We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“senior's shangri-la”
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #15 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“senior's shangri-la”
Reviewed 30 November 2011

In November, this hotel is a peaceful quiet place, the guests mostly being elderly, some on sticks and crutches.This is because the hotel is on a flat level of the promenade, easily accessible, with good lifts and excellent gardens.
A courtesy bus service runs almost hourly during the day into Funchal and back, and service buses are nearby.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful, and you only have to ask and they do all they can to oblige. e.g. there was no complimentary 'welcome pack' of teabags in the well equipped kitchen on our arrival. The nearest supermarket is a short walk along the promenade , and when I returned from stocking up on milk, coffee etc., I realised I had forgotten tea bags. When I explained the restaurant manager gave me a few tea bags to last until I went shopping again.
Our room on the 6th floor, overlooking the sea, was comfortable and spacious, with a bathroom, a shower room, and a double balcony. To our delight, a stone circular staircase led up to and extra sundeck, with sunbeds. Very private and peaceful, an useful to escape the occasional breezes.
There is a good heated indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, and 2 big outdoor pools, though it was a bit cool for these.
There are plenty of restaurants about ( the hotel restaurants were a bit pricy for what they served) and many restaurants offer a 'pick-up and return service).
Up a steep hill (lots of those in Madeira) is a shopping complex with good qualityclothing shops.
Altogether an ideal place for a good restful holiday, especially if you are not very mobile.

Room Tip: most have seaviews, but ask to be sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jabManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank for joining us for your holidays and thank you very much for such a detailed review from our hotel. We were glad to learn that you enjoyed both, service and facilities provided from the lti Pestana Grand. We hope to welcome you again in the future, till there we remain with our kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    497
    112
    22
    9
See reviews for
394
1,159
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have been to Maderia a number of times now - usually in Pestana accommodation, with our two children 11 and 9 . Have to say - this is by far the best. We had a wonderful spacious apartment, with views of the sea and mountains. We even had our own private sun terrace on the floor above our accomodation. Location is great, with local shopping centre just up the hill. We ate out most nights - at Bruno's Real Canoe, just up the street. Wonderful food, superb atmosphere. Our family who were staying at a different hotel joined us several times, and Bruno lays on free transportation.
Overall a great week and we didn't want to leave. One small grumble - the hotel does need more sunbed bases around the pool areas, and although the children were keen to use the outdoor pool it was very cold. We will however be back, the holiday holds very fond memories.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliStevePeterborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 20 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for joining us again in your holidays.
We would like also to thank for you loyalty to the Pestana Hotels & Resorts.
I'm happy to inform that a larger number of sunbeds are being taken into consideration together with a few new ones.
We hope you had a safe flight home and we wish to see you soon with your family in Madeira.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel with great service. The location is fantastic, the rooms were comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful!

Room Tip: Go foe the partial sea view - it's not partial it's wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving your opinon about your holidays with us.
I must say, it "makes our day" when we are sucessful in providing good moments for our guests, during their holidays.
I'm glad we correspond to your expectations and we hope to see you soon.
Take care and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

A modern, clean and very comfortable hotel set in an attractive location. Our room was spotlessly clean, large and with a beautiful sea view. The furniture on the balcony was very comfortable and we spent much time on it. However, the food was awful! The breakfasts were reasonable but NOT 5* standard. But the evening meals were dreadful = very little choice, cold and uninspiring. The restaurant staff were not friendly and the chef cooking the eggs was rather rude. There was no show cooking - where was all that fresh fish? Oh yes, we had fish in trays that had been cooked for hours on end in a sauce. We were told we could eat in the speciality restaurants with a discount of 17Euros .So we didn't bother until later when we found that, as we were with Atlantic Holidays, we could eat in these places at NO extra cost. The hotel did not seem to know! The walk in to Funchal was quite pleasant as was the walk in to Camera de Lobos.
This was definitely NOT 5* and we would not recommend you to book half board. Eat out, there are plenty of restaurants near the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor - sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank your for your feedback regarding your recent holidays with us.
First of all, we would like to apologize for not correspond to your expectations and any inconvenience caused during your stay.
We are sad to hear your disappointment towards our food, specially during dinner time and we will do our very best to further increase our services.
I must say that, most of our guests find our staff from restaurant very pleasant and helpful but, we value your comment and we will pass the message
to them.
We hope that this doesn´t stop you visiting our beautiful island of Madeira and we hope to see you soon, if not in our hotel at any of the Madeira Island.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Grand provides complete relaxation and comfort. We have just returned from our seventh visit and have evry intention of revisiting shortly.
The staff are superb and are always keen to provide you with a very pleasant service.
Quite frankly, we have ceased to consider taking a holiday anywhere else.

Room Tip: The extra charge for a full sea view room is definiely worth while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you very much for your loyalty to the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
We were glad to know that we still correspond to your expectations and will do our best to maintain them for you. The staff apreciates the comments you made toward them.
We look forward to welcome you again to our hotel.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A modern, clean and comfortable hotel in a beautiful location. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The food is excellent and you decide when you want to eat. The pool is sensational and the views are spectacular. Definitely book a room with a sea view. If you feel like it, there is light entertainment (piano, guitar) each evening in the spacious but cosy bar. Fortunately, there is no music or entertainment by the pool. The regular, free, shuttle-bus into Funchal makes it all so easy.

Room Tip: It's probably not worth it unless you book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for submitting your opinion about our hotel and facilities.
The whole team is pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and service provided from us.
Looking forward for your next visit, till there we send our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

This was a typical large chain hotel. It has all the basic facilities, is located in pleasant grounds and with good sea views, which are a nice asset particularly with the benefit of balconies that comfortably accommodate two reclining chairs.

As with many of these resort hotels this isn't what I would consider to be 5* or even near to it. The service is nothing like 5* standard and neither is the food. The breakfasts are reasonable for the price - I thought that the dinners were pretty poor - typical package tour quantity rather than quality. We went bed and breakfast and, having tried the dinner one night I was very pleased that we had done so. The mini bar was repeatedly ignored - we had to regularly ask for it to be replenished.

There are a handful of pretty good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. Its quite a walk into Funchal but taxis are readily available and the hotel does have a bus.

I wouldn't go back to this hotel - I'd prefer something nearer the town centre with more character and better food / service.

Room Tip: Get one with balcony overlooking the sea - the rooms nearer the front of the hotels (i.e. nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you for leaving your opinion about our hotel.
Please note that we value every comment from our best, being an incentive to improve and make it better. We actually believe that the hotel is quieter due to it's location and that is the reason why we have a shuttle bus to center which takes no more than 10 minutes.
We also received good comments about our service and staff but, we apologise for not corresponding to your expectations. The mini bar is only refilled by request, being this a procedure from the Group Pestana.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,818 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,349 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing