We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exactly what the doctor ordered”
Review of Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“exactly what the doctor ordered”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Top class service from lovely people,a spotlessly clean, comfortable room - big, comfy bed,chair and sofa, shady balcony,peaceful but not too quiet.The grounds, pools, spa facilities,indoor spaces, very good. We appreciated the availability of 'quiet space' for reading, if desired.One small regret; we were too late in discovering the alternative dining options - not out of bed early enough to get the information from our travel rep! The free transport to Funchal was much appreciated.An ideal hotel for couples, but not for teenagers or young singles.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avril76007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    505
    114
    24
    9
See reviews for
401
1,173
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sutton coldfield West Midalnds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This really is a superb hotel well deserving of its 5* rating.
We have just returned after spending two weeks holiday there.
The staff were really helpful and kind especially :- Duarte , Carmina, Neillio and
Sousa in the Dining room. Good selection of food served with an amazing variety of fruits .
Our bedroom was really spacious and well maintained leading to a side-view balcony. The pool and garden areas are really beautifully maintained and it would
be difficult to find a more ideal palce to take a holiday.
There is a complimentary coach which leaves every hour taking guests to Funchal.
We look forward to returning to this lovely hotel a.s.a.p.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Lovely swimming pools and delightful views from the balcony. Close to promenade and to Restaurant O'Barqueira - a brilliant sea food restaurant just round the corner. Also convenient for the Forum shopping centre with supermarket.

A little way from the centre of Funchal but courtesy bus service is reliable and free.

This time we shared a two bed room apartment with friends and it worked well.

Room Tip: Aim to get sea view apartment and avoid studios; Studio de luxe apartments are fine though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G-and-J-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ONT
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed in Pestana Grand for 4 nights in July 11. Loved the experience. Check in was fast, friendly and efficient. Room for 3 (2 doubles + extra bed) was large enough; comfortable beds and large bathroom. However the TV was an antique tube model but I don't care for TV on my vacation. Front desk was helpful in answering questions and handling requests.

Hotel facilities are beautiful. Large pool, 2 steam rooms, jacuzzi, fitness club. Very pretty and tasteful landscaping. There is also a free hourly shuttle to Funchal provided (otherwise it's a 40-45 min walk).

We had breakfast included; it was full hot and cold buffet with sparking wine every day. We didn't eat dinner there so can't comment on it.

Other points (not directly related to the hotel) that may be of interest to travelers are:

-- getting from the airport. We booked a private transfer with madeira-airport-transfers dot com. Driver was on time on arrival and departure and cost reasonable.Airport bus also stops near the hotel (get off at Forum Madeira stop and walk for 2 min from there)

-- location. Hotel is located near Forum Madeira, Lido Promenade and Playa Formosa (rocky beach). It's possible to swim in Lido pools (I think it was 4.5 euro entrance fee)

-- restaurants. Real Canoa is immediately on the right of the hotel. Quite popular at night (we ate there once). There are others adjacent next to it. Going left from the hotel is
seafood restaurant Marisqueira O Barqueiro which we liked. Forum Madeira has also some places to eat.

-- tours. Took full day "West Island" tour with "Pride of Madeira". Liked the tour and company. Tour was in 8 seat van (9 to 5). Saw Camara de Lobos, Cabo Girao, Ribiera Brava, Sao Vincente (village, not caves), Porto Moniz and all the gorgeous scenery in between.

-- bought 1 day bus pass in Funchal and visited places around Funchal (Monte, botanical gardens, etc). Good alternative for a pricey funicular.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hkto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

nice hotel, okay pool area, great breakfast, not worth the standard rate but we got a cheap deal

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngordon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Front Office Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for ratting us at trip advisor and for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays.
We hope you are well and look forward to welcome you back in a not distant future

With our kindest regards
Duarte Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This was our fourth visit to the Pestana Grand and it was almost perfect in every respect. We wanted to just relax and this is possibly at the Pestana. The staff, whether it be on the reception area, in the restaurants or in the bar areas are so helpful and courteous and nothing is too much trouble for them. The meals were all superb perhaps just a shame that you can only have one meal each week in the Italian or Moroccon restaurants. It was noticeable that the recession has hit the area, all much quieter than usual and certainly staff numbers appear to have been cut drastically but they all coped well and no doubt things will improve on Madeira as else where in due course. Our room was terrific and I suggest you ask for a sea view if possible, it makes such a difference. There were one or two minor defects within the room, i.e. blocked bathroom sink, but these were rectified immediately. I must not forget the cleaning staff, what a fantastic job they do and often without a mention - thankyou. God willing we will return for No.5 visit and I recommend the Pestana Grand to anyone wishing for a quiet and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Try to have a room with a balcony ovewrlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genealogist011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Front Office Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your review and your kind words.
Our aim at the lti Pestana Grand is to ensure the best holiday experience for all our guests.
We appreciate you loyalty to our hotel and are very proud of the positive comments that you addressed to the hotel and to our team.
Looking forward to welcome you back for the fifth time at lti Pestana Grand, we remain with best regards

Duarte Santos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We celebrated our 66th Wedding Anniversary in this wonderful hotel. The Service and comfort and the kindness of the staff wsas excellent . The food could not have been bettered. We loved it. We were updated to a side room overlooking the sea. The hotel had three restaurants Our bedroom was large and beautifully furnished. It was so quiet and peaceful. We hope sincerely that we will be back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyewacket72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand

Property: Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing