We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As grand as ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As grand as ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visit the Grand (and Carlton) yearly on a time share basis and this hotel,in which we have an apartment, is glamourous, efficient,has excellent views,facilities and pools and is probably the best in the Pestana group on Madeira.Not as conveniently placed as the Carlton but newer and smarter.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are essential for views and sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15thc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel.
I was impressed by the way you described our property with just a
few words meaning this much.
We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel or at any Pestana Hotel.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    479
    109
    22
    9
See reviews for
380
1,126
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was my very first trip to Madeira, and what a pretty place it is to visit. This hotel is nicely positioned, around a 50 minute steady walk from the town centre, and has a very nice atlantic ocean view. We stayed in an 'inland view room' as there were no sea views left available at the time we booked. Nevertheless we had open views to the mountains in the background and had lovely early evening sunshine on the balcony. The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms have a bath with a shower over. The staff in the hotel were very helpful, and where our holiday representative let us down, the hotel were more than willing to help. For those who are a little 'language nervous', don't worry - everybody speaks English (and it appears German, Spanish and French too)! We ate in the 'Atrium' restaurant every evening as this was part of our deal, but there are three alternative a-la-carte restaurants which for us would have been an additional cost. The food choices in my opinion were not quite 5-star, however the food that was served was very good and adequately met our needs. Expect to pay around 15 euros for a bottle of house wine. If you're looking for evening entertainment, I wasn't particularly enamoured, but I suspect that it's because it's more aligned to the 'mature and sedate'. Not a criticism, merely an observed opinion. As we stayed 'half board' in this hotel we had no problems with our meals; we did notice however that there appears to be a limited supply of 'eateries' in the vicinity of the hotel. You could possibly search them out, but don't expect masses of choices as can be found in other resorts. The time of year may have influenced our experience, as the hotel is vast and I suspect it can get very busy. Our experience however was very good on the whole. My advice would be to expect 4* quality (similar to Italy really in that regard). However, I would more-than-likely re-visit this hotel if I was lucky enough to re-visit this beautiful island.

Room Tip: All the amenities are on -1 floor, so you may need to consider this (if you don't like lifts) wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rach075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your honest and constructive comment about your stay with us.
Fortunately for us, this time of the year our hotel has been busy, not giving a chance for an upgrade, like in your case for ex. to a sea view room but i'm glad to know that, the room we gave, meet your expectations.
Proud is the word i use, to read comments regarding our staff which indeed speak most of the languages and all that you write in your comment.
We are working in order to provide our guests a mix balanced with variety/quality food, rather than quantity with no quality. Saying this, we do our best to improve and use our guests opinions and suggestions to provide a better service.
We all look forward to welcome you in Madeira, if possible in the lti Pestana Grand hotel.
With our kindest regards
Your sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polegate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel and really the worst thing we can say about it was that the tea and coffee in the room was not replenished when it was used ,which was a shame because everything else was first class .Would definitely go back again .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view as you also overlook the very well cared for gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
We would like to apologize for situation described refering the tea and coffee facilities and we already take good notice in order to avoid this situation in the future.
Looking forward to welcome you again.
With our kindest regards
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stay regularly at the Grand and are always pleased with the standard of service and accommodation. The location is magnificent with (in our case) views from our balcony of the Cabo Girao cliffs which are highest in Europe. The rooms are well-furnished and the beds particularly large and comfortable. There are indoor and outdoor pools and bars with friendly service. Food is first class in the main Atrium dining room with a wide variety for the buffet breakfasts and dinners; other speciality dining is available.

Room Tip: Choose as high a floor as possible and a room on the west side for great view of sea and cliffs, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_Anne_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 19 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much to for your loyalty the Pestana Group, in particular the lti Pestana Grand Hotel. It's is certainly an honour, receive compliments like yours, towards the facilities provided and staff performance. We hope to welcome you back and present our best regards.
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We have stayed at the Pestana Grand five times now, a recommendation in its own right!

The hotel is bright, spacious, and immaculately kept. Staff are polite, friendly and helpful, and the general quality of the service is very high.

The huge choice available the breakfast buffet is wonderful, with a wide choice of juices, fruit, cold plates and hot dishes including individual cooked omelettes of your choice. We particularly enjoyed having our breakfast al fresco by the pool.

Although we enjoy using the wide range of local restaurants for evening dining, dinner in the Pestana Grand is also great!

The hotel sits on a great promontory above the pedestrian promenade, and the majority of rooms (though not all) have a sea view. The promenade offers pleasant walking in both directions from the Grand, with sea views and wild flowers.

Apart from walking, there is the courtesy bus into Funchal and also the local buses. The latter are frequent and easy to use, especially with the multi-journey bus card available from the local newsagent.

Room Tip: All the sea view rooms should be good and perhaps the higher floors offer a slightly better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BigTreeScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to Pestana Hotels, in particular the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
Our aim is to provide you memorable moments, an escape from day by day stress.
We look forward to see you soon between us.
Kind regards from all our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

A lovely hotel overlooking the sea. Great two bedroomed, two bathroomed apartment with three balconies.Every thing you wanted, daily maid service.
Free courtesy bus into Funchal, Would definately return to this hotel, the only down side to our vacation was the cold wind,

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JackieT182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
It was a pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel.
We were happy to know that you had a nice and relax time with us.
The wind was indeed unexpected however and as i know, is something we cannot control.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herne Bay, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Two bedroom, top flight apartment in this nice complex of time share and rental rooms and apartments. Comfy bed, good shower, and workable tiny kitchen (perfectly adequate for breakfasts and the odd snack). Nice pool and shared outdoor space. About an hour's walk out of central Funchal but there is a courtesy bus (not tested). Courteous and friendly staff. Just the kind of low key and comfortable break we needed!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerniaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments about your holiday break.
Were glad you had a nice time with us, and would like to specially thank you for the compliments towards our staff.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing