We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just had ten days here. Very good accommodation, great location and facilities. Had a lunch on day one and did not eat other than breakfast again. Over cooked Herrings.
Otherwise, staff friendly and helpful and rooms kept very clean.

Room Tip: Floors 1 to 4 seem the best but the tower gives good views.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Carlton Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Pestana Carlton for one week in June, as it was our first visit to Madeira. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking into the main town and if travelling on a Bed and Breakfast basis, has a number of restaurants located within a few minutes’ walk of it. We had booked Bed and Breakfast as we like to try out various restaurants, and were not disappointed. We had a room on the 15th Floor with a superb sea view and balcony. All the staff that we met were extremely helpful, cheerful and pleasant. There was a large selection of food at the buffet breakfast, and the food was good. The room that we had was serviced daily in the morning and evening and was very clean. All the facilities at the hotel were excellent. On the Saturday evening we decided to book for a special dinner on the Terrace on the 18th floor of the hotel. This was to celebrate the Atlantic Festival which is held in Funchal on every Saturday during June. There was a full buffet meal with drinks included and the terrace overlooked the port where a Fireworks display was being held, so you had a brilliant view. All in all it was a superb evening and we totally enjoyed it. To sum up the hotel, everything about it was good and we would definitely stay there again without question. A very good experience.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view - It's worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

It was two years since our last visit to the Carlton Hotel and it was pleasing to note a few changes and improvements.
There has been a real effort to make the pool areas more attractive and the flower beds were looking extremely colourful, particularly around the garden poo. Unfortunately, the ocean level sun terrace is still sporting the same old stained and well-used sunbeds and the rusted and threadbare parasols. However, a few flower tubs have now been installed around the front edge of the terrace in an attempt at giving a more pleasing outlook. A pity that no-one seems to be caring for the plants though as they were desperately in need of a good watering.
There was certainly much more going on in the way of entertainment in the evenings but sadly they were very poorly attended and we can only think this is because of the ridiculously high prices charged for drinks.
The time share apartments are coning to the end of their current shelf-life with only 3/4 more years left on the 30 year leases. Apparently, the rooms are all due to be modernized and re-furbished at that point so in the meantime it is a case of accepting the tired and dated furnishings.
The hotel is excellently located for walking into Funchal; is close to the main bus stops, taxi rank and so many restaurants that you are spoilt for choice. On the whole, the staff are pleasant and helpful and the ones in the Owner Relations Office are available to answer questions, advise on trips and excursions, book shows and restaurants for you.

Room Tip: If staying in the hotel ask for a garden room overlooking the pool and with a sea view. If in the t...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel in September of last year and we were both extremely happy with everything about it. The staff were friendly upon arrival despite having a lot of check-ins arriving at once, it was still fairly quick. Our cases were waiting for us at our room, which was a great size and had an amazing view of the City and the mountains.

The hotel's location is ideal for the City centre and the walk down the main street is quite nice. We made the most of the complimentary champagne at breakfast and enjoyed the food thoroughly. It was nice and relaxing in the evenings sitting on the terrace bar while some live music played.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Others have praised this beautifully appointed hotel, the very friendly and helpful staff, (can't understand the review complaining about them, says more about the reveiwer than the staff!), so I will try to give some useful information.
Kettle and cups in room free to use but (maybe as were were with Thomsons) a charge of 6 euros if the tea/coffe supply is replenished.
We were given a Priority guest card which I didn't realise gives 5 % off drinks. It was a few days before a barman asked for it but Reception kindly offered to backdate the discount, but I declined.
It seemed that the bed linen was changed daily and we had a turn-down service but if you don't want to be disturbed put the notice on the door.
There is a shop by the Garden pool which sells English newspapers and cigarettes as well as other holiday items.
Any problems that the staff could put right, were put right. The shortage of hanging space in our room was annoying but extra hangers appeared within fifteen minutes of us asking. Similarly, the heavy mirrored doors on the wardrobe were a nuisance. Also the bed was comfortable but any movement was felt by the other person. However, these matters will have to wait for the next refurbishment, which from the good condition of our room, may be some long time away.
Spar shop diagonally opposite. Further past, down the hill about 100 yards, two Irish pubs.
Up a lane opposite hotel about 50 yards is a taxi rank. About 5 Euros into town which one could walk as downhill but well worth the taxi coming back!
Reception sells tickets for the Red Bus (open top sightseeing) but the other company, Yellow bus, has more routes. Tickets can be bought on board, nearest stop by Reids about 4 minute walk away.
Each Saturday in June there is a firework display by companies competing for the New Years' Eve show. As this hotel is quite high one has a good view.
Enjoyed our stay, full marks to Thomsons for a good flight, attentive cabin staff, and the hotel rep, Millie.

Room Tip: Obviously sea view, probably up high but I don't know if they are all as nice ours on floor 3.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MWlshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great location ideal for walking into Funchal or along the Estrada Monumental. We booked via RCI as a timeshare exchange and we had a suite in the main tower block with front views of the fabulous bay and side views towards Reids. Very good standard of furnishings and loads of space including two bathrooms! Good standard of cleanliness with daily linen change. No WIFI in the rooms which was disappointing but the public rooms had good access. The hotel restaurants were a bit pricey and therefore pretty empty and the English Pub was frankly gloomy. However there's loads of choice in the immediate locale and a great little bar directly opposite which we frequented for a nightcap. Pool and garden areas beautifully kept and a lovely view from the poolside snackbar. Worth the trip downstairs or in the lift to the sea level Atlantic pool and spa. Overall a good value exchange of our timeshare week and we plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower block have best views across the bay. Corner suites are large and sunny.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanneC58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having decided to visit Maderia for a holiday we chose the Pestana Carlton in Funchal for our stay.We were delighted with this hotel which is well positioned and a short walk to the town centre, this is mainly a downhill 30 minutes stroll but you may need good legs for the return journey, however, a taxi or bus will bring you back without difficulty.The hotel has a great deal to offer for most and is very smart, clean and spacious. It is well managed and the staff are always ready to give the professional service required with a ready smile and a cheerful response. We had a suite on the eleventh floor for myself, my wife, and our daughter, and this was most comfortable. We had tea, coffee, water and soft drinks available in our room and all we needed for making tea or coffee when needed. The rooms were serviced every morning and early evening and we had a nice balcony with a mountain view. We were offered a sea view at extra cost but declined, but this was our choice and the vista from our suite was not in the least disagreeable, in fact, it was interesting to watch the town wake up in the morning and the sunrise before we descended to the restaurant terrace for a superb breakfast from a buffet which should not be revealed to 'weight watchers' ! We will certainly go back to the Carlton and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: As always a matter of personal choice, but the mountain view is not disagreeable and at higher level...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaybe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,872 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#23 of 88 in Funchal
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £72 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira is a luxurious and charming 5-star hotel in the city of Funchal, on the island Madeira with views of the sea, garden, swimming pool or Funchal bay. It's only 10 minutes on foot from the city centre, with a private car park available for a fee. It features two enormous outdoor saltwater swimming pools, direct access to the Atlantic ocean, and a dive centre where you can experience your first underwater adventure and take boat excursions. For deeper relaxation, you can take advantage of all of the services available at the Spa, including the 25-foot indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and relaxation rooms where you can enjoy a Magic Spa treatment. The hotel features Wi-Fi, four restaurants and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing