We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No British tv here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We travelled to this hotel in August this year with two grandchildren and the staff were kind enough to prepare two extra single beds in a junior suite (usually only sofa bed). However, the hotel is too far away from Funchal, there is no Wi-Fi available in the rooms, and there was no British tv available. The pool is salt water, freezing, and the kids got into trouble for jumping in the spa pool. The breakfast was excellent, buffet style, but the dinner (we went half board) was also buffet style and was average. The room was superb with two balconies with a fantastic sunset view. I would add that most of the staff were very helpful, especially Claudia in reception. There is a courtesy bus into Funchal which is very good and runs most times of the day. Overall I would not rate this hotel 5 star and would not return. ps I have visited 5 star hotels in Madeira several times so have an idea what to expect!

Room Tip: Sea view is essential, junior suite with two balconies worthwhile. Location superb for views but too...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Pestana Grand for your holidays in Madeira.
We are a bit far away from town indeed but, we do provide a shuttle bus free of charge which takes only 10m maximum to the centre of Funchal. The wifi is being updated at this precise moment in the hotel and we hope to have it improved next time you visit us. Regarding the English channels, we do have lost some of them but, this has to do with the change of the satelite position and, there are several hotel and other industries that at the moment does not have acess to them.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,932)
There are newer reviews for Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

922 - 928 of 1,932 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis for a week and thought it was a fairly nice hotel. We were a little mislead as they advertise 3 restaurants but they are not open every night so did not end up eating dinner at the hotel at all.

We did try to go to dinner on the first night but there was such a queue to get in to the restaurant and we were tired from travelling we decided to walk up the road to a restaurant we had seen on the way in instead.

The bedroom was clean and spacious, the air-conditioning was very noisy and not very effective, the fridge worked very well and the bathroom was a good size with a separate shower and bath. We were happy with the breakfast, we always had it outside by the pool which was lovely, there was a good choice of foods from pastries to cooked meats and cheeses and there was a chef cooking omelettes to order.

We were disappointed with the pool area as it is in need of some fresh paint in places and the parasols were a bit of a disgrace as they were all rusty and discoloured.

Despite the few areas of complaint all in all we had a nice week and the hotel was satisfactory for our holiday.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank KennedyBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
The Pestana Grand have 4 restaurants in total, one for buffet and 3 á-lá-carte. The Buffet restaurant "Atrium" is open everyday for a them buffet however, the Italian, Morrocan and Portuguese are normally open once per week, it depends on the hotel availability. The pool area has been updated and at the moment is provided of new parasols as well as sunbeds.
We were happy to know that, despite this minor disapointments of yours you still had a great time with us.

With kind regards from sunny Madeira

Miguel Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

From the warm and genuine greeting by Claudia and Clara at Reception, to our final farewell, everything at the Pestana was just right. We had spent a long time researching, finally choosing the Pestana for our Honeymoon after looking at many hotels, and for us it was ideal, looking out over the Atlantic, with beautifully kept clean rooms with excellent housekeeping. Pools were large and cleverly interconnected with fabulous landscaped gardens and a lovely sea-side walk along the shore. Evening entertainment was varied and interesting with the staff obviously working hard to keep the guests entertained with activities should they wish to participate.

The food and drink from Breakfast to bar meals were first-rate with excellent choice and good value for money, and the service always first-rate with a lovely welcome from the team at Breakfast when you might just appreciate a smile! Well done Jose and his team. Some people may not appreciate the location -the hotel isn't in the centre (which we loved as this means it's quiet at night) but there is a good shopping centre just up the road, and the courtesy bus the hotel provides to the centre is big and on-time.
So a huge thank you to Alberto Reynolds, the General Manager, (who took time to write us a personal card of welcome) you are obviously doing everything right to have such happy guests and such fantastic staff!
My husband works in the service industries and we both agree that hotels offering this level of consistently great service are rare in any country. So, whenever we are in Madeira, you'll find us at the Pestana Grand!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JCGouveia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us.
With was a personal pleasure of ours to be part and provide a memorable holiday for you.
We hope you have taken good memories back home and hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We spent a week here in August, travelling as a couple. The hotel is on the sea front and from an aesthetic point of view it is an impressive building in a lovely spot. The hi light has to be the quality and friendliness of the staff - it was first class from start to finish.
Lovely big room with a sea view. Room was spotless and well maintained.
The food was ok if a little repetitive, but it was generally of good standard with enough choice and there were ample seats to eat outside. We got a bit bored with the food and buffet style eating and ate out a couple of times. The hotel had a barbecue on 2 nights we were there but it seemed a lot of fuss to get food that could have been prepared and delivered inside and I have to say on both occasions the food wasn't great. It was tough and below the required temperature.
The pool area is nice but the pool is sea water which we didn't like and we felt whilst there were plenty of sun beds, they were crammed close together not allowing for any degree of privacy. The pool side could also have been better maintained with some broken tiles and shoddy beds and
brollies.
The rooms had tea and coffee and a free safe but no wifi other than in public/reception area and the TV in the room was from a couple of decades a go.
The cocktail bar at night was nice and relaxing but the standard of entertainment was pretty dated and the hotel does suffer from a lack of atmosphere. The outside entrance area lacks presence albeit once inside the hotel does look more impressive.
The hotel could do with some improvement to small things that would make a great difference and also to take some external advice about the atmosphere in the hotel.
The gardens and location are excellent and we enjoyed the nearby indoor shopping mall as well as the open top bus which passed the hotel and was good value at 12 euros for 2 days. Funchal is beautiful and we enjoyed trips on the cable car and to the farmers market.
All in all a nice holiday but the hotel could be improved to allow it to merit it's 5 star status.

Room Tip: High floor, sea view room a must
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank jimjackie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Pestana Grand for your holidays.
We regret that the experience with us was not totally up to your satisfaction however, we have taken good notice of your constructive feedback in order to improve the faults you mention.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the end of July after seeing a late deal offer with Atlantic holidays, having previously stayed at the Casino Park and the Enotel Lido we decided to go further out of Funchal to see what this area had to offer. Unfortunately (for us) the Grand is too far out, despite the limited hotel bus service into Funchal. It is also in a fairly residential area so not a lot of nightlife.
We stayed half board, breakfasts were good - apart from the toasters- and the staff worked very hard to clear tables but there was always a queue to be shown to a table. Evening meals were a bit mixed, salads were good but meat dishes were a bit repetitive. Afterwards we liked to have a walk but there were not any bars in the immediate vicinity so it was a 30 minute stroll to the lido area for drinks and a lively atmosphere and then a taxi back to hotel for happy hour nightcaps.
Our room on the fourth floor had a lovely sea view and was comfortable, twin beds pushed together, adequate wardrobe space with free safe, the issue about tea & coffee did not bother us and the two complimentary bottles of water at the start of our holiday were a nice touch. We did have problems with the low water pressure in the bathroom , sometimes the toilet did not refill after flushing. The main problem in the room was the state of the carpet, very stained in certain areas - in need of a good shampoo. The old fashioned televisions need updating to flat screen to give more space.
The pool area was tightly packed with sun beds, the outdoor pools were lovely for swimming in on sunny days, however the spa area was used by families making it a very noisy place and not the ideal place for relaxation.
Overall the hotel is OK but not in our opinion worthy of 5 stars or even a good rating.

Room Tip: request a high floor and a sea view is a must have.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marion h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We regret that we did not meet your expectations in general and would like to inform you that, have taken good notice of the comments you pointed out in order to improve them in the future and provide a better service.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My wife an I have just returned from a relaxing week in this wonderful island. I can't think of one negative thing to say about this hotel, from the friendly, helpful staff, good and well varied food to the lovely pool area.
Our room was listed as a side/sea view, I believe we had the best view in the hotel, looking west out to the Atlantic and to the hills over Camara dos Lobos a few miles along the coast. Sunsets were beautiful. A large balcony with very good furnishings to sit and watch these views.
The room itself was large and comfortable, good size beds. I had a bit of a laugh at the older TV. No flat screen, plenty of channels, although we tended to stick to the news channels.
The bathroom had separate shower and bath, saves the chance of injury climbing out of a shower. Hair dryer fitted in, shampoo, shower gel, conditioner all supplied.
Tea and coffee facilities were very welcome, I always enjoy a cuppa first thing in the morning. There is a fridge in the room, two bottles of water in them on arrival, 3.50 euros each, not bad I suppose as it's room service prices. Anyway, it's there if you want it, if not, you won't be charged.
I'm not going to dwell to much on the food, all I will say is that there HAS to be something you will enjoy whether it be breakfast or dinner. 7 choices of cereal, full hot plate and chef on call for fresh pancakes or an omelette, varied breads from all over Europe. We loved the B.B.Q. nights on the patio. Good food, good wine, good company, what more does one need?
The entertainment in the evenings was a bit hit and miss, none the less it was still nice winding down in the bar after a busy day.
I said earlier that the staff were friendly, they were, they were also very helpful, from the reception desk to the bar staff, the housekeeping staff that made sure our coffee supply was plentiful, all did a great job, Thank-you all.
This was an amazing hotel which enhanced our first experience of Madieria, it won't be our last, and it won't be our last with this hotel group.

Footnote-go out the garden gate and you will find the Magic Tea Garden, a lovely spot in late afternoon for some refreshment. Nice friendly staff here too.

Room Tip: Side sea view looking west, this will give you the best of both worlds.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Carrottop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for joining us and leaving your feedback about your stay with us.
We were pleased to read that we corresponded to your expectations and you have had an enjoyable time with us.
With high hopes to welcome you in the future we send our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our family of 4 visited recently, staying for 11 days.The hotel was spacious, clean and welcoming. The gardens were beautiful and the pools were very pleasant and certainly not cold.The indoor spa pool was often monopolised by children which put me off using it. The top 2 floors of the hotel are reserved for timeshare guests but views were fine from lower floors. Meals were good with plenty of seating available, inside and out. Breakfast was amazing. The bread selection was great and there was a good choice of cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit and hot dishes. My only gripe was the cost of a bottle of water at the evening meal. We were charged 4.20 euros per bottle. The same bottle in the local supermarket was 49 cents.The payment for drinks was sometimes erratic as staff failed to recognise the discount given to Pestana returning guests. The courtesy bus laid on by the hotel was excellent. It was always punctual arriving and at picking up from town.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

Room Tip: Morning sun in sea view rooms. Evening sun in side sea view rooms. Take your choice!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank travelsearchagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.5 mi away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 88 in Funchal
2,315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#33 of 88 in Funchal
2,872 reviews
1.0 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.4 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23 | São Martinho, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal (Formerly Pestana Grand)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £72 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Grand is one of the best and most prestigious 5-start hotels in Funchal, Madeira and sits upon the Ponta da Cruz cliff with a view of the oceans and Cabo Girão. It is only 30 minutes on foot from Formosa beach and has direct access to Promenade do Lido, the famous promenade in Madeira. Surrounded by magnificent gardens is the island's largest outdoor saltwater swimming pool with views of the sea. The hotel has a Spa, with a Jacuzzi, sauna, gym, Turkish bath and even a panoramic indoor swimming pool, in addition to massages and/or spa treatments. For dining, guests can enjoy four restaurants and two bars. If you bring your family, the little ones can play in the lounge or the garden with a game zone. There is a free private car park (subject to availability). All rooms are spacious and bright, include Wi-Fi and have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing