We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Timeshare ? Move round the corner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #31 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Bad Bits: Reception staff extremely rude- We went to check in, without even looking at us the girl at the desk waved her hand and said' timeshare round the corner'. We were not timeshare but had paid a lot for a thomson holiday. No request for info was answered by reception until they had asked if we were timeshare! We felt quite unwelcome. To add insult to injury they then enquired if we wanted to leave an additional tip on our hotel bill when we went to check out.
Breakfast could have been OK but bread had been sliced and then left out too long, hot dishes lukewarm.
Buffet dinner a little below average, wine exorbitant prices - pub bar, the most dingy and rundown bar we have encountered in many a year of travel.

The good part- seaview room with great view over pool and the sea- worth paying extra for.
Location OK about 1km from start of town-but- do ask the quickest way to walk-
it's turn right outside the hotel, then straight down - not very scenic- but quicker - taxis plentiful and reasonable cost.
Funchal has a great ambience and lots of good restaurants for all tastes.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fair1Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Dear Guest,
Pestana Carlton Madeira would like to thank you for your review.
We have carefully read your comments and apologize for all the inconvenience caused, achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Carlton Madeira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed in a timeshare apartment on the 9th floor, lovely sea view, very comfortable studio apartment with everything we needed. No hob in kitchen but good microwave with grill, we managed. The hotel is very clean and the staff are lovely. The prices are a bit expensive but it is a five star hotel so just what you would expect really. Good location, near plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance, near reids hotel for a special high tea. The pool area is very nice and two options one near sea level. Good access to swim in the sea down at the front with a lift up and down, lots of stairs in the hotel but you can use the lifts, it helped keep us moving ! I would stay here again. No problems. The food we had was good too. We mainly ate out or self catered though.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skyeplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, very child friendly! This is our second visit to this hotel and we are definitely coming back! It is a great hotel in a great location and staff are very obliging to needs! Could maybe do with a children's club?... BBQ night food definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loolielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Pestana Carlton Madeira would like to thank you for your review. We are very glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed and are thinking coming back. Good notice of your suggestion concerning the children has been taken.
We look forward to welcome you a 3rd time in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My wife and I normally go on long haul holidays but decided to try Madeira for seven nights. We were impressed with the spaciousness of the sea view room and the bathroom with both bath, shower cubicle and heated floor. The pool bar drinks were expensive and the service not as good as the rest of the hotel. The hotel location is walking distance to the Funchal centre, and has the No2 Pub directly across from the hotel entrance selling drink at half the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travlinscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stayed here with 2 teenagers in August. Weather was hot but cloudy most days which suited us. Didn't stop us sunbathing or swimming as pool was warm. In one of the best locations close to Funchal, between Reids and the Savoy Hotels. Did a Jeep Safari which was fantastic, a trip to Monte and Blandys wine tour. Had a terrific holiday but found prices very expensive, especially in the hotel. 8 euros for a club sandwich. We had a snack most days in the Red Lion over the road. Best value for a family was the Italian opposite the Pestana Palms Hotel, garlic bread, 4 pizzas and drinks for 45 euros.

I think the Island has been effected by the credit crunch as we found most of the restaurants empty and the hotel very quiet.

I don't think Madeira would be to everyones taste and wasn't as green as I thought it would be. The hotel zone is ugly and Funchal is very built up. I think to get the best out of the holiday you need to get out and about and take lots of cash.

Top tip the banks charge 15 euros to cash travellers cheques!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We feel sorry for your dissapopintment concerning the prices, achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

We have recently returned from having our honeymoon in Madeira staying in the Carlton Pestana. The hotel is fantastic, if you have read any reviews on this site saying that it's not very good then ignore them! The guy out the front of the hotel called Jose is the nicest man on the planet who taught us a few lines of Portuguese each day. Lizbeth, the client manager is very approachable and extremely accommodating. We had a sea facing suite which was very spacious and luxurious. We would recommend the BBQ night at the hotel with live music and great food. Also, the live paella cooking during certain days is very good and tastes excellent. We have come home and already booked a return visit to Madeira, the country and its people are amazing. Great places to eat out are the Solar restaurant - the best for steak on the stone, The red lion (opposite the carlton), restaurant paradise (a short walk from the hotel). We would unreservedly recommend this hotel and country to anyone. It's amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheLangfords60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira hotel for such a special celebration as your honeymoon and thank you for your amazing review also.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Big, clean and comfortable standard room with small balcony and warm floor in the bathroom. Both pools are oceanic water, very warm in the evening, not in the morning. Direct access to the ocean is really useful. Breakfasts excellent. Remarkable view from hotel restourant during breakfast. About ten minutes walking to Funchal center, where you can find many good restourants, usually I used taxi to return to the hotel - 5 Euros.
Cable car, tropical garden, excursion to Western part - recommended.
Funchal is really nice city.Staff are really friendly and helpful.
Will be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walter_sinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,872 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.5 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#23 of 88 in Funchal
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £72 - £522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira is a luxurious and charming 5-star hotel in the city of Funchal, on the island Madeira with views of the sea, garden, swimming pool or Funchal bay. It's only 10 minutes on foot from the city centre, with a private car park available for a fee. It features two enormous outdoor saltwater swimming pools, direct access to the Atlantic ocean, and a dive centre where you can experience your first underwater adventure and take boat excursions. For deeper relaxation, you can take advantage of all of the services available at the Spa, including the 25-foot indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and relaxation rooms where you can enjoy a Magic Spa treatment. The hotel features Wi-Fi, four restaurants and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing