We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Experience but doesn't feel 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My other half has been to Madeira quite a few times and normally stays at the Royal Savoy next door but we thought we would give the Pestana ago. We booked the holiday via Thompson who said it was a 5* hotel.

First impression of the hotel is good, the main lobby was clean and the area surrounding the hotel was nice. The staff that checked us in were really friendly. There was a problem with our room, we booked a room with a "sea view" but the room we was given was a view of the mountains. We went back down to reception and all was sorted.

We was given a room with overlooked the marina on the 18th floor! It was an amazing view and worth the extra cost for the room! The room was clean and a good size. Our room has a small TV that does have some English channels (BBC News, CNN and BBC Entertainment) and a fridge. Just a warning, the fridge is pretty small so don't rely on it too much. The air conditioning was okay but not amazing, it resulted in us using the spare key to leave it on 24/7 to keep the room cool. Our room also had a small balcony that had a table and two wicker chairs. There was also dressing gowns, towels and beach towels which was a nice touch.

The pool area was kept really clean with plenty of room. The only issue we had was finding the pool attendant. It was quite a busy week for the hotel but there only seemed to be one guy around the pool areas. There are two pool areas which are both pretty nice. There is also a indoor pool with a massive jacuzzi.

Our room was Bed and Breakfast, at first the breakfast was really nice however its the same everyday. We got sooo bored and fed up of the same food that we started to skip it. We didn't eat anything else at the hotel as there is plenty of restaurants in the area. I would recommend Beef and Wine which is about a 5 minute walk away.

It can be quite loud in the evening, we did go for a couple of drinks in one of the terrances which was nice in the evening however when you got to your room you could hear the same guy singing! The bar staff were amazing, I got any cocktail/drink I wanted, just had to ask. They seem to know what is what.

Overall the hotel was really good, the only issue was the 5 stars. It isn't a 5 star hotel! We went expecting a 5 star hotel and didn't get it.

Overall the hotel was nice

Room Tip: Get a sea view room... really worth the extra money!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the opportunity by choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your holiday in Madeira.
The views from the 18th floor are indeed very impressive, we are very happy to hear that after sorted about the room you have enjoyed it.
Regarding the English channels, we are obliged to inform that this is a situation out of our power as the problems with the satellite do not let us receive the signal in Portugal as we used to. We are hoping to find a solution in the near future.
We understood that we did not meet your expectations totally and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,315)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Carlton Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Am actually a little late in writing this review as we actually stayed here in early June. Better late than never though. This hotel sits at the top of a steep road (no real surprise here as a lot of roads are steep!) leading out of Funchal heading towards the lido area. We were very lucky to have been given a pool view room on checking in which gave us a beautiful sun soaked balcony overlooking the sea as well as the pool. The hotel is well maintained and the staff were all very friendly - particularly Lisbeth (apologies for spelling!) on reception who was always smiling and greeted us by name whenever we passed the front desk. The overall standard was very appealing and I would love to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CMHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and wish to come back soon.
We can assure you that your comments addressed to the team have been very much appreciated as the recognition of our dear guests.
We look forward to hear of your return.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

this was our 3 holiday in maderia and our second visit to the pestana carlton[first 2013] with our friends sue&steve.our room was 1722 which was on a corner so we got a 180% view which was great.we booked in as b&b which were more than ample,fried,continental,fresh fruit,loads of coffee or tea.the weather was a mix of strong breezes,sunshine and a day of rain but we still enjoyed sunbathing by the pools.the staff were very helpfull and friendly like the last visit.if you go like we did b&b then heres a few places that you might like to eat in,Casa des Espetadas,Casa Madeirense,Kon-Tiki restaurant[5 minutes away from the hotel,beef on the stone was wonderfull].,Beef &Wines[this one is a must go to] and to finish the holiday off book a meal at the Forte, really good food but book the vintage car to pick you up and take you back, spoil yourself.the city centre is only 15-20 minutes walk away, on the way there are some wonderfull gardens to look at, if your feeling peckish then call in at Alfazeme a little coffe/tea shop right on the front near the cable cars, really nice cakes and snacks. the only blot on what was a lovely week was the thomson trip to the east of the island which we paid £100 for,it rained all day,thick cloud so you could not see anything,we saw lots of toilets and coffee shops as the tour rep had not got a plan be, never again.overall a very good holiday and we all look forward to going back in the near future.

Room Tip: we asked for a room high up and we got a room with a fantastic view of the capital and mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel thanks you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website.
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed another good holiday with your friends in Madeira and Pestana Carlton.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We attended a Pestana hotels options session at this hotel. We were offered a deal for future bookings at £3900 which quickly dropped to £3200 proviided we signed up immediately. We asked for a few hours to check our finances and estimate the value for money of the offer. We were told we had to sign up there and then to get the discount.

The next day we rang the sales agent but she did not return our calls.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank clnwrgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review in the Tripadvisor and we sincerely hope you have enjoyed your recent holiday with us.
We notice your comment regarding the presentation of the Pestana Options and we regret any inconvenience caused. Should you wish to follow up on that situation you may contact the Hotel directly with more details.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future at the Pestana Carlton.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Where do I begin?! This hotel has exceeded our expectations and has allowed us to have an enjoyable week away. The staff were incredibly helpful and attentive, especially the front desk and the bell hop, who went out of his way to make you feel welcome. We chose to go for a mountain view room with bed and breakfast; we were given a room on the 17th floor with a twin bed. The view was amazing as we were able to see the city wake up and sleep, some people have said it was loud, but we found no problem of that. The room itself was clean and well maintained, with the cleaners helping maintain this, and we polite and friendly when we came in contact with them. The breakfast available was a buffet and enable us to have a wide choice of food from bread to fruit and everything in between, the waiters/waitresses were all helpful and brought over hot drinks when sat down. As for evening meals we went out every night we can not comment on the evening meals available at the hotel but we had no complaints about the wide variety of restaurants available. Highly recommend 'The Chalet' and 'The Red Lion' for reasonably priced food, good quality and friendly staff!!!

During our stay we played Tennis, which we had to rent equipment out for a fee (we would have brought our own if we knew this - as there is an expensive fee for loss of tennis balls, which is very easy as there is a river and a cliff either side of the court), we also made good use of the game area in the hotel which is good for pool, table tennis and table football which did not incur any additional cost. The pools and the surrounding area was tranquil and picturesque. We left the tours to late to be able to book however went up on the cable car, which had beautiful views, however not good if you cannot work up steep hills, and additional cost is incurred if you want to enter any gardens up there (which is one of the few things to do) but would highly recommend this as it made a good afternoon activity.

Overall the holiday was amazing and has and will be highly recommended to our friends and family. We booked and traveled with Thomson, and yet again no complaints they made our holiday enjoyable and put us at ease, we can understand why so many people travel with them.

We are already at looking to come back and would highly recommend this hotel, hope this review helps with your decision!

Room Tip: The higher the room up seems to be the better choice especially when not facing the sea, however on...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Kirsty19848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guests,
We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations and that you have enjoyed an amazing holiday in Madeira with us.
Your kind words addressing the Staff are very much appreciated, showing that everybody is really committed to fulfill our mission: offering memorable holidays.
Good notice of your remarks about the tennis service has been taken. We also take this opportunity to promote a new activity in the hotel for our guests: the paddle.
We sincerely thank you for your recommendation and we believe that your wonderful review will help many other people.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Lovely hotel and friendly staff. Had a 'mountain' view which was fascinating by day and lovely with the lights of Funchal at night but it could be a bit noisy, even on the15th floor. All the facilities were good. Only one gripe which won't apply to most. I'm vegetarian and the range of food available was awful! The labelling was often non existent and even the most appetising salads had bits of ham or fish added which didn't add to the taste but made it no go for me. The main courses were even worse. Pasta or nothing all week. The rep (who was lovely and a veggie too!) could only suggest a note in Portuguese explaining I was veggie. No real effect although on one occasion the chef did me a separate pasta but I was heartily bored by the end of the week. NOT 5 star!
Recommend the red bus tour, the toboggan ride, levada walks and the Funchal gardens. Also the Pestana Miramar nearby for a more extensive cocktail range and far cheaper than the Carlton. The Carlton is far too expensive for snacks.
Overall it was a lovely break and we would return again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel thanks you for your feedback.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed a lovely holiday with us.
Unfortunately, we did not manage to fulfill your needs regarding your vegetarian meals. Please accept our most sincere apologies and be so kind to let us know of your return beforehand so that the Chef and Maître together can be ready to help you.
We look forward to hear from you.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This is the second Pestana hotel we've stayed in. Overall it was good but very expensive for anything additional.

The breakfast buffet has a very broad selection of good quality food. The pool areas were spotless and beautifully maintained. The staff were very friendly and the hotel itself was spacious and provided many spaces to sit and watch the spectacular views.

However - our room wasn't cleaned consistently, with some surfaces collecting dust and the toiletries not replaced daily (although this was rectified when a staff member asked) which isn't what you expect from a 5* hotel.
Additionally the pool snack bar was extremely extremely expensive for what you got.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toblerone49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for spending your time on submitting a review about your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel. We have read your opinion about the food pricing and we are very sorry for your disappointment.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,868 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#23 of 88 in Funchal
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £72 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira is a luxurious and charming 5-star hotel in the city of Funchal, on the island Madeira with views of the sea, garden, swimming pool or Funchal bay. It's only 10 minutes on foot from the city centre, with a private car park available for a fee. It features two enormous outdoor saltwater swimming pools, direct access to the Atlantic ocean, and a dive centre where you can experience your first underwater adventure and take boat excursions. For deeper relaxation, you can take advantage of all of the services available at the Spa, including the 25-foot indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and relaxation rooms where you can enjoy a Magic Spa treatment. The hotel features Wi-Fi, four restaurants and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing