We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great week at the Grand Pestana, Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We have recently returned from a very relaxing week at the Pestana Grand, Madeira. This was our third visit to Madeira but the first time we had stayed at the Grand.

The location was ideal for us, stunning views and laid back atmosphere.

Our room overlooked the sea and was very comfortable with all the usual amenities.

Service was excellent and the staff were very friendly. Food was good (lots to choose from).

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It was great that they had a library with lots of English books to choose from.

Only downside was the poor weather on a couple of days but there was nothing anyone could do about that!

Room Tip: Front sea view was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kathy2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for visiting us at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
were happy to know that you been delighted with the view from our rooms,
and our service and personal made this a even better holiday for you.
Take care and we hope to see you soon.

With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2011

many possibilities to relax , marvellous garden, beautiful views, comfortable rooms,
excellent service and great food .

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grigirov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for ratting us at Trip Advisor.
We glad that our facilities and service correspond to your expectations
making this, a memorable moment of your life.
We hope you had a safe flight back home and we look forward to see you soon.
With kind regards from all our staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Just back from another excellent week at the Lti Pestana Grand.
The quality of this hotel remains constant. It gathers you up and folds you in a blanket
of peace and tranquility.
An hotel to calm you down and relax your brain.
It can not be faulted.
Jenny and Dave Scrivener

Room Tip: just ask and you will receive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heofgreatwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Scrivener,
Thank you very much for your comment, it was our pleasure to welcome you in our hotel.
We are glad to learn that we keep what made you visit us for the first time,
and i honestly look forward to see you soon.
With our kindest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

This hotel has the most comfortable beds and pillows of any hotel I have experienced. It is exceptionally well run, peaceful and spacious. The staff are friendly and obliging. The breakfasts are truly amazing for their variety and quality. I have stayed here 3 times, and love it more each time.

Room Tip: Give the poor restaurants in the same road a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polly1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear guest,
First of all, thank you very much for your loyalty to our Group Pestana, in particular the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It's a honour to read a comment like yours. We will do our best, to make you feel as if you were at home.
Thank you for your visit, we are looking forward to see you again.
Best regards to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We were both so pleased with our beautiful penthouse suite with four terraces jutting out over the ocean. One night we walked into our apartment and felt as if we were on a cruise ship. The staff at all levels are so welcomig and accomodating. They let us know that they were there to meet our needs and solve any problems that should arise. We dined in the Italian restaurant one evening and it was amazing. I spend two weeks in Italy every year and am particularly fussy and had nothing but praise for the chef. The location was wonderful for us as we love to walk and the exercise we got walking to and from town suited us. However, there is a free shuttle for those so inclined. More planned activities would be a suggestion. The one cocktail party was a lovely way to meet other guests. The grounds of the hotel are meticulously maintained. It is ashame that transportation from the US is a bit difficult, as I know that Americans would love this destination, although i must admit that we enjoyed the company of some lovely British couples and it was fun being surrounded by British, German and Scandinavian people. This is a beautiful destination and a fabulous hotel!

Room Tip: As always, smile and ask politely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting us, living so far from our island.
Were glad we meet your expectations and you had a nice time with us.
Thank you for all the compliments towards our hotel and staff, it means a lot to us.
Even knowing it's not easy, due to distance we hope to have you again between us.
Best regards from all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

First time to Madeira to find some warm sunshine. Booked Pesatana Grand and was not disappointed. Excellent location with regular courtesy shuttle to Funchal town although a leisurly 50/60mins walk from town. The rooms, grounds and hotel was immaculate and service first class. Excellent leisure facilities ( Made use of the indoor/outdoor pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi ) which you had to to burn off the excellent breakfasts ( You can't beat a glass of Bucks Fizz with Breakfast!). Cannot comment about other meals as we ate out everynight. In fact the Pestans Grand is just 'What the Doctor Ordered' for this time of year, an oasis!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minesabeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for ratting us! We are very honoured to be choosen by you, for the first time in Madeira. We hope to see you soon and welcome you again in our beautiful island.
All the best for you and your family.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

What can we say, from the moment you arrive you just know this hotel is something special. Very friendly and helpful staff, large and clean rooms, ours had a sea view. Pool area is large with plenty of sun beds, there is also an indoor pool that looked very inviting, but we did not have the chance to use.

We exchanged with RCI, but we were treated as 5 star guess at all times. The hotel has various restaurants and bars, and the staff were very attentive, that said, near to the hotel are some excellent restaurants, and in particular we recommend Real Canoa, we ate here on several occasions, and were never disappointed by the food, friendly staff or the talented entertainment.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for all the compliments you made regarding our hotel and staff.
The message we intend to pass is that we try hard each day and do our best,
so our guests feel welcome and if they were at their own home, i guess that message
was sucessfully passed into you. Thank you for leaving your opinion about your recent stay
and we wish to see you again.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23 | São Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Grand)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £73 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing