We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A very good hotel, really enjoyed our stay here. We were given a part sea view room on arrival, with a fantastic view from the balcony of the Cabo Girao cliffs and the sea. The room was very spacious, even with 3 adults - an extra bed was placed in the room. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, as there are several very good, well priced restaurants nearby - a short stroll along the promenade path and there is a good seafood restaurant, the Barqueiro, a pizza restaurant and also the Forum shopping centre which is a nice semi-open air shopping area. Breakfast at the hotel was good, though perhaps a bit repetitive, but good nonetheless. The outdoor saltwater pool was great. It's a bit chilly but when the sun is out, it warms up quickly and never got crowded. Much preferred the outdoor pool to the indoor pool which was quite noisy and got crowded with small children. Reception staff very helpful, and the hotel runs a free half-hourly shuttle coach into the centre of Funchal (~15 minutes drive) which was really useful and a nice addition. A couple of minor gripes - the hotel markets itself as a 5 star (I'm guessing this is based on facilities) which is fine - but then in my opinion, there should be complimentary bottle of water and replenished tea-tray with (at least) uht milk in the bedrooms (even Premier Inn does this). Instead there is a bottle of water which costs EUR 4.20! There is of course a supermarket 5 mins walk away to buy water/milk if desired, but for this standard of hotel, I think it should be in the rooms already, esp on arrival. Also, wifi only available in the lobby area. All in all though, this is a fantastic hotel, great location away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel area in Funchal, but the city and rest of the island is easily accessible, 20 mins taxi from the airport, close to good restaurants and shops, helpful and friendly staff, amazing views and just a nice place to relax for a few days. Madeira is a beautiful island, and Funchal a bustling city with lots to see. I would return to Madeira and the hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for the sea-view room, but were allocated a part-sea view room on the 4th fl...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRU_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

957 - 963 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from another 2 week holiday at the Grand. Another wonderful stay :)
My only disappointment this year was the noisy spa, at times it seemed like a childrens play area and not at all relaxing. Parents either didn't notice the guidance signs or chose to ignore them and It was disappointing that the staff on duty didn't do anything about it. However while we were there several guests were saying the same thing so maybe things will improve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CornwallCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and loyalty to the Pestana Grand Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that, you had another excelent time with us.
Our indoor swimming pool is a sensitive area and should be a quiet and relaxed place, saying this it is quite difficult for us to control everytime the children we have in the hotel. We have already taken new measures to ensure that this area is a relaxed place but, it is a process. We believe it will be and get better in the future.
We all look forward to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been to this hotel 4 times now and always enjoy the high standards,excellent pools and choices if food. It is well located with pleasant walks in both directions from the rear of the hotel.Madeira is the only place we go back to for repeat holidays due to the nice people.excellent walks and tasty foods.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view south side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GS1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for joining us once again.
We sincerely hope to keep and provide the experience you are used to, that makes you revisit us, year after year.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The location, food and facilities were excellent and the staff unfailingly friendly and helpful. The views are spectacular within an easy walk to the local Forum shopping Centre. It offers a complimentary shuttle bus to and from downtown Funchal and also provided free parking for our hire car. The only negative comment I would make about this otherwise 5 star experience is that free internet was limited to the public lobby area and did not extend to the rooms. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 1042 with slightly obscured views of the sea but it was conveniently on the ground f...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel but is not 5 Star, rooms are cleaned but our room still had bits on the floor since the day we arrived. Also experienced ants on the tea tray which staff took away but was not replaced straight away. There is no consistency toiletries replaced each day differ, with shoe shines instead of shower gel, sun beds cannot be reserved which I understand, some guests receive a note asking not to leave towels out but other guests are leaving them out & no notes are being left! Breakfast is only warm, and repetitive each morning, fruit juices are not fresh juice! Balcony floor has not been cleaned once in our 7nights stay. All of the above is why this is not 5 star. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels all around the world and have stayed in wonderful hotels. On the plus side views out to sea from rooms are great and the service to funchal provided is good.

Room Tip: Sea views 4 th floor
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank maratinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We regret that we did not correspond to you entire satisfaction as 5* hotel and hope, you still had a nice and relaxing time with us.
Your constructive feedback will be used in order to improve our services in the future.
With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for many years, it sits on a slight curve of the island giving most rooms a sea view. With 2 lovely shaped outdoor pools and an indoor pool with different jets around it. This year there was an increase in the amount of children and they were directed to use 1 of the outdoor pools, the hotel is mainly an adult resort. With wonderful food and excellent staff. The only negative is that the sun beds have seen better days and some were particularly uncomfortable. Excellent adult holiday.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a seaview.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Allison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us.
With was a personal pleasure of ours to be part and provide a memorable holiday for you.
We hope you have taken good memories back home and hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We have just come back from a holiday at this lovely hotel. Our party consisted of three generations (my mum, myself and my 4-year-old daughter) and we all enjoyed our stay very much.
The hotel is spacious and so was our room that had a gorgeous view to the see and the pool. The beds were really comfy, not the usual extra hard hotel nightmare at all.
We were half board and we have never experienced such royal treatment at a buffet-style restaurant before. The food was really tasty and plenty to choose from.
The staff was more than helpful and great with my little one.
We did some sightseeing and we would recommend a day at Porto Santo (64 Euros per adult, transfers included) and a trip up to Monte by cable car (10 Euros), visit to oriental gardens and a Tobaggon ride downhill (30 Euros for 2 adults plus child).
A walk to Funchal would take about 40 minutes but there is a free buss service every 30 min as well.
There is a pebbled beach 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blutengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for bringing your little one.
We were happy to read that you had a great time in Madeira and at the Pestana Grand with your family and beside that, had the chance to visit Porto Santo.
In name of all our staff I send you our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,872 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23 | São Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Grand)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £71 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing