We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, fantastic location and gardens”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great apartment, fantastic location and gardens”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This is a fabulous timeshare. We always feel special when we arriv. We and are treated the same. The staff are friendly and helpful and always on hand for queries etc. The restaurants on site are brilliant especially the Italian restaurant il Basilico. The bars are lovely and welcoming and service is great. Madeira itself is lovely and the setting of the Residence is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive comment about The Residence on TripAdvisor.
I am really happy to know that enjoyed the hotel and Madeira overall.
I really look forward to welcome you on the next visit to our Island.

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    106
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
219
476
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We were regular visitors to the Cliff Bay for years before I bought on impulse, without mentioning it to my husband who had stayed home to work, 2 weeks timeshare at the Residence. He thought I was mad, until he visited for the first time, we then bought another 2 weeks!
The Residence has become a second home for our children who know it like the back of their hand and is also much loved by my parents who join us there every summer.
We have a garden apartment which is lovely and I spend most of my time lying there amongst the beautiful flowers whole the children are entertained by the fantastic Cindy and Jarkov.
The hotel group really look after you, we still visit the cliff bay to eat in the Michelin restaurant and have just returned from the groups hotel in the algarve for the third time. I cannot fault Porto Bay.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patchesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 18 May 2011
Dear Sirs,

Many thanks for publically praise the Residence and some members of my team. I will certainly share your thoughts with them.

It is also rewarding to know that you and your familly enjoy the time spend in the Vila Porto Mare complex.

Also take the opportunity to thank you for supporting the group Porto Bay by using the different hotels of our company.

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Beautiful gardens, lovely sea views, excellent facilities and a good choice of restaurants offering a wide variety of delicious food. The Residence is situated in the "Hotel Zone", to the west of Funchal (i.e. not in the centre of Funchal) but with easy access to the centre from both the hotel shuttle bus and local service buses. The atmosphere is very relaxed, with gardens to stroll in, spa facilities and friendly and helpful staff - so, ideal for a completely switched-off holiday. The apartments have all the facilities you need for a comfortable weeks holiday including a small fitted kitchen for self-catering. All the shops you need are nearby including supermarkets but don't forget to visit the old town in east central Funchal for a feel of Old Madeira - we recommend Arsenios for a typical Madeiran meal.

Room Tip: Specify whether you want a sea or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie0975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 13 May 2011
Muito Obrigado, for your comments on TripAdvisor.
It is really good to know that you enjoyed the time you spent at The Residence. "Muito obrigado" means thank you, in Portuguese and this is one of the things you can do while you are staying in any of the hotels of Vila Porto Mare.."Portuguese lessons" for simple/basic vocabulary.

Hope to see you in a near future. “até breve”

With best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Our stay at Porto Mare Residence was second to none. It was the best exchange through RCI that we have done. To review the practicalities: the apartment is wonderfully updated and well-appointed. The beds are comfortable with a foam topper and comfy pillows. The bathrooms were large and updated- water pressure was good and the towels were soft. (plus I’m a sucker for great robes, which they have). The kitchen had everything we needed (including a dishwasher!). There is a grocery store in close walking distance, so we bought some cheese, meat, and fruit and had nice breakfasts on the wonderful balcony. Compared to other exchanges we have done that can be “tired” and stuck in another decade, Porto Mare Residence was as bright and fresh as could be. To top it off- there is a great promenade starting at the hotel, providing a path for refreshing morning walks with cool views. Madeira itself is amazing- clean, friendly, safe- with good food and different microclimates all across the island. We ate well based on the recommendations of the great hotel staff- particularly Pedro at the desk and General Manager Antonio Pais. Thanks, Porto Mare! I hope we make it back to Madeira soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymiedewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Let me start by thanking you for travel from so far away to a small island at least 14 hrs away of home. Secondly I would like to thank you for publically share your thoughts about the Porto Mare Residence on TripAdvisor and third to say that it was and it will be a pleasure to have you back whenever you feel like. (tangerina poncha will be also wayting...)
I will share with my colleague Pedro the comments you have made about his service.

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We exchanged into the Residence for 2 weeks through RCI When we arrived it was clear that RCI exchange customers are considered to be 2nd class citizens. We had used a lot of points for the exchange but were given the worst apartment on the complex. It was located on the side over the noisey road We complained but were told that RCI exchanges get a 1 bed apartment of their choice not in relation to the points spent.
The complex is good with a nice indoor pool and gym and several restaurents. Owners get a 15%discount on all drinks and food RCI guests get no discount.Really makes you feel wanted!!!! We will not be back. If you are doing an RCI exchange be warned

Room Tip: Any room on the front not the rooms over the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your post on TripAdvisor.
I have taken good note of your thoughts about your holiday experience and I regret to know that we were not able to fulfill your expectations.

Also take the opportunity to explain that due to our high occupancies sometimes it is not possible to assign only the best located apartments.
The 15% discount in fact is part of the Prestige Club program benefits. Among some other benefits, Prestige Blue card members get 10% discount on every food & beverage consumptions and Gold card members get 15% discount on the same consumptions. Owners of The Residence get a gold card right on the first year of stay. Other hotel guests or in this case RCI members ( not owners of The Residence) get a Prestige Blue card after the first stay at The Residence or any other hotel of the Porto Bay group.

Hope you givr us the opportunity to have you back in a near future and please do not hesitate to contact me in case you need any further explanations about this or any other matter.

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

It is difficult to find fault with this resort. The Hotel complex is first rate complimented by gardens that can simply be described as beautiful. All the staff , from managerial level down to maids are friendly, helpful and cheerful. We look forward to coming back here every year for 3 weeks over February and March to escape the miserable UK winters and would not hesitate to recommend the companies within the Porto Bay group to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogdorall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Hello,

Just a short note to thank you for your comments and really hope to meet you on your 7th stay at The Residence.
With warm regards
Muito Obrigado,
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

We love Maderia and have stayed in various hotels and this for us is far the best we have stayed in the residence and also in the hotel both very good its a good location to walk into Funchal we do this on a daliy basis we ahve been now 6 times and will be back in August 2012 carnt wait

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fisher013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 6 May 2011
Just to thank you for your post on tripadvisor and let you know that it will be a pleasure to welcome you in 2012.

With warm regards,
Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,038 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing