We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good 4-star hotel (not 5)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Lugo, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good 4-star hotel (not 5)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms: very big and comfortable

Cleaning in the rooms: Could be better

Staff: Some of them at the reception desk need to be reminded of being a little bit more attentive. (Anecdote: We heard one person at the reception desk recommend "Cipriani" when someone asked for a place to eat pizza with no mention whatsoever of the price or category of the restaurant - really malicious)

Pools: Excellent but nobody takes a shower before getting into the pool and the pool attendants ignore this- most people, though, smear themselves with sun creams and lotions so the showers are necessary. There is a small drawing of a shower by the steps into the pool but it is not enough as a reminder, obviously.

Breakfast: Varied, nice pastries (not too much variety there, though, considering the quality and variety of Portuguese confectionery), poor juices (not fresh), very small water / juice glasses.

Wi-fi: very poor; besides, it does not work with all types of gadgets

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are 45€ more but we learnt that on arrival; nowhere in the brochures had w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosaperezparapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for spending our precious time on submitting review about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We have carefully read all your comments. Good notice has been taken and we will do our best to improve.
We are somehow surprised with your comment about the reception because normally we only advice the Cipriani restaurant for Italian meals, but we have also Luigi’s pizzeria, which takes part of the Pestana group and is located next to the Pestana Miramar Hotel.
The pool team will also pay more attention, especially now that it is the summer time and the hotel is fully booked, the number of people increases considerably.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    761
    240
    76
    16
See reviews for
461
1,297
55
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (686)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a great time at the Carlton again. This Hotel has the best location in Funchal and from our room on the 16th floor we had a fabulous view over the Harbour and mountains. It is great to sit on the balcony at dusk and watch all the street lights going on in the villages in the mountains.

Our room was cleaned and we had clean bedding and towels every day.

The staff are very friendly and helpful able to advise re places of interest and good restaurants.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to people of all ages.

Room Tip: High floor on side over looking harbour and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madeiralovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review at Tripadvisor, showing that the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel is suitable for all kind of travelers and all ages.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed anther lovely holiday with us. We kindly thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a five star hotel overall but the room I stayed in is nearer to four star. I cannot fault the staff who are courteous, efficient & really want to provide a holiday to remember. I enjoyed the buffet foods with plenty of selection & good quality.

Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for providing the best holiday I have had In years. I think the local community also contribute significantly to the experience. No raised voices or poor language & always eager to helps the visitors In any way they can.

Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have direct access from you balcony area to the pool area, very convenient. Select...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Derek405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website about your enjoyable holiday.
We are very glad to hear that you have truly enjoyed. To ensure memorable holidays to all or dear guests is one of our main concerns.
We are very happy to her of your return next year.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel. The room had everything we needed and was a good size and very clean. The room was cleaned daily with plenty of towels for both the bathroom and pool area supplied plus there was coffee/tea making facilities. The view was great overlooking the sea and pool area from the balcony. The breakfast was very good, we dinned out in the evenings so can't comment on the meals in the hotel. The hotel pools are great plus there is access into the sea for swimming/snorkeling which was perfect. There was a gym,jacuzzi also.
There are lots of quieter area within the hotel and grounds which is nice plus the well maintained garden areas are a nice touch. The location was good, around a 20 -25 min walk into old town but still plenty of bars/restruants nearby.

Room Tip: Sea view , high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westerlytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Madeira.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent week in July in Madeira. Funchal and Madiera magnificent, Pestana Carlton not so great. Check in process took 90 minutes including 1st offer of room on second floor, next to treatment centre overlooking pool- claimed it was an upgrade. Also no record of a Double room booking. eventual a room was found on the 16th, mountain view which was OK. Hotel definitely not 5 star and overpriced. Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice, swimming areas also good, no problems with availability of sunbeds.

Will we return, Madeira yes, Funchal yes, Carlton no.

Ps Mountain walks definitely worth booking anf Jeep tours. Go direct not tour opperators.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RHCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guests,
We thank you very much for your review and feedback about your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
Unfortunately we did not meet all your expectations, kindly accept our sincerest apologies.
Regarding the situation with the room, we are obliged to re confirm that receiving a room with pool view when the booking was made for a Mountain View room, it is considered an upgrade. However, we understand that you have not appreciated the upgrade and were then allocated a room as booked originally.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again one day.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked a 10 day stay at the Pestana Carlton, 7 of us in total, 2 twenty year olds and 1 15 year old and 4 adults. I can only say that the lack of activities for teenagers is unbelievable, be warned if you're taking teenagers to this destination. The Pestana claims to be a 5 star hotel! Well, not for me, at all. I also found that the lack of engagement from the staff was so noticeable having said that the staff who deserve a mention, are, Lisbeth, front desk, Viverio breakfast room and restaurant, Graca & Gonete in the Spa were all pluses. Negatives, lack of mini bar, 4 drinks, 3 soft and 1 beer, paper thin bath towels and really expensive drinks from the bar, Pub number 2 across the road lets you see why. I also appreciate that I too will be call an old man one day and this is when I might consider returning to the Pestana Carlton hopefully all the staff will be trained like the ones named.

Tip for the manager. Organise a "meet the manager" evening giving the guests a chance to meet the team looking after them during their stay. We don't want to be invited to an evening of someone trying to sell us modern day timeshare now known as Options. Come on. This is far from 5 star behaviour.

Regards.

Room Tip: You'll want to ask for a pool view. Wi-Fi in designated areas only, not in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichaelA1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your contribution in Tripadvisor giving us a feedback from your holiday.
We really appreciate you choosing us among the many hotel options available in Madeira.
We believe that our team is all very focused on offering the best service possible and we thank you for your kind words regarding some of the staff; we hope these words will serve as an incentive.
We were also very concerned with the faults named and we feel sorry for not have had the opportunity to speak to you about them during your stay. Together surely we would have found suitable solutions.
We would like to take this opportunity to mention that this summer a new program has been prepared specially for our younger guests (Kid’s entertainment) including various activities like painting, art, cupcake cooking, mini-golf and more.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here in July 2014. To be clear this is not a five star hotel. It's 4 star at best and the service is poor and the whilst some of the staff are friendly others could be quite rude.
The food in the hotel is not great quality but has 5 star prices. E.g. A poor tuna sand which can be purchased for 6 euros whilst a better quality version can be bought over the road at a restaurant for just over 2 euros.
The views to be fair are good but you could get those at any hotel in Madeira. The final straw for me was on the last day when they started to repair the pool at 10am. Workmen started work right in front of us without any explanation and then left toxic sealant and materials unguarded whilst they went for breaks...next to an area designed for small toddlers. This was indicative of a number of experiences over the holiday. Definitely wouldn't go back and wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel takes this opportunity to thank you for taking your time to give us your opinion about your recent stay. We regret for your disappointment and we would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling you shortly and for the situation mentioned by the pool. We are certain that you understand that repair is needed for improving and making the area better for the use of our dear guests but we will need to verify with the maintenance department what happened to avoid leaving materials behind without any explanation which is normally not in our standards.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 87 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing