesome and quiet pools. A must location.
The fruit market is a rip off, beware of taxi drivers taking you to the wrong location and charging for it. Had a lovely evening at the Ritz for 30 euro, drinks and buffet included. June firework display was the worst I have seen! Don't bother.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Although have made trips to Madeira, first time in The Pestana Carlton, the Hotel in a perfect position in Funchal, all staff friendly & courteous, the facilities provided are very good, therefore your break in Madeira is very relaxing & enjoying from beginning to end, the view from room stunning combining sea & pool view, with an abundance of very colourful flower beds, added bonus look onto Reids Palace.
Breakfast full excellent choice, one small criticism the coffee in coffee pots could have been hotter, all in all thanks to the Carlton for an excellent week.

Room Tip: My preference would 3rd or 4th floor overlooking pool, but if you like heights can go as high as 15th floor which give great panoramic views
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACT067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Mrs Bealbhocht picked this for the long promised trip to Madeira. Right next door to Reid's, in the best location in Funchal. Sensational views, and wonderful facilities. Breakfast was first class. There is really no criticism that can be made of it, except Bealbhocht's usual whinge that broadband, though free, was only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get one with an ocean rather than mountain view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bealbhocht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews