We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We ended up at this hotel due to a problem at another Pestana hotel. We weren't looking forward to it looking at the outside of the building which looks rather dated. However, we were allocated a junior suite overlooking the ocean which was absolutely gorgeous. It was stylish and roomy with a fab view.

The facilities are very good if you have children - both indoor and outdoor pools. We chose to learn how to scuba dive at the Madeira Divepoint (within the hotel grounds) which was amazing. We had a 9 and 12 year old in our group and the instructors were brilliant with them.

The food is lovely. All self service in the main restaurant. We were half board. Breakfast had everything you could think of. The dinner theme changed every evening and if you don't fancy it, you can change to have food in the pub or taverna. We had a late lunch in the roof top bar on two days which was beautiful.

My only criticisms are that there is only wifi on two floors. Would be great everywhere.

Some of the areas of the hotel are dated and the entertainment is a little old fashioned as it caters predominantly for older travellers. My parents loved it though.

It's also massive. You have to take three lifts to get to the sea pool which is where we spent most of our time.

There are time shares on this site. You can constantly see people being shown around getting the sales pitch.

All that said, I would definitely stay at this hotel again as the location is brilliant - right on the water with direct access to the sea, overlooking the famous Reid's Hotel. It's not far to walk into Funchal either.

The scuba diving was a real highlight and draws in a younger people. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Junior suite and be specific about having a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProducerEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 2,351 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just come back from 2 weeks at this hotel. It has got an excellent position within walking distance of Funchal and right on the sea. The hotel is manned by some very rude staff and on the second day we saw an argument between staff at the pool bar. Some staff were excellent but others need a crash course in customer service. The hotel is certainly not 5 stars, The pool area is spoilt by chairs so old and with no mattresses it made for very uncomfortable sunbathing. after some discussions with the management they found us 4 cushions but these were also well past there sell by date.When one member off staff were told they had bought the wrong order he stormed off and when returning almost through the order at us. We went Bed and breakfast and ate out at some gourmet restaurants in and around Funchal. breakfasts were very basic and looked unappetizing. For a 5 star hotel only to have WI FI on 3 floors is unacceptable in 2014. Drinks one would expect to be expensive but 3:30 Euro for a small coffee is a rip off.

We had our balcony door left wide open by staff on 2 occasions which made us worry about our possessions.

On a better note I unfortunately took ill at the hotel and was rushed to the hospital. the hotel were very good in looking after us and my wife and were concerned. We went through Thomsons and Millie the rep was very helpful.

Room Tip: sea view and high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffreykrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.

Good notice of your comments has been taken and we will do our best to improve.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent a week here in early June. Be careful when booking this hotel via Thomson holidays if two couples are going together. It wasn't really obvious on the Thomson website that we had not selected two rooms and initially all four adults had been booked into one room. It appears as though the Thomson website selects the cheapest option if hotels have rooms which will accommodate four adults. Luckily we managed to rectify this prior to travelling.

Despite around twenty to thirty persons arriving at once, check in was friendly, quick and efficient. Our luggage was brought to the room by the concierge. Unbeknown to us, we had been upgraded to a larger than standard room overlooking the mountains at the front of the hotel. We could not find fault with the spacious room and really comfortable beds. Tea and coffee were complimentary and we were able to continue to use the kettle for the duration of our stay. It is worth taking your own tea bags and coffee pouches to avoid having to pay to have the facilities replenished. Tap water is safe to drink and there are also safe drinking fountains all over the city. There is one right opposite the hotel entrance.

Some guests have mentioned noise at the front of the hotel from local bars. Personally I did not find this an issue and the only minor noise we heard was on a Friday and Saturday night.

We found the Hotel ideally placed in the city of Funchal, being around 15 minutes walk into the centre of Funchal and around a similar time to the opposite side known as the Lido area. In both areas there are a wide selection of restaurants and bars, of varying standard. Within 100 metres of the hotel, there are at least 4 bars and around 5 restaurants. We only tried one in this area, which we found to be of a very good standard. Also Bar number two right opposite the hotel entrance is very competitively priced with nice friendly staff and they do small snacks.

If you have walking difficulties and still like to get out and about, then this hotel may not be the right choice. In order to walk into the city centre, there is a fairly steep hill if you go via the harbour. Even the alternative more scenic route involves a 10 minutes walk up a reasonable incline which may be difficult for those with walking issues. Nonetheless taxi's are plentiful right across the city and there are taxi ranks everywhere, until the early hours. A taxi ride from the extreme end of the old town back to the hotel is around 7 Euro's.

Our only minor criticisms of the hotel were the extortionate bar prices. We went on the first day and ordered 1 small shandy, 2 large beers and a fizzy water - the bill came to 16.50 euros. The food prices at the poolside bar were equally as expensive. We never went back which was sad as the pool and snack bar areas are beautiful. I can never understand why hotels do this. Surely they would sell more to more people if they lowered the prices slightly. It is tragic to see bar staff standing there and there be so many empty tables around.

Within a few minutes walk of the hotel there are many shops selling excursions and walking tours. We used a company called Madeira Explorers - they were particularly efficient and had multilingual highly knowledgeable guides. You can book these walking tours in advance via their website. They offer tours of varying degrees of difficultly and length to suit most abilities.

Cash machines are plentiful all around the city and almost every bank has one outside.

There are two sightseeing buses called the yellow bus and the red bus operating around the city. They have approximately 18 stops and you can hop on and off as you please. You can pay as you get on or buy tickets in advance. Stop number one is at the harbour front, however you can start at any point in the sequence.

Room Tip: The higher the better for this hotel as the views are wonderful on both sides. We particularly enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank topcop999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a great 4* hotel in Funchal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The lobby is great and offer free WIFI access. (No WIFI in the room). The rooms are big and comfy. I had a mountain view and it was really nice. The breakfast buffet had a great selection with cold and hot dishes. Downtown Funchal is about 10 mins walking distance. Around the hotel there is many restaurants as well and some convenience stores. Don't miss the view at sunset!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lallice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent 1 week here in May/June. Very nice relaxed hotel with very good services overall.
2 Outdoor pools which have to be accessed on lower floors on separate lift which can become a chore as the week goes on - would be more pleasant if one hadnt to change lifts to access it. Indoor pool and jacuzzi etc very good. Breakfast had a good selection of all the usual Fruits/Cereals/Fried Foods/Cheeses/Meats/Pastries/Breads and whilst good it would have been nice to have a more fo a variation over the week - as the week went on i found i didnt bother with breakfast. I would have liked if some fish was introduced and more quality meat and Cheese as the easy singles dont rate! Food in the outdoor dining near the pool appeared good and we had some drinks here which were enjoyable.However drinks at the bar were very expensive and a lot of the guests could be seen drinking in the bar across the street at nightime.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnabellaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a time share which although very dated was clean with fantastic views of the sea. The hotel and hotel rooms though are well maintained and modern. Awesome and quiet pools. A must location.
The fruit market is a rip off, beware of taxi drivers taking you to the wrong location and charging for it. Had a lovely evening at the Ritz for 30 euro, drinks and buffet included. June firework display was the worst I have seen! Don't bother.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Although have made trips to Madeira, first time in The Pestana Carlton, the Hotel in a perfect position in Funchal, all staff friendly & courteous, the facilities provided are very good, therefore your break in Madeira is very relaxing & enjoying from beginning to end, the view from room stunning combining sea & pool view, with an abundance of very colourful flower beds, added bonus look onto Reids Palace.
Breakfast full excellent choice, one small criticism the coffee in coffee pots could have been hotter, all in all thanks to the Carlton for an excellent week.

Room Tip: My preference would 3rd or 4th floor overlooking pool, but if you like heights can go as high as 15t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACT067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#23 of 88 in Funchal
914 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £72 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira is a luxurious and charming 5-star hotel in the city of Funchal, on the island Madeira with views of the sea, garden, swimming pool or Funchal bay. It's only 10 minutes on foot from the city centre, with a private car park available for a fee. It features two enormous outdoor saltwater swimming pools, direct access to the Atlantic ocean, and a dive centre where you can experience your first underwater adventure and take boat excursions. For deeper relaxation, you can take advantage of all of the services available at the Spa, including the 25-foot indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and relaxation rooms where you can enjoy a Magic Spa treatment. The hotel features Wi-Fi, four restaurants and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing