We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return again to the Ponta Cruz cliff-top, Grand”
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Return again to the Ponta Cruz cliff-top, Grand”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Look forward to staying here looking out over the ocean, watching the cruise ships sail by on the horizon, guessing if they just came over from the Caribbean, watching the sunsets by the high cliff of Cabo Girau.
Very relaxing enjoyable week stay.
Upgraded to the 'three x flexible half board' offer, good selection and plenty of food on offer.
Extremely good quality of service here.
Lovely modern look hotel, feel and look puts me in mind of a cruise ship, with a bit of imagination.
Beautiful gardens, stunning views out across the ocean.
Good size outside swimming pool, plenty up sun beds available.
Inside warm pool, and spa very enjoyable.
Out of town, but it is in an ever developing, up and coming (already arrived) area, within walk of Forum Shopping centre, with cinema, a range of shops and food hall.
Other shops and restaurants around the hotel. But good transport into town, even walked it several times.
A really good cliff side promenade walk straight on the doorstep.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms, pool garden side, are sunnier, feel warmer and brighter for most of the day. The ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Pestana Resorts, in particular the Grand.
We hope that we still manage to provide you what's necessary to make you feel as if you were at home. We shall share you feedback and compliments towards facilities and services with the all team.
We look forward for you next visit.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    487
    111
    22
    9
See reviews for
390
1,141
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

After booking the Pestana Grand for our 5th visit to Funchal, and having read all the rave reviews, we could not wait to get to this luxurious hotel. It is beautiful and all the reviews about breakfast were spot on. The food was excellent, both quality and choice and it was a refreshing change from the 4star hotels we've stayed in before to be shown to a table and orders for tea or coffee taken. It was so nice and so much more relaxing than the usual breakfast 'bun fight' you tend to experience in hotels. The pools and facilities were first class and the staff were fantastic, very welcoming, pleasant and you did feel that nothing would be too much trouble. The only disappointment, however, were the rooms. Whether we were just unlucky or not but both the rooms we had were nice, nothing special and the standard of cleanliness let them down. There was make up still left on the vanity unit in our daughters room and dirt under the bed and there were old sweets under our bed. Looking good doesn't cut it when you see the dirt! The maid service was daily and on the whole good but we didn't like how the balcony wasn't mopped so much as a bucket of water was thrown over it leaving everywhere swimming and of course a trail of dirty wet foot marks into the room. Also the towels were very hard and scratchy. Finally, a tip for the ladies. Take your own hair dryer! I forgot mine and the one in bathroom was awful as was the one in our daughters bathroom.

All in all this was a lovely stay in a lovely hotel, with wonderful staff (particularly Edward who was so kind and helpful at breakfast). The negatives may be small things but they let the hotel down and left us disappointed as these are the little things you simply expect from a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Be wary of third floor rooms, make sure you ask specifically for sea view. Air con also very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suze311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for your important feedback regarding your recent stay.
We thank you for the comments regarding the breakfast and service provided from the team leaded from Mr. Eduardo and shall share this message with them.
On a downside, we present our sincere apologies for the situations described by you in the room, we will do our best, together with the housekeeping department to minimize and be more attentive to the aspects you have referred, it is not the kind of service we provide, and corrective measures shall be taken.
Regarding the hairdryers in our rooms, they are indeed not the most powerful or the most handed but, on the occasions please inform us as we can provide you a better and more powerful one.
As someone that i know always says "little things means a lot", we couldn't be more right and your comments will make us be better.
We send our kindest regards to you and your family and hope to see you in the future.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes for us for a relaxing, family holiday.
Lovely, quiet location overlooking sea.
Large swimming pools and plenty of sunbeds.
We stayed in a junior suite (very spacious), our two children had their own single beds, rather than sharing a double sofa bed which made a very welcome change.
Great quality food & an adequate selection. There are other restaurants at the hotel that open on different nights, the Moroccan should not be missed.
Hotel, rooms and grounds spotless.
Service and all staff were fantastic.
Indoor pool was perfect for the chillier/cloudy days for the kids, with a sauna/Turkish bath & Jacuzzi for the adults. The spa & treatments are worth indulging in.
Pretty gardens. Children's play area. Free bus shuttle to & from Funchal (15min journey) running every 1/2hour throughout day.
Walking distance to plenty of great restaurants. Walking distance to shopping centre. Bus stop close by too, if you wish to do bus tour of island or get out & about, so car not necessary.
When staying in Madeira, I must recommend the old town of Funchal - there's a great selection of restaurants in a very pretty setting, plenty of character to this part of town. There are touts for the restaurants asking you to go in, but they are very friendly and do not bother you any further if you don't chose their restaurant, they even recommend alternative places if you require something that's not on their menu. The Chinese restaurant is the old town is fantastic too.
The canal systems are being renovated at the moment, making it quite chaotic along the front, albeit temporarily.
The cable car is also not to be missed and especially the basket run back down - it was brilliant, kids & adults loved it!
Lovely hotel that I can recommend to all looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HollyDay247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your visit and for such a detailed view of what is was your holiday.
Our aim is to provide a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, getaway from daily stress, were glad we accomplish that with you and your family and look forward to see you again in the future.

With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Having spent a week in this wonderful hotel, everything was superb,food atmosphere location.
However if you are someone who wants to use the internet, not very good. You can only get wi-fi on the reception floor and sometimes in the bar downstairs.In order to get on you need to pick up a code from reception or pay to use their equipment.
For a hotel of this calibre internet should be available all over in their premises.
That said I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jimbo002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for choosing us for your holidays.
I am happy to inform you that, probably already this year, the Grand will have wifi troughout the hotel.
With kind regards and looking forward for a future visit.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Just had a week with the family in a great room on the East side over looking the sea and pool .
Great room , lovely staff , very pleasant public areas , very genteel and calm. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't rate it I'm afraid . On the whole , very pleased , thank you .

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dabutfinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for spending some of your time giving us your feedback about your stay with us.
Were glad you had a nice time with your family and that we corresponded to your expectations.
We look forward to welcome you in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The view and the facilities are great. They have a heated pool, which is very nice in february. The room we got was OK, but not much more. The dinner at the restaurant (only one was open when we stayed) was not very tasty, but there are several restaurants close to the hotel. Breakfast was good. There is a big shopping mall close to the hotel. The hotel is not located in central Funchal. We had a rental car for some days, and the parking at the hotels garage was free.

Wi-Fi was not working well. This hotel cannot be recommended for business trips.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank j0st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We would like to thank you for the compliments towards the views and facilities but, couldn't realize what was wrong with the room.
We regret you did not enjoy the meal you had in the Atrium and shall share your comments with our chef in order to improve them.
We had indeed some problems with the connection of the internet but, hope that this year all of it will be refreshed with wifi throughout the hotel.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have just returned home from our week at the Pestana Grand at Madeira.
I just wanted to let you know that the stay was perfect. The apartment was stunning. The Hotel was beautiful and the staff were excellent. Everyone we encountered went out of their way to help from the maid who cleaned the room to the Restaurant staff.
The staff are a credit to the organisation.
The grounds give a feeling of plenty of space. a good thing is that sunbeds cannot be reserved by placing a towel over it and going out for the day. there are plenty for everyone.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment as we are members of the vacation club so are unsure what the hotel rooms are like but would suggest a sea view if you can as the views are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MrTeeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us.
We are more than happy to read that we have met your expectations overall at Pestana Grand.
Our aim is to provide a second home to all our guests, we are glad when we are pretty close to that. We hope to see you soon with us and send our kindest regards to you and your family.

Yours sincerely

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,977 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing