We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home in the sun”
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 85 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home from home in the sun”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I and my partner came to this resort on an owner referral and were not really ever convinced that it would be for us. Madeira has a reputation for being for the elderly and a tad boring. However, we wanted a stress free relaxing break, in the winter sun. Well you could have blown me away. The staff were gracious, attentive, authentic and simply couldn’t do enough for us. They were prepared for pretty much any eventuality and tried to anticipate all our needs including a few unforeseen ones…i.e. the spontaneous gift of a bottle of Madeira after a challenging day out sightseeing. I would like to pick out Louisa the guest relations manager and Petra for being so tolerant of our requests and banter. We did have a slight problem with ants in our apartment, but the hotels housekeepers dealt with the problem efficiently and effectively. I would recommend this resort and Island to all ages (although it is true most guests were older than us) the recommendation is based on the fact that there is plenty to keep you gainfully occupied whatever age or interest you have. I would say be prepared to walk as town is not the 20 min walk they say it is, more like an hour to the town of Funchal. Also don’t worry if the restaurant empty’s at 9 pm as wave one goes to bed, before the fun seekers and locals come to eat. Well done Pestana!

Room Tip: If you like a lay in don't have a room near the elevator, as others get up early and it can be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for submitting a review on trip advisor.
We were happy to know that you gave a chance to our resort and island, even after knowing from previous comments that, could not be the perfect for you.
We will forward your compliments to Luisa and Petra and look forward for a future stay.
We promise that, will do our best in order to correspond to your expectations.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    487
    111
    22
    9
See reviews for
390
1,141
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Although this is suppose to be the flag ship of the Pestana hotels, after visiting the grand last year I was a bit disappointed. I have stayed there before however, the last time will be my last. The hotel bar area was in total darkness on a night and I had to try to feel my way through to the outside bar area, yes they closed the indoor bar area! For a 5* that's a bit terrible. also you had to be down by the pool early if you want a sun bed or a umberella, as there aren't many and if there is any they are all broken. The Shop is very overpriced, however it is close to some amazing resteraunts, for example real conoe! Overall just OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank livlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for sharing your opinion about your stay at our hotel dated from August 2012.
We regret to not correspond to your expectations and unfortunately to be taking notice of your negative feedback with 6 months delay.
We are convict that, when you mentiond that our Coast Bar was in total darkness, wasn´t a lack
of attention from us, we are very sorry that this was not mentioned at the hotel by yourselves and we could explain: as you might imagine, in summer time we felt and also receive positive feedback from our guests that, an outside bar, Pool Bar to be specific, would give the chance to our guests, not only to experience the weather, and sunset display with a cold drink at the bar, as many snacks and sandwiches for all tastes.
We decided to take a chance from the many suggestions from the other guests and provide a new and fresh environment, in which we called “Outside Summer Operation”, this has well received some of the best compliments and positive comments from our guests. We regret that, this type of service did not meet your taste and expectations.
Regarding the sunbeds and umbrellas at our pool, we are changing/upgrading the ones that need to be replaced. I must say that, even with all the information and supervising from our pool attendants, it is hard to stop guests from booking sunbeds, this result in lack of sunbeds to other guests.
We hope that, you revisit Madeira Island again, either if you're staying with or without us.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Just returned from three weeks here. Excellent hotel, situated right on the coast with access to the coastal promenade, Beautiful gardens, indoor and outdoor pools, spotlessly maintained. Hotel runs a bus 12 times a day into Funchal. The rooms are very spacious and well kept; breakfast in the restaurant - buffet style - everything you could imagine, and well organised. We were there last year also, and standards are still excellent.

Room Tip: Side sea view are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHELTENHAMCOUPLE705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
We were glad to learn that, the facilities and service provided meet once again your expectations. We really hope to see you again in the future, until there we remain with our kindest regards.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Great location! Lovely and quiet though not too far from the centre of Funchal, but off the main drag. They offer a courtesy bus into the town, which is a godsend. The hotel is luxuriously appointed and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Large hotel, international and discerning clientele - lots of Germans, Scandinavians, Austrians, Swiss and French. Most people 50+ so perfect for early retirees (like us!).

We stayed for bed and breakfast. The room was large, with a nice balcony looking over the sea. The bed was huge and every bit as comfortable as our own bed at home. The TV had BBC News and BBC 1. Breakfasts were large, buffet-style with lovely hot breakfasts. Only one criticism - Lipton tea, so take your own British tea bags as I did. Difficult to fault the place apart from this. We went with Co-op travel - v. good service and good value.

Room Tip: We had a side sea-view which was fine, and much cheaper than a full sea-view. We had sun in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahb056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for joining us on your holidays.
We were glad to read from you that the whole experience was up to your expectations and the only let down was in fact the tea we have in our breakfast room. I must say it is a pleasure when guests leave our hotel satisfied, the only and true responsables for your holiday experience were in fact our excelent staff.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes to you and your family.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

A Peaceful location, helpful staff. The rooms were clean and well appointed although we had a number of plumbing problems which required a change of room. Excellent local walks and local restuarants. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range. We did not have dinner in the hotel as the menus were uninspiring to us and over priced and having been told by another couple that the food at the dinner buffet was not particularly good or very warm. We would certainly recommend this hotel but would suggest only book bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us.
We were happy to know that you found at the Grand a relaxed place, with friendly staff.
We regret to hear that you did not give a shot to our buffet dinners based on someone else opinion, as well as not shared with us your dissatisfaction. However we value your comments and shall share with the department involved in order to improve our standards.
We hope you have had a safe flight back home and look forward to see you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield Heath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

If you want a peaceful location, with sea-views, luxurious apartments and excellent Indoor Health Club and Swimming Pool, then this is the ideal choice, especially in the Winter.
We go self-catering so appreciate both the Continental Supermarket and the Pinco Doci Supermarket being within walking distance.
Add to this the Hotel Courtesy Bus to and from Funchal sea-front together with the frequent no.2 bus-service and you have a perfect holiday.
We have our own mini-kitchen when we go so breakfast and lunch are no problem, with lots of excellent restaurants for evening meals
We never eat in at Hotels as we find the dedicated restaurants give better service and value.
Peter & Sheila

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us.
The Grand has a particular location wich is appreciated by most of our guests as, biggest shopping centre is at walking distance, together with it's shops and supermarket. We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying here and you consider us, the best hotel in Funchal, which honestly make us very proud.
With wishes of a good year we present our kind regards.
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

The pools are terrific. No charging to go in the indoor pool either. They run aqua classes on alternate days.
The in house restaurants are a good variation. The staff are all friendly, efficient and keen to please.
We have been back several times, its great

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joolzLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel and group.
We are proud to know that we are still your choice for holidays and your comments towards our staff will be shared and appreciated.
We hope to see you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 85 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 85 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing