We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with satisfactory service”
Review of Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Grand
Ranked #16 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton-on-Tees
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel with satisfactory service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last week on a bed and breakfast option.
Despite our room being on the first floor facing the entrance and not sea we couldn't grumble as it was spotlessly clean.
The breakfasts were beautiful although there was quite a queue to be shown a table. Personally, I felt there weren't enough staff to cover this hectic period especially when they were young, inexperienced and were either whingeing to themselves as they had been given an instruction by management or spending their time trying to entice the odd bird out of the restaurant that had made its way in.
Sunbeds were a problem for us as we didn't reserve until we had been to breakfast (following rules) Fortunately a member of staff had the job of gibfing them.
The pool bar service let the hotel doen badly and there was always a problem with our basic order. There wad even an occasion where we ordered food, had cutlery placed on the table, waited an hour only to be told that the waiter hadn't put our order in!
On the whole, the island is beautiful, weather hot and the reception desk were knowledgeable.
We weren't impressed with the welcome meeting as she wasn't sure of timetables or prices of trips so found things out for ourselves.
We wouldn't stay here again unless we were grey or owned a time share as they got tne best treatment.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Rebecca_Cacioppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We thank you for the positive remarks about some of our facilities and staff.
We would like to present our sincere apologies for the service provided at our pool bar and be sure that, corrective measures have been taken to improve this service.
We hope to have the pelasure of welcoming you back, until then we send our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    505
    114
    24
    9
See reviews for
401
1,173
38
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed at the Pestana Grand for a week this summer. Overall it is a very pleasant resort hotel, with nice rooms and great facilities, but I didn't fell I could give it 5 star.

Pros:

- Spacious rooms with comfortable beds
- Our sea view balcony was nice, with good quality and comfortable furniture
- Two fantastic salt water pools outside, with the option of an indoor pool
- Spa facilities, sauna etc.
- Superb breakfast
- Good value meals and snacks by the pool

I was particularly impressed with the breakfast as there was an abundance of fresh fruit, cooked items, cereals and traditional continental. In addition to this, the hotel cooked omelettes to order and fresh pancakes continually throughout service. The 'juices' clearly weren't fresh juices, but this was offset by the array of fresh fruit available. Local fizz was also available for anyone wanting an indulgent breakfast.

We spent some time by the pool, but were out often. Pool area lovely, but usual problems with sunbathers with an entitlement complex (early morning towels). I de-toweled a sunbed and to be fair the management did sort it out for us, but had I been looking stay about the hotel more often, I would have preferred they were more proactive with the sunbed blockers as it's a big hotel with limited space by the pool.

Cons:

- Service can be 5* but is inconsistent - communication between staff at times an issue
- Communication: The hotel's a good way from the town centre. For several days the courtesy bus changed pick-up / drop-off, but communication to guests was patchy at best.
- Bathrooms were not 5 star. Adequate, but not luxurious by any means. No separate shower cubicle in our room although I understand some have these.

There were a large number of trainees working in the resort and some were definitely more clued up than others. We had issues with slow / rude service at the pool bar and other minor niggles - none major, but they did start to add up over our stay. To be fair to the hotel, when raised they recognised and resolved issues quickly.

Overall, the hotel offered good value and was a great location. If service was more consistent I would happily award 5 stars. If a comfortable base, great views and good facilities are priority, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. If by going 5 star you are looking for a personal service and a hint of luxury, this might not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Worth choosing a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 1 March 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
Were glad that overall you did had a great time with us and have enjoyed your holidays.
We regret some services you received and how you received you and assure that, it was improved since last time you have stayed with us.
We hope to see you again in the future, until then we send you our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

As someone who works in the hotel industry back here in the U.K I understand how difficult it can be to get everything just right in a large hotel but I feel the Pestana Grand have achieved that!

Myself and my Mum booked this holiday last minute with the intention of having a peaceful girl's getaway. On arrival we were warmly greeted and given a glass of Madeiran wine, whilst our luggage was taken to our room. The hotel room allocated to us was lovely, however being on the first floor the sea-view was mostly blocked by the palm trees and overlooked the pool bar. We spoke to reception though and they were more than happy to move us to a room on the 3rd floor where we were treated to some spectacular views.
The hotel itself is in the most fantastic position overlooking the Atlantic. Some people may prefer being closer to the city centre but it was perfect for us. A 45 minute walk along the Promenade is all it takes to be in the centre of Funchal and you get to see some breath-taking scenery along the way. If, however you don't wish to walk the hotel provides a courtesy bus every half hour. The rooms and public areas are kept beautifully clean and the grounds are lovely. We stayed on a BB rate so I can only comment on the breakfast buffet but I was impressed by not only the wide selection of foods available but how the chefs managed to keep it constantly topped up. You were really spoilt for choice with fresh fruit, different varieties of bread rolls and pastries, continental meats and cheeses plus a selection of hot foods and to really complement that holiday feeling Buck's Fizz! There was also a lovely young lady who cooked omelettes to order. People often assume that running a breakfast buffet is an easy feat but when you have 300+ hungry guests it can very easily go wrong. I would happily say it's the best breakfast buffet I've ever sampled and I hope you don't mind if I pinch a few ideas to give to my own breakfast staff back here at my hotel!

However, what really makes this hotel so special is the staff. Everyone from the trainees to the management, housekeeping to reception were nothing but friendly and welcoming. You really get the feeling there is a real pride working for this hotel. Special thanks to Ricardo, the barman who greeted us every night with a huge smile and excellent service, Manuela (bar), Francisco and Ana (restaurant) and another young man whose name we never got but mainly works in the restaurant and wears a black & white striped polo shirt in the mornings. Although all the staff we encountered were brilliant, I felt these 5 really did go above and beyond to make every guest feel special. Please do pass on our thanks.

Some people may moan that wifi is only available in the lobby but Madeira is such a beautiful island to explore I wouldn't expect you'll want to waste anytime going on Facebook and texting when there is so much to see and do. My highlights were a trip of the north-west of the Island, sledging down from Monte and whale watching. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hopefully will be back to visit this incredible Island sometime in the near future.
Thank you Grand Pestana!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alice_mcpherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 11 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Pestana Grand for our holiday and were delighted by this hotel. It is beautiful, very scenic views and the staff are very friendly and efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it highly to anyone planning to stay here. The promenade behind the hotel is perfect for romantic walks and is very pleasant. Lovely place!

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the sea-view or side sea-view rooms, as the backdrop to the sea is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 10 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us and leaving your feedback about your stay with us.
We were pleased to read that we corresponded to your expectations and you have had an enjoyable time with us.
With high hopes to welcome you in the future we send our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A very good hotel, really enjoyed our stay here. We were given a part sea view room on arrival, with a fantastic view from the balcony of the Cabo Girao cliffs and the sea. The room was very spacious, even with 3 adults - an extra bed was placed in the room. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel, as there are several very good, well priced restaurants nearby - a short stroll along the promenade path and there is a good seafood restaurant, the Barqueiro, a pizza restaurant and also the Forum shopping centre which is a nice semi-open air shopping area. Breakfast at the hotel was good, though perhaps a bit repetitive, but good nonetheless. The outdoor saltwater pool was great. It's a bit chilly but when the sun is out, it warms up quickly and never got crowded. Much preferred the outdoor pool to the indoor pool which was quite noisy and got crowded with small children. Reception staff very helpful, and the hotel runs a free half-hourly shuttle coach into the centre of Funchal (~15 minutes drive) which was really useful and a nice addition. A couple of minor gripes - the hotel markets itself as a 5 star (I'm guessing this is based on facilities) which is fine - but then in my opinion, there should be complimentary bottle of water and replenished tea-tray with (at least) uht milk in the bedrooms (even Premier Inn does this). Instead there is a bottle of water which costs EUR 4.20! There is of course a supermarket 5 mins walk away to buy water/milk if desired, but for this standard of hotel, I think it should be in the rooms already, esp on arrival. Also, wifi only available in the lobby area. All in all though, this is a fantastic hotel, great location away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel area in Funchal, but the city and rest of the island is easily accessible, 20 mins taxi from the airport, close to good restaurants and shops, helpful and friendly staff, amazing views and just a nice place to relax for a few days. Madeira is a beautiful island, and Funchal a bustling city with lots to see. I would return to Madeira and the hotel.

Room Tip: We didn't pay extra for the sea-view room, but were allocated a part-sea view room on the 4th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRU_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 24 February 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just returned from another 2 week holiday at the Grand. Another wonderful stay :)
My only disappointment this year was the noisy spa, at times it seemed like a childrens play area and not at all relaxing. Parents either didn't notice the guidance signs or chose to ignore them and It was disappointing that the staff on duty didn't do anything about it. However while we were there several guests were saying the same thing so maybe things will improve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and loyalty to the Pestana Grand Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that, you had another excelent time with us.
Our indoor swimming pool is a sensitive area and should be a quiet and relaxed place, saying this it is quite difficult for us to control everytime the children we have in the hotel. We have already taken new measures to ensure that this area is a relaxed place but, it is a process. We believe it will be and get better in the future.
We all look forward to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have been to this hotel 4 times now and always enjoy the high standards,excellent pools and choices if food. It is well located with pleasant walks in both directions from the rear of the hotel.Madeira is the only place we go back to for repeat holidays due to the nice people.excellent walks and tasty foods.

Room Tip: Always ask for a sea view south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GS1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for joining us once again.
We sincerely hope to keep and provide the experience you are used to, that makes you revisit us, year after year.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#15 of 86 in Funchal
220 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand

Property: Pestana Grand
Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing