We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with great sea views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great sea views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Just spent two weeks in this lovely hotel.Fantastic sea views we had a junior suite on the 11th floor over looking the sea.Staff very friendly. Couldn't find fault just perfect for our needs.Would recommend the hotel and location. Plenty of restaurants nearby for all tastes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margs53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your holiday in Madeira. We are very happy to understand that we have corresponded to your expectations.
Offering memorable moments is one of our main objectives and we very glad to have accomplished.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    761
    240
    76
    16
See reviews for
461
1,297
55
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at the Pestana Carlton as part of a Thomson holiday deal on a bed and breakfast basis. The location offers an easy walk to lido and to old town (though the latter is slightly more taxing in the way back, up a big hill). Breakfast was good with a lot of choice (I had something different every day) thought I occasionally felt we had to wait a bit longer than some of the older guests. We are a young couple so the age range at the time we visited was a little... old... though this must have been echoed by most hotels in the area judging by those walking around the town and touristy areas.

The pool and facilities were excellent (the whole hotel is huge!): the indoor spa and swimming pool were both great, as well as the free snooker table and table tennis table, sadly didn't use the outside pool too much as it was a bit cold, but it did look lovely.

We stayed in the standard double room, they were rather large! The only thing that let the rooms and inside of the hotel down was the decor, carpets etc were a little dated and linen in the bedroom was just standard white sheets, nothing fancy like you'd expect from a 5*. We were on the lowest floor (8th floor - or 1st floor from the upper entrance) at the front of the building and it could get a little noisy with cars etc at certain times of day.

Overall it was a good hotel for the price we paid (a last minute 35% discount) and it was pleasant but I would probably look to try out a different hotel if we were to return to Madeira.

Room Tip: At the back of the building or higher up to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We are very happy to read that it was in a whole a great holiday.
Our guest’s opinion is very important for us; therefore it was with concern that we read your comments about the decor. Good notice of your recommendations has been taken and we will do our best to improve.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great hotel, good location, entertainment was only downside could have made a bit ore lively, staff very helpful. Food good quality and plenty of choice, plenty of activities. 15 mins from centre or same to Lido.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerryvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review/feedback.
The Management and all the Staff from the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just had ten days here. Very good accommodation, great location and facilities. Had a lunch on day one and did not eat other than breakfast again. Over cooked Herrings.
Otherwise, staff friendly and helpful and rooms kept very clean.

Room Tip: Floors 1 to 4 seem the best but the tower gives good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Pestana Carlton for one week in June, as it was our first visit to Madeira. The hotel is in an ideal location for walking into the main town and if travelling on a Bed and Breakfast basis, has a number of restaurants located within a few minutes’ walk of it. We had booked Bed and Breakfast as we like to try out various restaurants, and were not disappointed. We had a room on the 15th Floor with a superb sea view and balcony. All the staff that we met were extremely helpful, cheerful and pleasant. There was a large selection of food at the buffet breakfast, and the food was good. The room that we had was serviced daily in the morning and evening and was very clean. All the facilities at the hotel were excellent. On the Saturday evening we decided to book for a special dinner on the Terrace on the 18th floor of the hotel. This was to celebrate the Atlantic Festival which is held in Funchal on every Saturday during June. There was a full buffet meal with drinks included and the terrace overlooked the port where a Fireworks display was being held, so you had a brilliant view. All in all it was a superb evening and we totally enjoyed it. To sum up the hotel, everything about it was good and we would definitely stay there again without question. A very good experience.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view - It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

It was two years since our last visit to the Carlton Hotel and it was pleasing to note a few changes and improvements.
There has been a real effort to make the pool areas more attractive and the flower beds were looking extremely colourful, particularly around the garden poo. Unfortunately, the ocean level sun terrace is still sporting the same old stained and well-used sunbeds and the rusted and threadbare parasols. However, a few flower tubs have now been installed around the front edge of the terrace in an attempt at giving a more pleasing outlook. A pity that no-one seems to be caring for the plants though as they were desperately in need of a good watering.
There was certainly much more going on in the way of entertainment in the evenings but sadly they were very poorly attended and we can only think this is because of the ridiculously high prices charged for drinks.
The time share apartments are coning to the end of their current shelf-life with only 3/4 more years left on the 30 year leases. Apparently, the rooms are all due to be modernized and re-furbished at that point so in the meantime it is a case of accepting the tired and dated furnishings.
The hotel is excellently located for walking into Funchal; is close to the main bus stops, taxi rank and so many restaurants that you are spoilt for choice. On the whole, the staff are pleasant and helpful and the ones in the Owner Relations Office are available to answer questions, advise on trips and excursions, book shows and restaurants for you.

Room Tip: If staying in the hotel ask for a garden room overlooking the pool and with a sea view. If in the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel in September of last year and we were both extremely happy with everything about it. The staff were friendly upon arrival despite having a lot of check-ins arriving at once, it was still fairly quick. Our cases were waiting for us at our room, which was a great size and had an amazing view of the City and the mountains.

The hotel's location is ideal for the City centre and the walk down the main street is quite nice. We made the most of the complimentary champagne at breakfast and enjoyed the food thoroughly. It was nice and relaxing in the evenings sitting on the terrace bar while some live music played.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Dear Guests
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing