We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & Relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Have stayed at Pestana Grand 3/4 times & am always surprised at how peaceful & relaxing it is. Location is great for sunset views & far enough from Funchal for a nice walk into town. The hotel facilities offer everything you would need & the rooms are lovely - very comfortable. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TB0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us.
With was a personal pleasure of ours to be part and provide a memorable holiday for you.
We hope you have taken good memories back home and hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,090 - 1,096 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

The service upon arriving at the Pestana was immediate as we were greeted with a glass of Madeira wine, not port I hasten to add. It prompted the receptionist to offer me small informative history of the drink. We had arrived earlier than expected so went outside to the small restaurant and where we had a salad. In the meantime the staff prepared our room and delivered our cases to our room. Our room had two large beds, ample cupboard space and a mini bar which we never touched and overlooked the sea and a very large swimming pool. For those who are night birds the TV in the room has multiple channels including the BBC. Also, the Portuguese do not dub English language movies.
We dined in the hotel for that evenings buffet ( there is a different food theme in the restaurant every evening). The food was excellent but in my opinion expensive. Thereafter we dined elsewhere in two excellent local restaurants (I have already reviewed two of those restaurants on this forum). The evenings entertainment was generally a solo artist singing to a backing tape or a musician singing while playing either a guitar or their piano.
We were on a bed and breakfast tariff. The choice of breakfast was amazing. The hotel caters for all European tastes. I found by eating a large breakfast I could last through to the late afternoon.
For fitness fanatics there is a gym, jacuzzi, hairdressers, masseuse and of course the large swimming pool. While the hotel is 5 star I would say more top end 4 star. I would certainly book with the hotel for any future visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just back from our second visit to the Pestana Grand the room was lovely, bed large and comfortable, (pillows warm) with exceptional views over the atlantic ocean and of course the weather definitely helped to set the scene for a relaxing break.The gym, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and indoor pool all grouped together very conveniently and the aqua aerobics were well attended, the outdoor pool takes some beating.The dining areas all well appointed, food was GOOD and plentiful in variety . On the whole staff were friendly though some, a trifle stiff, (but some smiles still don't reach the eyes). They provide a free bus service and city buses pass by the gates regularly between times ,the designated "no smoking areas" was appreciated .We had a variety of entertainment nightly which was nice to come back to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at Pestana Grand 16-23 Sept 2013 in Room 1001. We were booked to stay at Pestana Palms but were upgraded at last minute due to overbooking there.

Expect a very good 4* rather than 5* - great views, lovely food, friendly staff, great pool, and superb room, but we felt something missing for a 5* compared to UK - it was the kind of service we expect from 4* here.

Not somewhere that you would take young children unless they are happy to swim/sunbathe all day long.

We appreciated the upgraded hotel/room - but had we paid 5* price something was missing - maybe proactive rather than reactive Reception staff. By way of example no offer of help with luggage and no help when we asked if we could go to breakfast 15 minutes early on departure date.

All in all, a really nice 4* hotel that could benefit from some modernisation. Oh, and Wi-Fi in bedrooms rather than just lobby areas.

Room Tip: 7 floors - ask for a room with sea view - its great!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We came here 7 years ago for our honeymoon and it was great! We stayed B&B and enjoyed the room service on several occasions as there wasnt much to do and only had minimal entertainment, we were out of season so maybe that was why. There was a shopping complex up the hill and across the road but im sure things have changed since. Overall the hotel was lovely and we look forward to returning for our 10th wedding anniversary

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kelly281702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to the Grand once again staying in an apartment. The apartment was excellent and because of the exceptionally good weather a lot of time was spent on the balcony just soaking up the views of the Atlantic Ocean. The Hotel was very busy and there were more families staying there than at the same time last year which inevitably increased the noise levels particularly coming from the indoor pool area which our apartment was fairly close to. The outside swimming pool area is well thought out having separate areas for both smokers and non-smokers. Whilst we were there the courtesy bus ran to the timetable and we actually preferred the current drop off and pick up point. The Grand is situated in the Ajuda area which we particularly enjoy staying in as it has the Forum Madeira shopping centre and a number of good restaurants not least Real Canoa across the road from the Hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fervent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

First impression was of a tired looking large blue rain mat as you enter, hotel take note! Lovely spacious marble lobby though. Our room had a fantastic sea view and was very pleasant and a good size. On the down side my husband found the bed too hard, my pillows were lumpy, a double bed constitutes of 2 seperately made singles pushed together; also a minor niggle, the one bedside table obstructed one of the wardrobe doors opening very far. A great room though and very pleasant to have breakfast on the balcony.
The pool area was pleasant also the walk to nearby restaurants along the promenade. We like this location having stayed in the area before, the Forum shopping centre is opposite (the supermarket there has wine considerably cheaper than the UK), also if you go down the steps to the pebble beach towards Camara de Lobos and through the cave and turn right there is a great Rustic fish restaurant (Restaurant by the Sea). This time we familiarised ourselves also with Real Canoa opposite, went several times, Bruno and his staff really look after you.
Had one barbecue evening meal at the hotel but 28 euros pp not the best value. The happy hours proved popular with a lot of guests though.
The first time we got the courtesy bus it was very late, went to another hotel then straight back to the Pestana for the next pick up! Ok on other occasions though, however because of the current redevelopment of the harbour it drops you a dusty 10 minute walk from the town. We sometimes opted for the local buses instead.
My only major dissapointment was the lack of the offer of courtesy room for showering and changing on the last day. We had a late flight but were asked to vacate by 10am. I asked twice about showering facilities and was told to shower in the indoor spa area, how do you step out of the shower into a fully public pool area?
Not meaning to sound negative, still a lovely hotel and will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZebraLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us.
With was a personal pleasure of ours to be part and provide a memorable holiday for you.
We hope you have taken good memories back home and hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,872 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23 | São Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Grand)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £71 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing