We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent hotel with great facilities in an ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel with great facilities in an ideal location”
Reviewed 12 February 2010

We stayed at the Pestana Carlton for 5 days and were very impressed with the hotel. From the outside it does not look very 'special' but the facilities and standards inside are fantastic. The friendly, helpful staff set the tone and make you feel very welcome. The beds are comfortable and the inclusive breakfast buffet is magnificent.

There was only one slightly disappointing point and that was the 6 Euros per day charge for replenishing the tea/coffee tray in the rooms. Of course we bought our tea elsewhere but given the high standard of this hotel that was a surprise. However it did not detract from our overall good impression and I can't wait to go there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GertandDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,088
    806
    253
    80
    19
See reviews for
496
1,371
58
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Pestana Carlton, 5 star hotel. Classy place, immaculately kept, spotlessly clean.
My wife and I spent a week there on a timeshare exchange and were delighted with our choice. Would definately return. Probably the best spot in Funchal occupying an ocean front opposite the famous Reid's hotel where famous names have stayed since it opened. The views from the hotel are fantastic and I can't say enough for the place. The only gripe was the timeshare reps who try and keep low key but get a bit pushy if you aren't interested in buying from them. having said that the office staff are excellent and provide any advice you need. I saw the comment on being charged for teabags, there's 2 supermarkets nearby - use them!

if the weather is not too good then they have a Spa. If you are on a swap then you pay 5 eurosbut that lasts all day. You can also pay extra for massages etc. The bar on theground floor is actually reasonably priced just very quiet when we visited it. The pool side bar serves great food,the clubsandwichis spot on, enough for 2 to share.

Although the Carlton is a bit pricey, they do offer meal deals where you can buy a ticket for 3 all inclusive meals at any Pestana establishment. However, given the huge choice of restaurants both local and in Funchal itself, a short walk away I would not bother. Casa Velha and it's sister restaurant Dona Amelia are both top class fare. If you want something cheaper then track down the Funil in town. The fish restaurants in the harbour are very expensive if you go for anything fresh - be warned, check prices first.

Buses are plenty, as are taxis, thebus tickets you buy preloaded on a card then top up as needed. Each trip no matter how short or far on a single route costs 1 euro. So you can in fact keep your costs down if you wish.

i would recommend a jeep safari, good value and a full day out with lunch. Take the cable car up to Monte and stroll around the church, the botanical gardens and either ride the wicker baskets or just watch those who do. Another good day out.

Walking is the big thing there. Levadas are the irrigation channels running all over the island and you can do various walks, graded easy, intermediate and challenging so take a good pair of walking boots.

The market is interesting, all fresh produce and they take the fish catch there most days where you can strand and watch if that's your thing.

Back at the Carlton, if you like your sport,the Red Lion bar over the road is popular with tourists and locals alike. They even run a card to predict football results if you like abit of a fun gamble.

All in all, top place to visit, will definately return. The Carlton is almost at the end of its timeshare lease hence the reps being busy. They are promoting anew Pestana further along the coast to the west. It is a beautiful hotel/timeshare but I still didn't rate it as highly and convenient as the Carlton.

One word of warning - The Savoy hotel which is at the back of the Carlton is being demolished and rebuilt over the next 3 years or so. Not sure how much of a mess this will cause, we never heard anything so you will probably be ok given they have erected enclosed fencing around it. Just check first

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hazelnutineverybite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I have just returned from a 14 day stay in your hotel, having been a frequent visitor over the past 20 years, even when it was part of the Sheraton group.
I have always enjoyed my visits and indeed did so this time again but for one minor issue which I did bring to the attention of the reception manager at the time.

On returning from a night out about 10 oc one evening, my husband and I decided we would like a quick cup of coffee before going to bed, only to discover that there were no sachets of coffee on the tea tray. I rang 'housekeeping' - no reply - and then rang 'reception' to ask to have some sachets sent to our room only to be told that that was the responsibility of 'room service' and that there would be a charge of €6 for this.
I could not believe it. I have never been in a hotel where there was a charge for these small items.

When I complained to the reception manager the following morning, she told me that it was the policy of the Pestana group to supply a small complimentary selection of teas and coffee on arrival and after that, one would have to order replacements from 'room service' which would be charged to our account. She told me also, that it was the responsibility of 'room service' and not 'housekeeping' (as I would have expected), to replace the used cups and saucers daily. This in fact meant that when the housemaid had finished cleaning the room, it didn't appear clean and tidy because of the dirty delph lying on the table, which she obviously did not consider part of her job to either replace or clean. I normally ended up washing the delph in the bathroom and drying them with tissues - hardly something one should have to do in a 5 star hotel.

As there was no information in the room on the policy of charging for tea and coffee sachets, I didn't know whether we would also be charged for the shampoo, conditioner, etc in the bathroom, for use of the bathrobe or for the other provisions which I would normally assume to be part of the facilities provided in any hotel room.

This is a 'penny-pinching' policy and does no justice to the reputation of the Pestana group.

I realise this is a very small matter but for me, it was the difference between a nearly perfect and a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatemacDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We have just returned from our third stay at this Hotel.It isa lovely hotel, the staff are very kind and do their utmost to ensure you have a happy relaxed time there. We always have a room which we like with a sea view, the breakfasts really are most enjoyable particularly when served on the terrace.
The garden restaurant is a fantastic place to enjoy a cold beer or a spot of lunch where there isa fantastic view overlooking Funchal harbour and the sea.
We shall definately be returning.
Mr and Mrs Jones

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madeiraWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We chose to return to Madeira to celebrate New Year. We had previously visited Funchal for Christmas a few years ago but had not stayed over New Year. This was our chance to see what was on offer in our hotel and observe the celebrations across Funchal at this time. We were offered an upgrade to a superior room on our arrival for an extra 50 euros per night and we took this deal. The room was really lovely and it certainly added to our enjoyment of our time in the hotel. We are not sure how we will take to reverting to an ordinary room on future holidays! The room faced the sea and was on the 12th floor...splendid views and a great terrace. The bathroom was superb, very spacious and luxurious. All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our travel rep, Daniella, was also a great help. Our friends were staying in another hotel in Funchal and wondered if they could join us for the Gala dinnner at Hogmanay. Daniella dealt with this request and reported back to us that the hotel was full and not able to accommodate extra guests. The next day she reported that our friends could join us after all but at the price of 150 euros each! They decided this was too expensive for a meal. They did join us on the 18th floor terrace for the fireworks display (which was magnificent!). We all had to pay 25 euros to access this viewpoint. This was the subject of much discussion between us. Soup and sandwiches were served about 2am.
The hotel has been refurbished and the pool area is lovely. The pool bar and loungers are much improved and we were impressed with the layout. I paid 3 euros to access the internet, using the hotel's computer for 15 minutes (this increases to 5 euros for half an hour).
Dinner was served in the Arcos dining room which became a bit tedious after the first couple of evenings. This was a buffet and although there were some themed evenings it did seem to be very samey. The Gala dinner broke this and showed what the hotel could be capable of but the Taverna was not opened to us on any other evening.
Once again Madeira did not disappoint. Although there were some rainy periods, there were some really lovely days...New Year's Day and the 3rd of January were particulary good. The whole of Funchal was decked out in lights and Nativity Scenes and the centre of town was a hive of activity every evening. We went to the Casino dinner and show on the Saturday evening and our friends agreed this was really good value.
All in all a really good week away from the snow and ice here. My husband would have made more use of the fabulous terrain but public transport was rather limited over the days we were there. There had also been reports of landslips and trees down in places. He used the gym in the hotel instead.
Madeira certainly knows how to celebrate...lots of cruise ships come into the harbour to view the fireworks display. If ever you get the chance to visit at this time do take it.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotfootScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We have taken good notice of your remarks, achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We wish you all the best in 2010 and look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Lovely hotel, with super sea facing room - very large. We were there at new Year time and watched the fireworks from the roof....spectacular! Breakfast was very good, but used outside restaurants for Dinner. Staff were all very helpful. One problem - I hired a car for the 6 days we were there and parked it at the Hotel. Although we were out most days the parking cost over 60 Euros for the 6 days - even as residents!!! I found this wery unusual and difficult to accept

Dave M

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We are very sorry for your disappointment about the car park pricing.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We had originally stayed at this Hotel for our Honeymoon when it was The Sheraton. Our return for our 25th Anniversary was all we could have wished for. Sometimes returning to a previous location can be a mistake but this was not the case here. The staff were excellent and ensured that we were satisfied with all aspects of our stay. The sea view rooms give a panoramic view of the surrounding Hotel (Reid's Palace), part of the Harbour and the sea. Sitting on the balcony in the winter sun watching the cruise liners arrive in port in the early morning is a good way to start the day before going down to the excellent buffet breakfast and setting off in the car to explore the island. We were on B & B and did not get round to eating in the main restaurant. We sampled the food at the Pool and in the Bar, both of which were very good. Most evenings there was some live music in the Bar area with dancing for those with any energy left in their legs.
The location of the Hotel allows you to walk into Funchal for the evening to explore the town and seafront bars and restaurants and even the walk back uphill becomes easy after a couple of trips. While we were away the Christmas lights were switched on everywhere giving the whole of Funchal a fantastic Festive feeling.
The main difference we noticed in Madeira on returning was the roads and tunnels. They are fantastic and allow fast access to parts of the island which would previously taken half a day driving over mountain passes to reach. Don't be put off driving here. It opens up views of the countryside that coach excursions can't show you. The car hire was reasonably priced but do practice your hill starts. It was possible to park in the Hotel car park and once you get used to the free parking options nearby, did not cost as much as we had expected.
We are already talking about returning to the Hotel in the springtime to see the flowers.
A fantastic Holiday. Thankyou.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Castle_Office
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for coming back after 25 years for a memorable holiday.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal, and we can note that very well in your review, thank you very much.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the Springtime as you say,

Best Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,852 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing