We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Carlton Madeira
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Gardens(Funchal)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$171
US$154
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$487
US$385
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$121
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$458
US$409
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$261
US$150
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$133
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Duas Torres(Funchal)
US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$237
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,525)
Filter reviews
2,525 results
Traveller rating
1,194
914
300
89
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
914
300
89
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic poolgarden poolsea viewbuilding sitelovely hoteltime sharetea and coffeesalt waterold townjunior suitebuilding workbed and breakfastsea watergreat facilitieshalf boardbig hotelpool towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,061 - 1,066 of 2,525 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Rooms: very big and comfortable

Cleaning in the rooms: Could be better

Staff: Some of them at the reception desk need to be reminded of being a little bit more attentive. (Anecdote: We heard one person at the reception desk recommend "Cipriani" when someone asked for a place to eat pizza with no mention whatsoever of the price or category of the restaurant - really malicious)

Pools: Excellent but nobody takes a shower before getting into the pool and the pool attendants ignore this- most people, though, smear themselves with sun creams and lotions so the showers are necessary. There is a small drawing of a shower by the steps into the pool but it is not enough as a reminder, obviously.

Breakfast: Varied, nice pastries (not too much variety there, though, considering the quality and variety of Portuguese confectionery), poor juices (not fresh), very small water / juice glasses.

Wi-fi: very poor; besides, it does not work with all types of gadgets

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view are 45€ more but we learnt that on arrival; nowhere in the brochures had we read that.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosaperezparapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for spending our precious time on submitting review about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We have carefully read all your comments. Good notice has been taken and we will do our best to improve.
We are somehow surprised with your comment about the reception because normally we only advice the Cipriani restaurant for Italian meals, but we have also Luigi’s pizzeria, which takes part of the Pestana group and is located next to the Pestana Miramar Hotel.
The pool team will also pay more attention, especially now that it is the summer time and the hotel is fully booked, the number of people increases considerably.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Had a great time at the Carlton again. This Hotel has the best location in Funchal and from our room on the 16th floor we had a fabulous view over the Harbour and mountains. It is great to sit on the balcony at dusk and watch all the street lights going on in the villages in the mountains.

Our room was cleaned and we had clean bedding and towels every day.

The staff are very friendly and helpful able to advise re places of interest and good restaurants.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to people of all ages.

Room Tip: High floor on side over looking harbour and mountains
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Madeiralovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review at Tripadvisor, showing that the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel is suitable for all kind of travelers and all ages.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed anther lovely holiday with us. We kindly thank you for your loyalty and look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is a five star hotel overall but the room I stayed in is nearer to four star. I cannot fault the staff who are courteous, efficient & really want to provide a holiday to remember. I enjoyed the buffet foods with plenty of selection & good quality.

Thanks to all the staff at the hotel for providing the best holiday I have had In years. I think the local community also contribute significantly to the experience. No raised voices or poor language & always eager to helps the visitors In any way they can.

Can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have direct access from you balcony area to the pool area, very convenient. Select a room above the sixth floor for nice views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Derek405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website about your enjoyable holiday.
We are very glad to hear that you have truly enjoyed. To ensure memorable holidays to all or dear guests is one of our main concerns.
We are very happy to her of your return next year.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel. The room had everything we needed and was a good size and very clean. The room was cleaned daily with plenty of towels for both the bathroom and pool area supplied plus there was coffee/tea making facilities. The view was great overlooking the sea and pool area from the balcony. The breakfast was very good, we dinned out in the evenings so can't comment on the meals in the hotel. The hotel pools are great plus there is access into the sea for swimming/snorkeling which was perfect. There was a gym,jacuzzi also.
There are lots of quieter area within the hotel and grounds which is nice plus the well maintained garden areas are a nice touch. The location was good, around a 20 -25 min walk into old town but still plenty of bars/restruants nearby.

Room Tip: Sea view , high up
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank westerlytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Your opinion is very important to the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Madeira.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent week in July in Madeira. Funchal and Madiera magnificent, Pestana Carlton not so great. Check in process took 90 minutes including 1st offer of room on second floor, next to treatment centre overlooking pool- claimed it was an upgrade. Also no record of a Double room booking. eventual a room was found on the 16th, mountain view which was OK. Hotel definitely not 5 star and overpriced. Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice, swimming areas also good, no problems with availability of sunbeds.

Will we return, Madeira yes, Funchal yes, Carlton no.

Ps Mountain walks definitely worth booking anf Jeep tours. Go direct not tour opperators.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guests,
We thank you very much for your review and feedback about your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
Unfortunately we did not meet all your expectations, kindly accept our sincerest apologies.
Regarding the situation with the room, we are obliged to re confirm that receiving a room with pool view when the booking was made for a Mountain View room, it is considered an upgrade. However, we understand that you have not appreciated the upgrade and were then allocated a room as booked originally.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again one day.
With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews