We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Big 'Mass Market' Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was a typical large chain hotel. It has all the basic facilities, is located in pleasant grounds and with good sea views, which are a nice asset particularly with the benefit of balconies that comfortably accommodate two reclining chairs.

As with many of these resort hotels this isn't what I would consider to be 5* or even near to it. The service is nothing like 5* standard and neither is the food. The breakfasts are reasonable for the price - I thought that the dinners were pretty poor - typical package tour quantity rather than quality. We went bed and breakfast and, having tried the dinner one night I was very pleased that we had done so. The mini bar was repeatedly ignored - we had to regularly ask for it to be replenished.

There are a handful of pretty good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Its quite a walk into Funchal but taxis are readily available and the hotel does have a bus.

I wouldn't go back to this hotel - I'd prefer something nearer the town centre with more character and better food / service.

Room Tip: Get one with balcony overlooking the sea - the rooms nearer the front of the hotels (i.e. nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving your opinion about our hotel.
Please note that we value every comment from our best, being an incentive to improve and make it better. We actually believe that the hotel is quieter due to it's location and that is the reason why we have a shuttle bus to center which takes no more than 10 minutes.
We also received good comments about our service and staff but, we apologise for not corresponding to your expectations. The mini bar is only refilled by request, being this a procedure from the Group Pestana.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just Returned from 1 week in hotel,very nice room on 4th floor,sea facing,no problems at all,be aware what is inside mini bar is free,also milk,but mineral water if replaced is chargeable. We took our own tea bags and sachets of cappuccino coffee,as we spent a lot of the time on the balcony,don't like lying in sun. Listen closely when you check in,you are entitled to dAily 30 minutes free wi fi in lounge,get code daily from reception
I put on guest questionnaire that padded seats should be available for loungers on balcony.
No complaints regarding food,food that should have been hot,.was in heated trays,don't ,re ally want a lot of hot food when its 26d outside.
Out of the way location made for very peaceful sleep,no road noise,coach takes you into centre if required. We used magic tea rooms for lunch,their gardens are spectacular,access from inside tea room.all in all,a very good time was had,and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheila2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thnak you very much for such a detailed review from our hotel.
Our aim is to make all our guests enjoy their holidays as this is an important time to relax from stressful work, or just to be in total relaxation. I'm glad we did provide that to you in the best way.
We hope to see you again with us.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Beautiful hotel with superb pool/gardens - long distance views and amazing sunsets.

Friendly helpful staff -

Comfortable room with all mod cons - the room we had did not have much of a view and you should be aware that not all the rooms are not as big or luxurious as the ones on the hotel website.

The food was lacking in variety - breakfast was just ok but dinner was very repetitive - lots of pork and hake! Although it did seem to improve as the week went on.

If you book a package that includes beverages, be prepared to explain every evening - the hotel does not appear to be geared up at all for this option! That said, its really good value.....

All in all at for what we paid for the package it was excellent value.

Not impressed with the high charges for WIFI - didn't use this 'service'.

The hotel is quite a way out of Funchal - however it has a very good free shuttle bus service which we used on a few occasions.

If you decide to walk into Funchal along the prom it takes about an hour and is very hilly. Its a nice walk but you do need to be pretty fit!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Balikissangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel in Trip Advisor.
Every comments are adressed to our management in order to provide a better service to all our guests. Saying this, we hope you have had a really nice time with us and, we hope to see you again.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

The hotel is excellent. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are large and the beds and the pillows are extremely comfortable. The rooms with a sea view are the best and the balcony is definitely a sun trap. We stayed on a B & B basis and the breakfasts were absolutely fantastic, whatever you wanted was there - full cooked breakfasts or continental, not forgetting the Cava with breakfast, what a way to start the day. There were plenty of sun beds and parasols around the pool, which must have been heated as we swam most days. There are plenty of restaurants nearby if you chose not to eat in the Hotel's restaurants. This was our first visit to Madeira and the Pestana group of Hotels but we will certainly be coming here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you positive comments about our hotel and staff, it really means a lot to us. Our aim is to please all our guests, were glad you were one of them.
We look forward to welcome you again in Madeira and also at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2011

A wonderful stay overlooking the ocean in this prestigious 5 star hotel, attention to detail was second to none. Staff so friendly, food fantastic, The swimming pools and pool area is kept spotless by the staff who couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our holiday. We enjoyed a wonderful few days walking in the mountains, playing golf at palheiro golf course and enjoying the fabulous facilities of this hotel - Thank you!!!

Room Tip: I don't think you would be unhappy where ever your room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennybabeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest,
After reading your review, we felt like you had a really excelent time in Madeira and at our hotel, that really "makes our day". We hope to see you again in our beatiful island and also at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Hotel is beautiful, outdoor pool area is great. Indoor pool was closed on our visit but outdoor pool warm enough once you were in. Food in the buffet is not great, even though we were half board we ate out most nights as food was repetitive and unappetising so would not recommend half board. Great little restaurant across the road called The Real Canoa, reasonably priced and friendly. Magic tea house next door on the promenade good for snacks. Supermarket around the corner but local cheap wine is a tad rough but the local beer Coral is cheap and good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your opinion about our hotel.
We have taken good notice of your comments and correct measures will be taken regarding the presentation and quality of the food in our hotel.
I hope that if you return to our hotel we can surprise you with our new improvements.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The hotel was excelent except for noisy air con they said they were unable to move us untill it leaked and then they managed to find a room. The hotel staff were excelent and the new room was also excelent.
However the resteraunt food especially the a la carte was terrible and expensive. I would not advise anyone to eat tere. The resteraunt staff were surly and not very helpful.
The location is good and the pool side facilities were good.
The house maid service was also excelent. I would recomend the hotel but not the resteraunts.

Room Tip: Not ground floor as view is blocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevehilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

The Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion about our hotel.
I'm pleased to inform you that the "problem" with the air conditioning system of the whole hotel has been fixed. It took a bit longer as it has to been seen by someone outside of the island expert on our air condition system. We also have been taking new measures to improve our food in our restaurants.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,355 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23 | São Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Grand)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £73 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, World Independent Hotel Promotion, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing