We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence yet again”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellence yet again”
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We had the pleasure to stay here this year. From the minute we arrived and and were greeted by the reception staff to the minute we left we experienced an exceptional experience. Nothing was too much trouble, with everyone having a can do approach to our requests. Everyone spoke fluent english which put our poor attempts at portugese to shame. The lay out of the Residence meant that we could be completely independent of the hotel complex, whilst also enabling us to take advantage of the comprehensive facilities offered by the hotel when we wanted to. The one bedroom apartment was spacious and well appointed, with a lovely sea view. The kitchen had all the necessary appliances for us to self cater, however with so many restaurants, both in the hotel and nearby offering local fish at excellent prices we preferred to eat out most nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty_125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Just a short note to thank you for the "excelente" review posted on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to learn that once again you have enjoyed your stay at The Residence.

Hope to meet you in a near future,
Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    106
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
219
476
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bendygirl
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

this is my second year returning to The Residence at Porto Mare and I am continually impressed by the complex, the hotel and surrounding areas, the Gardens are beautifully maintined, all the staff are professional yet friendly and Tom, Yvette and Clare in Guest relations are always on hand to provide expert local knowledge from what excursions to take to local restaurants that we may like. As always a complete pleasure staying here and I look forward to returning in future years.

A couple of things that could be tweaked though,
[1] the food in the Atlantida restaurant nevers seems to be piping hot which I know is an issue for most buffet restaurants.

[2] il basilico needs to improve it's service and value for money, I went for dinner and was extremely disappointed and frustrated by the lack of service, I have posted a separate report. I have been there before and enjoyed it immensely and was looking forward to visiting them again but given the poor service and the prices I would not go back as there are many more restaurants in the surrounding areas which are just as good.

[3] The Sofa Bed in the lounge whilst mainly comfortable is plighted by the metal bars and legs which are not so pleasant to sit on when getting in/out of bed.

The Residence is a joy to stay at and having stayed at the 'Cliff Bay' I would say that The Residence far outweighs the Cliff Bay in every area and in my opinion should have a Five Star rating.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor.
We have taken good note of your thoughts and rest assured that we will discuss them internally so we can do better in future.

Hope to meet you in a future visit.
Best regards,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Our first visit to Madeira was in 2007.
We enjoyed our visit so much that we decided that we would love to make a return visit.
Whilst staying at the Villa Porto Mare we were given the chance to view the apartments on sale within the Residence complex. We were very impressed with the layout and furnishings of these apartments, all set within the glorious gardens of the resort.
We decided to purchase an apartment over a ten year period for one week each year, and have since returned from our forth visit. We extended our period each year to two weeks, because of our enjoyment with the Porto Mare Resort and the Residence.
Madeira is a very lovely place. The flora is magnificent; the people are friendly and welcoming; the restaurants are fabulous, and the sights throughout the whole island are breath-taking.
Funchal, the capital, is bustling in a charming way. It has a tremendous history, and this is reflected in its architecture.
I hope we will never tire of visiting Madeira, and that’s it desire will continue as strong in the future as it is now.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamJohnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

As proud owners of an apartment in The Residence, we were so looking forward to our stay this year. As usual the staff were welcoming and the apartment spotless. The main highlight of my holiday has always been spending time in the wonderful swimming pools within the complex. Unfortunately this year I was very disappointed to discover that the indoor 'spa' pool and the 'Eden Mare' indoor pool were freezing cold. Previously these pools were set at a lovely temperature. Both pools were hardly used by the guests throughout our stay. I complained on the first day we arrived, I was told that I was not the first to do so. I was informed that it was a 'thermostat problem' that was now fixed. But the water remained too cold to swim in. Despite several others complaints we finished our holiday very disappointed that we were unable to use the very facility that sold us on the hotel in the first place! The cynic in me believes that the pool being unheated is a cost saving measure.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Dear Guest,

Just to give you feedback on your TripAdvisor post.

For some days we had a fail in our heating water equipment and in fact the pool temperature was lower than the usual temperature (28º). As you know we are in a island and the spare parts needed took longer time to arrive than we were expecting and this is the reason why it happened. The temperatures are back to normal since a some days ago.

With best regards,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Residence is an exclusive part of the Villa Porto Mare. Beautiful apartments that include everything you could need for your holiday. All of the facilities of the two hotels in the complex are available to you including four pools, two jacuzzis, four bars, some with entertainment every night, plus what must surely be the most beatiful gardens in any hotel complex in Madeira. Don't miss the exquisite orchid garden with many rare plants from all around the worlld. We will definitely be back for more!

Room Tip: Take time to explore every corner of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pastyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your positive thoughts about The Residence.

My team in general, but mainly the garden team will be most pleased when I share with them, your comments about “their” garden. It is good to know that you have enjoyed it.

Hope to meet you in a near future,

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had stayed at the Porto Mare hotel in November and loved it but this was our first time using the Residence as owners. Our studio flat was very roomy and benefited from
the daily maid service. We would have appreciated being told before travelling that the coffee machine took filter papers and that we would need salt and pepper. A few staples such as these already in the room would have been nice. We found out later that there is a 'Left overs' cupboard in the Owners office but were not informed about it beforehand.
However, we really enjoyed being back in the Porto Mare complex, where nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Dear Guest,

“Muito obrigado” for your comments on TripAdvisor and really happy to know that you have enjoyed your “first stay” as an owner.

Please next time you come do not hesitate to contact me in case I can do anything you might need for your holidays. We will be most pleased to assist you.

Best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

This is a fabulous timeshare. We always feel special when we arriv. We and are treated the same. The staff are friendly and helpful and always on hand for queries etc. The restaurants on site are brilliant especially the Italian restaurant il Basilico. The bars are lovely and welcoming and service is great. Madeira itself is lovely and the setting of the Residence is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a positive comment about The Residence on TripAdvisor.
I am really happy to know that enjoyed the hotel and Madeira overall.
I really look forward to welcome you on the next visit to our Island.

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing