We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lti Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, fantastic staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

As someone who works in the hotel industry back here in the U.K I understand how difficult it can be to get everything just right in a large hotel but I feel the Pestana Grand have achieved that!

Myself and my Mum booked this holiday last minute with the intention of having a peaceful girl's getaway. On arrival we were warmly greeted and given a glass of Madeiran wine, whilst our luggage was taken to our room. The hotel room allocated to us was lovely, however being on the first floor the sea-view was mostly blocked by the palm trees and overlooked the pool bar. We spoke to reception though and they were more than happy to move us to a room on the 3rd floor where we were treated to some spectacular views.
The hotel itself is in the most fantastic position overlooking the Atlantic. Some people may prefer being closer to the city centre but it was perfect for us. A 45 minute walk along the Promenade is all it takes to be in the centre of Funchal and you get to see some breath-taking scenery along the way. If, however you don't wish to walk the hotel provides a courtesy bus every half hour. The rooms and public areas are kept beautifully clean and the grounds are lovely. We stayed on a BB rate so I can only comment on the breakfast buffet but I was impressed by not only the wide selection of foods available but how the chefs managed to keep it constantly topped up. You were really spoilt for choice with fresh fruit, different varieties of bread rolls and pastries, continental meats and cheeses plus a selection of hot foods and to really complement that holiday feeling Buck's Fizz! There was also a lovely young lady who cooked omelettes to order. People often assume that running a breakfast buffet is an easy feat but when you have 300+ hungry guests it can very easily go wrong. I would happily say it's the best breakfast buffet I've ever sampled and I hope you don't mind if I pinch a few ideas to give to my own breakfast staff back here at my hotel!

However, what really makes this hotel so special is the staff. Everyone from the trainees to the management, housekeeping to reception were nothing but friendly and welcoming. You really get the feeling there is a real pride working for this hotel. Special thanks to Ricardo, the barman who greeted us every night with a huge smile and excellent service, Manuela (bar), Francisco and Ana (restaurant) and another young man whose name we never got but mainly works in the restaurant and wears a black & white striped polo shirt in the mornings. Although all the staff we encountered were brilliant, I felt these 5 really did go above and beyond to make every guest feel special. Please do pass on our thanks.

Some people may moan that wifi is only available in the lobby but Madeira is such a beautiful island to explore I wouldn't expect you'll want to waste anytime going on Facebook and texting when there is so much to see and do. My highlights were a trip of the north-west of the Island, sledging down from Monte and whale watching. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully will be back to visit this incredible Island sometime in the near future.
Thank you Grand Pestana!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alice_mcpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    479
    109
    22
    9
See reviews for
382
1,127
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pestana Grand for our holiday and were delighted by this hotel. It is beautiful, very scenic views and the staff are very friendly and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it highly to anyone planning to stay here. The promenade behind the hotel is perfect for romantic walks and is very pleasant. Lovely place!

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the sea-view or side sea-view rooms, as the backdrop to the sea is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 10 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us and leaving your feedback about your stay with us.
We were pleased to read that we corresponded to your expectations and you have had an enjoyable time with us.
With high hopes to welcome you in the future we send our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A very good hotel, really enjoyed our stay here. We were given a part sea view room on arrival, with a fantastic view from the balcony of the Cabo Girao cliffs and the sea. The room was very spacious, even with 3 adults - an extra bed was placed in the room. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, as there are several very good, well priced restaurants nearby - a short stroll along the promenade path and there is a good seafood restaurant, the Barqueiro, a pizza restaurant and also the Forum shopping centre which is a nice semi-open air shopping area. Breakfast at the hotel was good, though perhaps a bit repetitive, but good nonetheless. The outdoor saltwater pool was great. It's a bit chilly but when the sun is out, it warms up quickly and never got crowded. Much preferred the outdoor pool to the indoor pool which was quite noisy and got crowded with small children. Reception staff very helpful, and the hotel runs a free half-hourly shuttle coach into the centre of Funchal (~15 minutes drive) which was really useful and a nice addition. A couple of minor gripes - the hotel markets itself as a 5 star (I'm guessing this is based on facilities) which is fine - but then in my opinion, there should be complimentary bottle of water and replenished tea-tray with (at least) uht milk in the bedrooms (even Premier Inn does this). Instead there is a bottle of water which costs EUR 4.20! There is of course a supermarket 5 mins walk away to buy water/milk if desired, but for this standard of hotel, I think it should be in the rooms already, esp on arrival. Also, wifi only available in the lobby area. All in all though, this is a fantastic hotel, great location away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel area in Funchal, but the city and rest of the island is easily accessible, 20 mins taxi from the airport, close to good restaurants and shops, helpful and friendly staff, amazing views and just a nice place to relax for a few days. Madeira is a beautiful island, and Funchal a bustling city with lots to see. I would return to Madeira and the hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for the sea-view room, but were allocated a part-sea view room on the 4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRU_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from another 2 week holiday at the Grand. Another wonderful stay :)
My only disappointment this year was the noisy spa, at times it seemed like a childrens play area and not at all relaxing. Parents either didn't notice the guidance signs or chose to ignore them and It was disappointing that the staff on duty didn't do anything about it. However while we were there several guests were saying the same thing so maybe things will improve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and loyalty to the Pestana Grand Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that, you had another excelent time with us.
Our indoor swimming pool is a sensitive area and should be a quiet and relaxed place, saying this it is quite difficult for us to control everytime the children we have in the hotel. We have already taken new measures to ensure that this area is a relaxed place but, it is a process. We believe it will be and get better in the future.
We all look forward to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been to this hotel 4 times now and always enjoy the high standards,excellent pools and choices if food. It is well located with pleasant walks in both directions from the rear of the hotel.Madeira is the only place we go back to for repeat holidays due to the nice people.excellent walks and tasty foods.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GS1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for joining us once again.
We sincerely hope to keep and provide the experience you are used to, that makes you revisit us, year after year.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The location, food and facilities were excellent and the staff unfailingly friendly and helpful. The views are spectacular within an easy walk to the local Forum shopping Centre. It offers a complimentary shuttle bus to and from downtown Funchal and also provided free parking for our hire car. The only negative comment I would make about this otherwise 5 star experience is that free internet was limited to the public lobby area and did not extend to the rooms. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We were in room 1042 with slightly obscured views of the sea but it was conveniently on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel but is not 5 Star, rooms are cleaned but our room still had bits on the floor since the day we arrived. Also experienced ants on the tea tray which staff took away but was not replaced straight away. There is no consistency toiletries replaced each day differ, with shoe shines instead of shower gel, sun beds cannot be reserved which I understand, some guests receive a note asking not to leave towels out but other guests are leaving them out & no notes are being left! Breakfast is only warm, and repetitive each morning, fruit juices are not fresh juice! Balcony floor has not been cleaned once in our 7nights stay. All of the above is why this is not 5 star. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels all around the world and have stayed in wonderful hotels. On the plus side views out to sea from rooms are great and the service to funchal provided is good.

Room Tip: Sea views 4 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maratinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us.
We regret that we did not correspond to you entire satisfaction as 5* hotel and hope, you still had a nice and relaxing time with us.
Your constructive feedback will be used in order to improve our services in the future.
With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Property: Lti Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#11 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LTI Pestana Grand, one of the best and most prestigious hotels in Madeira, is also undoubtedly one of the best located. Sitting at the top of the Ponta da Cruz seacliff, it provides a superb view of the Atlantic Ocean and Cabo Girão. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing