We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Polegate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel and really the worst thing we can say about it was that the tea and coffee in the room was not replenished when it was used ,which was a shame because everything else was first class .Would definitely go back again .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view as you also overlook the very well cared for gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
We would like to apologize for situation described refering the tea and coffee facilities and we already take good notice in order to avoid this situation in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
With our kindest regards
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    505
    114
    24
    9
See reviews for
401
1,173
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stay regularly at the Grand and are always pleased with the standard of service and accommodation. The location is magnificent with (in our case) views from our balcony of the Cabo Girao cliffs which are highest in Europe. The rooms are well-furnished and the beds particularly large and comfortable. There are indoor and outdoor pools and bars with friendly service. Food is first class in the main Atrium dining room with a wide variety for the buffet breakfasts and dinners; other speciality dining is available.

Room Tip: Choose as high a floor as possible and a room on the west side for great view of sea and cliffs, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Anne_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much to for your loyalty the Pestana Group, in particular the lti Pestana Grand Hotel. It's is certainly an honour, receive compliments like yours, towards the facilities provided and staff performance. We hope to welcome you back and present our best regards.
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have stayed at the Pestana Grand five times now, a recommendation in its own right!

The hotel is bright, spacious, and immaculately kept. Staff are polite, friendly and helpful, and the general quality of the service is very high.

The huge choice available the breakfast buffet is wonderful, with a wide choice of juices, fruit, cold plates and hot dishes including individual cooked omelettes of your choice. We particularly enjoyed having our breakfast al fresco by the pool.

Although we enjoy using the wide range of local restaurants for evening dining, dinner in the Pestana Grand is also great!

The hotel sits on a great promontory above the pedestrian promenade, and the majority of rooms (though not all) have a sea view. The promenade offers pleasant walking in both directions from the Grand, with sea views and wild flowers.

Apart from walking, there is the courtesy bus into Funchal and also the local buses. The latter are frequent and easy to use, especially with the multi-journey bus card available from the local newsagent.

Room Tip: All the sea view rooms should be good and perhaps the higher floors offer a slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BigTreeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to Pestana Hotels, in particular the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
Our aim is to provide you memorable moments, an escape from day by day stress.
We look forward to see you soon between us.
Kind regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A lovely hotel overlooking the sea. Great two bedroomed, two bathroomed apartment with three balconies.Every thing you wanted, daily maid service.
Free courtesy bus into Funchal, Would definately return to this hotel, the only down side to our vacation was the cold wind,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieT182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel.
We were happy to know that you had a nice and relax time with us.
The wind was indeed unexpected however and as i know, is something we cannot control.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Two bedroom, top flight apartment in this nice complex of time share and rental rooms and apartments. Comfy bed, good shower, and workable tiny kitchen (perfectly adequate for breakfasts and the odd snack). Nice pool and shared outdoor space. About an hour's walk out of central Funchal but there is a courtesy bus (not tested). Courteous and friendly staff. Just the kind of low key and comfortable break we needed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerniaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your holiday break.
Were glad you had a nice time with us, and would like to specially thank you for the compliments towards our staff.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Pestana Grand for our honeymoon - we were upgraded on arrival to a partial sea-view (really nice room) and generously given sparkling wine and a fruit basket on arrival - a nice touch. Staff were very friendly and helpful, hotel facilities were very good, breakfasts and poolside snacks were good - we didn't eat evening meals so can't comment. Its a decent walk into town but very easy to get to by bus (and the hotel has a free bus into the town several times a day - it was full on the way back once but other than that a very useful service). Getting a bus-card loaded with 10+ journeys at the start of a break is a good idea.

Its not the most luxury hotel in the world, or indeed Funchal I'm sure, but we both felt it was excellent value for money and just what we wanted, we certainly weren't dissapointed!

Room Tip: Partial sea-view rooms are fabulous - great view, afternoon sun, great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for joing us in a such a special occasion as was your honeymoon.
Were glad to learn that we and the hotel corresponded to your expectations and we look forward to welcome you again.
All the best and kind regards from our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We have been to this hotel on two occasions, last year and last month for 10 days each time. We weren’t totally convinced that this hotel was right but we gave it a 2nd chance and here is what we found on both occasions:
Pros:
-When you walk into the hotel, there is a “WOW” factor. All you see is grass & flowers from the garden and lots of ocean which is the best when starting your holiday
-The hotel staff were all very nice & friendly at all times
-The outside grounds were very clean, the garden side was kept perfect and there were lots of places to sit and soak up the sun other than the pool area. I would recommend having some lounge chairs in and around the grassy area for those who choose not to be at the pool every day.
-Shuttle bus: there is a daily-several times a day shuttle which takes you to and from Funchal. This was always nice, very large coach bus and always clean.
-Parking is free is you choose to rent a car

Cons:
Rooms: The rooms leave something to be desired. They are old and dated from the furniture to the curtains to the carpets, which need to be ripped out. The TV is an old box type that I didn’t even know existed any longer. Our first time in the hotel, I had to go to the nearby grocery store and buy a bottle of spray cleaner. This was due to the mildew on the shower curtain and I wanted to clean it before we used it. This time, the shower curtain was fine but the shower head was mildewed, so again rather than complain, I just bought a bottle of cleaner and scrubbed it myself. This is NOT something you should have to do when paying for a 5 star hotel. The rest of the room was clean, just the dated furniture & carpets.
Food: The daily breakfast and dinner buffet is marginal to say the least and more like high school cafeteria food. Our first trip we did the full board and what a mistake, we were stuck eating in the hotel each day with the same tired food, no variety and usually not warm food. This time we did the bed and breakfast only and this was much better-even though I chose only bread and fruit for breakfast, as the eggs and wieners were cold. The dinner buffet costs 32 euros by the way, this is per person and without wine. We ate at many restaurants and had fresh fish, entrée, a bottle of wine, dessert and coffee/tea for cheaper than this, so I have no idea who decided to price this buffet so high. It seemed that each night at around 7:00 there was a mad dash of the entire hotel all going out for dinner somewhere else. We would have loved to “eat in” on a few of the nights but it was just not possible. The hotel has one restaurant that is available on 1 night of the week and it serves Morroccan food which is excellent and well priced, so on this night each week, we ate in.
Also the food that is served at the pool bar during the day consist of a sandwich and some French fries/chips, that is all that you can get until dinner. The bar is however open for business and I think they had some ice cream cones. Again, very amateurish the way this was done.
Pool: The pool is great, beautiful but the water is very cold.
Entertainment: The nightly entertainment was quite comical on most of the nights except for 1. On two nights they even put up a screen and played a DVD. The bar area after dinner had a convalescent home feel to it. The bartenders were always very nice. After dinner, my husband and I sat briefly to have an after dinner drink and went back to our room.
To sum it up, after the 2nd visit, we will not be returning to this hotel. A 5 star should be 5 star and have more to offer than “nice people”. While there we visited the Pestana Promenade and had a tour of the grounds and two of the rooms a suite and a regular room. I must say we were pleasantly surprised, the hotel grounds were top notch, beautiful, all of the rooms faced the ocean and the rooms were all new décor, with flatscreen tv’s. This hotel is about 3 to 4 years old. I cannot comment about their food or entertainment. But next time we will definitely book the Pestana Promenade. Also, it is on the same Lido walk as the Pestana Grand just a little closer to Funchal.
Hope this helps in your decision.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sunlover1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving your opinion about our hotel.
We appreciate your comments towards our facilities, gardens and friendlines of our staff.
We understand and regret that you were not happy with the furniture, curtains, etc, and this is something to be changed in a near future.
We are also working hard to improve our F&B department in order to create competitive prices versus quality. It is really dificult for us, as a 5 star hotel to compete with our local restaurants and bars, however and as i've said before, we are concerned and doing our best in order to improve.
We wish you had a good and safe flight back home and we hope to welcome you again in Madeira.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand

Property: Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing