We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel,could not be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Returned from Funchal just over a week ago, we were somewhat hesitant as we went just two weeks after the devastating floods. However a lot of clean-up work had already been done, and while there was still some evidence of the floods, it had no impact whatsoever on our holiday, even the city centre is little affected now.

It would be difficult to elaborate further on the many previous excellent comments about the Carlton. Booked through Thomsons after looking at tripadvisor, and it was even better than we expected. We booked a standard non-sea view room, but I emailed the hotel, and we were given a free upgrade to superior room which was superb to say the least. Even if not provided free, it would be cheaper to book a standard room and request a sea view direct with the hotel, which they are happy to do.

The hotel is within a 10/15 minute walk of the city centre, whereas the main hotel area is towards and beyond the lido and would perhaps require a bus into town. Superb views across to Reids Palace Hotel on one side and across the pool and straight out to sea.

Service from all staff was second to none, immaculately clean throughout, excellent buffet breakfast. Superb pool with good sunbeds, though the lower sea level pool is out of action due to heavy winter seas which caused a bit of damage, not yet repaired. Quiet location, even though the Savoy hotel at the front (land side) is being demolished at the moment. We did not eat in the hotel as it seemed expensive, but there are restaurants close by, including an excellent one across the road (The Chalet).

A top hotel, no hesitation in recommending, would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your excellent review.
For us, our guest’s satisfaction is the most imporatnt and we are sure that your comments will be very useful for other travellers.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,576 of 2,393 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2010

Lovely hotel and the staff in every area were polite and helpful. The room was more spacious and had a better view than I was expecting for a standard room. The bed was huge and very comfortable. No noise at night even though we kept the balcony doors open. The room was very clean and with a nice big balcony overlooking the sea. The buffet breakfast was great. The location is good, it's not too far to walk into town and if, you're driving, it's easy to get onto the motorway in either direction.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magsy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for submitting your review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed our spacious standard room, and in overall your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

My husband and i enjoyed a week at the Pestana Carlton only one week after the devastation had hit the island. Incredibly everything had been sorted in the centre of Funchal but the hotel staff advised us on any areas that they considered best avoided. We would definitely stay again on a bed and breakfast basis. The hotel rooms were superb and the staff were fantastic. Our only slight criticism was the standard of the food. It was perfectly fine but we preferred to eat out in the evenings as we felt the standard of food at nearby restaurants was far superior. The breakfast buffet was good and the snacks at the lunchtime pub were fine but the one buffet dinner we had was disappointing. Apart from that we wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muppetCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

Dear Madam,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your useful review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal and your opinion is very important for us.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Best Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Our third holiday to Funchal, we had stayed in the Casino Park Hotel before. The Carlton is a superb hotel. Great facilities and great staff. Perfect location. We are a bit concerned at what is happening to the hotel next door, ( redevelopement ), so we havent planned our next trip back yet, but we will definitely return to the Carlton sometime in the near future. Just a last thought on the subject of the teabags, 'get a grip', you have a hot drink available to you on arrival, use it then get a carton of milk and some teabags from the shop across the road. Not a problem, keep the milk in the fridge. This policy is the same in all Pestana group hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We thank you for choosing our hotel this time for your holidays in Madeira and are happy to hear that you intend to come back.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Very comfortable and met our needs on every level. Food very good and staff very helpful. Only minor criticisms eg seats in Taverna restaurant rather too upright for comfort but otherwise all very good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ONLIMITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

The Pestana Carlton is a first class hotel - it has an excellent location close to the city, full amenities, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. We would recommend the sea view rooms, particularly at the moment with the demolition of the Savoy to the rear, as these have a wonderful view and are very quiet. We heeded the 6 Euro charge for teabags etc and brought our own and this worked out well. Meals in the hotel itself are a little on the dear side, but there are some excellent restaurants within a very short walking distance. Snacks are available in the hotel Pub, and they are very willing there to allow you to buy one snack to share between two. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. We would not hesitate to use this hotel again, which is generally good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plantlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

We would like to thank you for your review about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We also thank your recommendation for the seaview rooms, which offer wonderful views.
And your wish to come back gives us the feeling of mission fulfilled.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

My wife and I have been to this hotel every year for 17 years.
The location is excellent for Funchal. The hotel service is always very good and the staff friendly.
We were there during the storms and flash floods in February this year. The hotel was not affected by the storm but kept guests informed about what was happening in Funchal itself.
Everything is now almost 'back to normal' in Funchal after a lot of hard work by the Madeirans.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welltravelled036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Service Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2010

The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
It is a great honour to read that you have come to stay here for the last 17 years! We thank you for your loyalty.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,

Best Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,962 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
0.8 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#28 of 88 in Funchal
939 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pestana Palms
Pestana Palms
#16 of 88 in Funchal
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#23 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#31 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £70 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira is a luxurious and charming 5-star hotel in the city of Funchal, on the island Madeira with views of the sea, garden, swimming pool or Funchal bay. It's only 10 minutes on foot from the city centre, with a private car park available for a fee. It features two enormous outdoor saltwater swimming pools, direct access to the Atlantic ocean, and a dive centre where you can experience your first underwater adventure and take boat excursions. For deeper relaxation, you can take advantage of all of the services available at the Spa, including the 25-foot indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath and relaxation rooms where you can enjoy a Magic Spa treatment. The hotel features Wi-Fi, four restaurants and two bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing