We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pestana Grand stay.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pestana Grand stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Pestana Grand for one week,excellent hotel.
Hotel was very clean and the staff were very helpful and obliging nothing was a trouble.
The hotel gardens are superb, the swimming pool also was excellent.
The shuttle bus to Funchal involved a ten minute journey which was very convenient. The bus was also on time usually to the minute
I would definitely recommend this excellent hotel, I shall return next year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for leaving your feedback about your stay with us.
We will keep on keeping the standards and the service in order to have the priviledge to welcome you back.
We look forward for your visit next year, until then, we send our kindest regards.
Yours sincerely

Miguel Grosse
ltiConcierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,166
    473
    105
    21
    9
See reviews for
368
1,110
35
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for three nights before moving into a friends timeshare apartment on the top floor. The hotel room we had for three nights was great, ideal for the sunsets and for watching the ocean and cliffs. The breakfast was good, although the service was very formal - not quite as relaxed as breakfast service should be perhaps. It was too chilly for this couple to venture into the pool, but it look good and clean. The views to the the Desertas isles was great from the poolside. Elsewhere throughout the hotel the staff were superb - even securing a live transmission of Liverpool vs city game in the (usually quiet and genteel) bar - the result could have been better the service was great! The courtesy bus is really handy for exploring Funchal - which is a great city by the way. No moans at all, except it wouldn't cost much to provide free team and coffee each morning - if travelodge can do it surely Pestana can. Go to the tea room next to the hotel and get free access to the garden which is excellent, well maintained and a peaceful haven. We're looking forward to going again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank thomasmartinthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for joining us.
We were happy to learn that, you enjoyed your time with us and that, you have found our facilities and service provided from us, up to your standards. Please note that, the tea and coffee facilities that we provide are complimentary, as fee is charged for service and not the bags itself.
We look forward for your next visit, until there we send our kindest regards.
Yours sincerely

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotkreuz, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I just came back from a wonderful week at ITI Pestana Grand Hotel. Everything was excellent. The room was spacious with a great view, very clean and well attended. The meals wer very delicious with plenty of things to chose from. Staff was very attentive and helpful with any questions. I would go back there anytime and can just recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannelore L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review The lti Pestana Grand hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read of what a wonderful stay you had with us and that we were able to create a memorable holiday.
Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our staff, whom are naturally delighted with such feedback.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities and sincerely hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Grand in the not too distant future.

Warm regards
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I have just spent a wonderful week long break, along with an elderly friend, at The Pestana Grand Hotel,. This being my third stay in the hotel, and its as good as ever.
My first trip was 3 years ago, when I stayed alone. Then October 2013, I went with the same friend which was his first visit, and now. All I can say is, when are we going again ! From the minute you arrive, the staff are so professional, warm and always greet you with a smile. Its always reassuring to have such a welcome from everyone when you stay and are remembered from previous visits.
The rooms are a delight, so big, well furnished and with such style. We had rooms which had side sea views, which actually had a great view of the ocean, on the third floor. The views get better the higher you go. The restaurant has good selections of all you need and to suit all tastes, for both breakfast ( even had a couple of bowls of porridge mmm, and dinner. Lunches were served out in the gardens, as breakfast if you so desire.
The Grand has become our favorite destination, and we long to return.
Try It !!

Room Tip: Higher floors ( from 2nd floor up ) with either side sea or full seaview are best. Mountain view rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing and fantastic review.
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
There is no greater compliment than to hear you would like to return for the 4th time and experience another great time with us.
We are all very greatfull for the good compliments you left and I look forward to welcome you back soon,
With warm regards
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a wonderful hotel. It was always a pleasure to look forward to returning back to it whenever we went out for the day or evening. Great climate with a nice breeze, perfect for sunbathing around a very well kept pool area and gardens. Lunches and buffets around the pool/garden area are good value and the staff here are very pleasant and genuinely do want to make your holiday memorable. They are programmed to ensure that their residents needs are paramount and you can sense that they really take pride in the hotel and that they enjoy their jobs. Rooms are spacious, well furnished, very clean, maid service daily with supply of fresh bath towels and beech towels. Always plenty of sun beds around the pool, particularly in the mornings. Breakfast plentiful ranging from very healthy to full English as well as egg / omelette station and pancake station. Great selection of breads, pastries, cereals, fruits, juices, yoghurts, cheeses, meats, just about everything you could possibly desire for your breakfast, even a glass of fizz if you fancy. Happy hour is well timed. 6 - 7pm before dinner and then 10 - 12pm aft dinner. 2 for 1. Free bus shuttle service to Funchal port, 12 minute journey with pleasant views. Walked in many times, it takes around 40 mins and got the shuttle bus back. The spa was a delight, very relaxing to take a sauna and jacuzzi late in the afternoon before getting ready for the evening. These services are free to residents and they even have a hairdressers on-site. ( you have to pay for the hairdresser of course).
I don't normally take the time to write reviews but felt that on this occasion, I had to share my experience so that other travellers who appreciate good service, nice surroundings and like to get good value for their money can take my word for it that that is exactly what they will get from this lovely hotel. P.S. The sea views are some of the best I've ever seen from a hotel.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in this hotel have a full sea view or partial sea view. As the hotel is based on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 10 November 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your time in writing such a positive and lovely review from your stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to see wonderfull reviews like yours.
I am pleased that all went so well for you and I hope we can welcome you back in a not too distante future.

With every good wish
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We recently had a lovely week in the Pestana Grand and wished we had stayed longer. This is a well maintained hotel with attentive staff. The rooms are kept very clean and we particularly liked the evening turn down of the beds a chocolate being left for each of us. The hotel is in a lovely setting being near to the sea, with its own swimming pool and beautiful grounds. Breakfast was plentiful and varied, with lovely fruit and both hot and cold food. There was entertainment in the evening, while we where there it was either a singer or singers and on one occasion a magician. Happy hour was also welcome and the two for one drinks offer included a different cocktail each evening. The hotel is some way from the centre of Funchal, we did walk into Funchal on one occasion but on other occasions made use of the regular shuttle bus put on by the hotel. My wife says this has been her favourite hotel that she has stayed in, for myself I can only say I look forward to staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank racrooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for joining us.
We also thank you for all the compliments towards hotel facilities and staff.
We are happy to know that, the whole experience at our hotel was well appreciated from you and your wife. We look forward to see you again with us one day, until then we send our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Great quality hotel for a relaxing holiday. Shuttle bus gives good access to Funchal, the promenade to walks and a wide variety of restaurants - our experience shows us that it is quite difficult to find a bad meal in Madeira - and shops and supermarkets nearby. Lovely views from our balcony over well kept gardens and the ocean beyond.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank g_g71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
Madeira is indeed a very beautiful island with good food and very friendly people, we thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand for your holidays.
With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing