We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean Gardens(Funchal)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$385
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,523)
Filter reviews
2,524 results
Traveller rating
1,193
914
300
89
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,193
914
300
89
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic poolgarden poolsea viewbuilding sitelovely hoteltime sharetea and coffeesalt waterold townjunior suitebuilding workbed and breakfastsea watergreat facilitieshalf boardbig hotelpool towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,679 - 1,684 of 2,524 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2009

Friendly and courteous staff make this hotel they go far beyond their remitt to make you feel at home.
Front office staff extremely attentive as are the restaurant and bar personel although they were under pressure most times managed a smile.
Food in the Grill was good although over two weeks may have been a little repitious the wines were a little constricted in choice and quite expensive as was the mineral water.
The breakfasts were as good if not better than any 5 star Hotels in England with an enormous choice of hot and cold dishes together with fresh fruit.

The only area that was dis appointing was the Taverna bar area that because of low guest rate lacked atmosphere also the 'Pub' was closed for lunches.. this usually being a great alternative to enjoy food other tthan the pool bar.
The rooms were clean stylish and little touches like complimentary water and Tea making facilities were a great idea..the bathrooms were pleasantly deocorated in stone tiles and there was always an abundance of toiletries.
The room was always cleaned properly and beds were turned down in the evening.
After a two year period break we went back to the Carlton and found that it had more than surpassed our expectations...to all we thank you for a wonderful seven day break and please continue to be a sparkling gem in the Pestana crown!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcbodfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2010

Dear Mr. Bodfish,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review. It is always a great happiness to welcome you, year after year.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We have stayed at the Carlton twice this year and I have already booked to return next year. The Hotel caters for all age groups and is located within easy walking distance to the city centre. The hotel offers great food and also has a English style pub attached, for people who don't wish to go far from the Hotel we found great bars and restaurants within 500 yards of the main entrance. The Carlton staff are all very friendly and the Hotel is very clean and spacious with lift access to all areas, the rooms are modern and spacious with all amenities that you would expect with 5 star accommodation.

I would recommend the superior rooms with Sea Views which boast heated twin bathrooms and balcony loungers to take in the stunning sea views.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigGameFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2009

This hotel really deserves its five stars, everything about it is excellent. From the two beautiful sea water pools to the very comfortable bedrooms everything was first-class. We had a very enjoyable week with friends staying in this hotel. The location is good, just a short walk from Funchal center, and there are plenty of restaurants and small shops close to the hotel for the nights we didn't feel like walking into the main town.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady_CLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Pestana Carlton Madeira would like to thank you for submitting your review about your holiday.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

You want to spend some time in paradise?

Pestana Carlton, Madeira is the place to be. It is true - the island is a tropical garden floating in the Atlantic Ocean.

The people here seem to have the sunshine in their hearts. Everyone we met was ever so friendly and helpful and this is also true for all the staff at the hotel.

We were very well looked after: spoilt with luxurious breakfasts and special dinners full of atmosphere. A welcoming atmosphere all around.
The service and frendliness of everyone was just excellent.
Happy memories to take back home and definitely many reasons to come back in the future.
Thank you erver so much everyone at Pestana Carlton for making this stay so special for us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madeiramarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel thanks your for choosing us for your holiday in Paradise and for your kind review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to welcome you and your wife you again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

Have stayed at this hotel on many occassions and will return each year as long as we are able. Location is brilliant as you can walk,bus or taxi either into Funchal or the Lido very easily.
The hotel itself is spacious and the reception area always has beautiful flower arrangements.
Our room this time overlooked the Harbour and we woke each morning to spectacular sunrises. The room was always cleaned well and the bed linen and towels were changed every day.
The hotel gardens and public areas are all kept in excellent condition and ther are always people around cleaning and tending them.
The pool area has plenty of sunbeds and you can go down in a lift to the Atlantic pool which has access to the sea. Both pools are always kept very clean.
We ate our breakfast on the terrace each morning over looking the pool where some people were taking an early morning swim. The times we had dinner in the hotel we found the food very good.
The staff at this hotel are always very friendly and helpful and always pleased to see us return.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a relaxing holiday in comfortable
surroundings with friendly staff and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeiralovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2010

Pestana Carlton Madeira would like to thank you for writing this review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal and at the end the most important is to see people coming back year after year, no doubt, it is the best reward.
We look forward to welcoming you again and again soon,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews