We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something missing!”
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Something missing!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

How can a 5* hotel not have flat screen TV's in guests rooms?

Come on Pestana, buy some new TV's!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us.
The reason why the Grand still have "old" TV's is simple, the hotel was built on a transition box/flat screen TV's. As it was comented in some other reviews, it is on our mind to change them as soon as possible but, still haven't got the dates. I do understand your point of view but, cannot agree that to be a 5* star hotel we necessarly need to have flat screens.
We hope to see you again in Madeira, if possible at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    487
    111
    22
    9
See reviews for
390
1,141
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This hotel had everything we could have asked for and we left having had our faith restored in taking a well deserved holiday in this part of the world.
I agree with most of the previous reviewers the only issue we had was that some of the food was a bit repetitive but having said that it was always very tasty and in plentiful supply

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snobsnotslobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for leaving your feedback about your stay with us.
We were glad to know that the service and facilities provided from us, meet your expectations.
Regarding your comment about repetitive food as well as other guests and reviewers, i am happy to inform you that, is being revised new menus with our Chef and wide open variety of buffets. We look forward to have your company with us some day.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed at the Pestana Grand for a week at the beginning of June on our first trip to Madeira. Great room, overlooking the sea and hotel gardens. In general service was very, very good with excellent attetion to detail in most things and staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast was excellent and with a very good choice of food to suit all except perhaps Far Eastern palettes.

Some negatives to mention though.... we were charged 5 euros per hour to use an iron!!! This in a five star hotel is just not acceptable. Our experience of the food was limited to breakfast (very good) and lunch at the pool bar. This was mostly devoid of taste although perfectly edible, just bland. Other negatives are that there is no real nightlife nearby, whether bars or restaurants. Couple of places by a characterless road on a new urbanisation - not us. Long walk into town, although after about a mile you'll come across a variety of restaurants on the main road near the Cliff Bay Hotel and Reids Palace Hotel.

Sorry but we won't be going back to this hotel - Madeira for that matter.

Room Tip: Hire a car to get around! Hotel has an hourly courtesy bus service into Funchal town but this on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurreyMezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays in Madeira.
The comments you made towards our rooms, views and staff and naturally most appreciated and motive of proud to all of us.
We had a policy that, €5 is charged for an iron and board because in our opinion, a guest that stays in a 5* hotel ask laundry service and do not iron his own clothes.
We sincerely regret that the live cooking lunch provided at our pool bar, did not meet your expectations and we will share this with our Chef.
Regarding the location, i must says that most of our guests like it because it is very quiet, not much restaurants nearby that's true but with the free Hotel Bus service, provided from us is quite easy to get into town. We regret that you do not think to visit us again but, we sincerely hope you return to our beautiful Madeira Island.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed from the 8th - 15th June. Bed and breakfast plenty of excellent value restaurants around so buffet would have been limiting. Second floor side sea view which was perfect. No hot sun during the day on balcony but. by late afternoon sun came around. Nice size rooms plenty of space for clothes and cases etc. only critism, hair dryer a complete waste of time. When a friend booked the hairdresser for wash and blow dry she was completely ripped off. €18 for wash and blow dry €17.50 for shampoo. When she complained hairdresser shrugged shoulders and said prices are in your room nothing I can do about it. Neither rooms had a price for the hairdresser. So I cancelled my apt as did my friend. Hairdresser not owned by hotel but it did leave a bad taste.
We would stay again but take own hair dryer.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your comments and feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
We were glad to learn that, the facilities you found and the room we assign to you, were up to your expectations.
It is on our mind, to find a better and more powerfull hairdryer, due to some requests and comments of our guests. We sorry the way you were informed, and told about prices and services at the hairdresser of the hotel and present our most sincere apologies. Regarding the prices, we will check once, this information is normally in a folder in all our rooms.
We hope to welcome you again and hope you had a safe filght back home.
With kind regards
Your sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macclesfield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We visit the Grand every year and are never disappointed. The accomodation is excellent and the staff are all attentive and so friendly and helpful. Try and book a sea view sitting on your balcony looking out over the Atlantic is magical. We have stayed at several other hotels in Maderia but the Grand is definitely the best.

Room Tip: Book a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alipet8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all i must thank you, for your loyalty to the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It is with major satisfaction that, we see our efforts accomplished in order to provide a nice and relaxed second home to our guests. The all team is commited and i'm sure that your comments regarding staff attitude will be much appreciated.
We all look forward t welcome you again in our hotel.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We visit the Grand (and Carlton) yearly on a time share basis and this hotel,in which we have an apartment, is glamourous, efficient,has excellent views,facilities and pools and is probably the best in the Pestana group on Madeira.Not as conveniently placed as the Carlton but newer and smarter.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are essential for views and sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15thc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 10 June 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel.
I was impressed by the way you described our property with just a
few words meaning this much.
We look forward to welcome you again in our hotel or at any Pestana Hotel.
With kind regards
Yours sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was my very first trip to Madeira, and what a pretty place it is to visit. This hotel is nicely positioned, around a 50 minute steady walk from the town centre, and has a very nice atlantic ocean view. We stayed in an 'inland view room' as there were no sea views left available at the time we booked. Nevertheless we had open views to the mountains in the background and had lovely early evening sunshine on the balcony. The rooms are very spacious and the bathrooms have a bath with a shower over. The staff in the hotel were very helpful, and where our holiday representative let us down, the hotel were more than willing to help. For those who are a little 'language nervous', don't worry - everybody speaks English (and it appears German, Spanish and French too)! We ate in the 'Atrium' restaurant every evening as this was part of our deal, but there are three alternative a-la-carte restaurants which for us would have been an additional cost. The food choices in my opinion were not quite 5-star, however the food that was served was very good and adequately met our needs. Expect to pay around 15 euros for a bottle of house wine. If you're looking for evening entertainment, I wasn't particularly enamoured, but I suspect that it's because it's more aligned to the 'mature and sedate'. Not a criticism, merely an observed opinion. As we stayed 'half board' in this hotel we had no problems with our meals; we did notice however that there appears to be a limited supply of 'eateries' in the vicinity of the hotel. You could possibly search them out, but don't expect masses of choices as can be found in other resorts. The time of year may have influenced our experience, as the hotel is vast and I suspect it can get very busy. Our experience however was very good on the whole. My advice would be to expect 4* quality (similar to Italy really in that regard). However, I would more-than-likely re-visit this hotel if I was lucky enough to re-visit this beautiful island.

Room Tip: All the amenities are on -1 floor, so you may need to consider this (if you don't like lifts) wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rach075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your honest and constructive comment about your stay with us.
Fortunately for us, this time of the year our hotel has been busy, not giving a chance for an upgrade, like in your case for ex. to a sea view room but i'm glad to know that, the room we gave, meet your expectations.
Proud is the word i use, to read comments regarding our staff which indeed speak most of the languages and all that you write in your comment.
We are working in order to provide our guests a mix balanced with variety/quality food, rather than quantity with no quality. Saying this, we do our best to improve and use our guests opinions and suggestions to provide a better service.
We all look forward to welcome you in Madeira, if possible in the lti Pestana Grand hotel.
With our kindest regards
Your sincerely
Ricardo Santos
Gestor de Unidade/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing