We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
749
113
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
113
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto maretime sharegarden apartmentone bedroom apartmentil basilicomed restaurantorchid gardensecond hometimeshare ownershotel complexporto bay grouplike coming homehome from homeanother wonderful holidayeden mar hoteldvd playerexcellent facilities
Filter
Updating list...
636 - 641 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have now stayed at the Residence, in our time share, for five succesive years and we have enjoyed every one, we are never disappointed The staff are always friendly and efficient. The rooms, the gardens the facilities are all excellent and we would recommend a stay here to anyone. On our arrival, our first stop is the pool bar for lunch and a bottle of wine and immediately we are in another world. A great holiday and to top it all the weather was excellent.

Room Tip: We have a one bedroom garden room on floor one, overlooking the sea, which is an excellent location.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,

You mention in you review that “On our arrival, our first stop is the pool bar for lunch and a bottle of wine and immediately we are in another world”!

Can I suggest you to share with us the name of the wine as this can be one of the reasons for the nice comments we receive about The Residence and Vila Porto Mare?!

Now a bit more serious, thank you for your review and it will always be a pleasure to welcome you at The Residence.

Best regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We have just returned from a one-week stay at the Porto Mare Residence. There are a lot of good points about this hotel, and also some areas I feel could be improved:

Good Points:
- The hotel grounds are gorgeous - some of the best I have seen. The grounds include a tropical garden and also lots of areas for sunbathing on grass, surrounded by plant life. This made for a very relaxing and pretty sunbathing experience!
- The size of our room was excellent. It included a large bathroom with shower, sink, toilet etc, along with a separate sink and bath/shower area. The room also included a small kitchen area with fridge/dishwasher, a large sitting area with dining table/chairs, a large bedroom with two double beds and a good sized balcony.
- The hotel is located right next to the sea, which makes the views from the hotel lovely and it also means it is conveniently located for a walk down to the sea and also near restaurants/cafes at the sea front.
- The facilities in the hotel are excellent - there are many different swimming pools available (both indoor/outdoor), restaurants and bars etc. We used many of these and have to say they were excellent - we especially liked the pool next to the spa which allowed the swimmer to be either indoors or outdoors. We also used the spa during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed our treatments.
- The staff we came into contact with were very friendly - in particularly the gentleman who met us at Reception when we first checked in, and also the maid who cleaned our room each day for us - she was lovely!
- The hotel offers a PC and free internet usage for its customers.

Areas for improvement:
*We stayed in room number 3182 and although the room itself was excellent, it was very noisy. Our balcony faced a side street of the hotel (by the entrance doors) and as such each time a van/bus/car/motorbike drove up or down the street, which is on a hill, we could hear this, both within our room and particularly when out on the balcony. Along with this traffic noise, any people walking down the street could also be heard if talking or shouting. Whilst this was not really a problem for us during the day, we did find that this disturbed us at night - to the point of being unable to sleep due to the noise. In the end, we had to wear earplugs in order to sleep. This was particularly a problem on the Friday night of our stay, were one of the nearby hotels seemed to have a party on their terrace - I laid awake until 3am that morning waiting for the noise to die down so that I could sleep! I do think that this is an area The Residence could address, perhaps by soundproofing the room windows facing the street to stop any external noise entering the room. Clearly there is nothing the hotel can do about the noise on the balcony - we found this is a real shame as we love to sit on a balcony on holiday during the day and enjoy the surroundings, but unfortunately that just wasn’t possible here due the noise - we ended up shouting at each other at times!
- Along with the noise noted above, there was also a lot of noise from rooms directly above and to the side of our room. Again whilst not such a problem during the day, it was an issue in the morning, from around 7am onwards, when people are moving around and hotel rooms are being cleaned. As the rooms have hard wooden floors, each time a chair is moved above your room, this can be heard very loudly. Not such an issue if you are an early riser, but if like us you like a bit of a sleep in on holiday, you may find this an issue.
- In light of the above noise issues, we contacted Reception the day after we arrived to ask if we could transfer to another room. We were told that there was only one other room within the hotel that was available and we were given the keys to look at this. The room itself was great but on our arrival to it we noted that there was a family next door with a rather rowdy group of children who were running round screaming at the time, which we could clearly hear from the room. We therefore decided against moving as there didn’t seem any point in moving from noise to more noise!

Overall we were happy with our stay at the hotel - it is a very relaxing place, in beautiful gardens with excellent facilities. The only downside for us was the noise as detailed above.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the side street - preferably a room with a garden view so that you are facing the sea and the lovely gardens.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmclare125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your opinion about your previous stay at the residence.

As I mentioned in another review about the same noise issue, yes in fact on the wing facing south west we do have a few rooms that occasionally can be a bit noisy. I will take your opinion in consideration and internally discuss if any improvements can be done in order to minimize any disturbance from outside.

Hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This was our first trip to Portugal and our experience greatly exceeded our expectations! Madeira is a magical island with friendly people and breathtaking scenery. The Porto Mare complex is scenically beautiful with a great location, lovely immaculate rooms, a spa, at least 5 pools, beautifully landscaped gardens and a great staff. Our charming 2 bedroom unit overlooked the ocean. It had 2 decks, a very well equipped kitchen, 2 large bathrooms and 3 TVs. It is within walking distance of a great little grocery store and numerous restaurants. Wish the rooms (and not just the lobby) had wifi, but we bought a very inexpensive sim card from vodaphone (the stores are everywhere) so my 3G ipad worked everywhere on the island!

Highly recommend renting a car and seeing the entire island, especially the far eastern end ((Ponta de Sao Lourenco) which includes a lengthy arduous walk through some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world. If you're a photographer you won't want to miss this!

Also loved the Forum shopping center which is open until 11pm on Sunday nights! A great place to shop where the islanders shop instead of in the tourist traps. It contains a large modern cinema with movies in English with Portuguese subtitles and one of the largest grocery stores I have ever seen! We even ate dinner in the grocery's cafe.

One small caution...don't park on the street in front of the Residence lobby without putting money in the meter or you might get a parking ticket...we did!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanDolberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for the nice review posted on tripadvisor.

Thank you also for bringing the issue WI-fi , as I can finally inform you that soon we will come up with a Wi-fi solution for the Vila Porto Mare Resort.

Again many thanks for your opinion and hope to welcome you back soon.


With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Stayed in Porto Mare the Residence with two small children and it was perfect for us. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff, the space in the apartments, it was huge! And clean. And perfect service. Very comfortable.
The bed for our baby was a real bed with a real matress. Our own beds were huge as well, it fitted four people (didn't try...).
Outside our apartment there were sun beds and a huge lawn for our kids to play on. There were lots of swimming pools, one of them was to cold to swim in because of winter season, but the other pools and jacuzzi's were perfect temperature.
I have never enjoyed a holiday so much because of the place we were staying. I would most certainly go again and I can highly recommend the Porto Mare Residence.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elke151107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your opinion about The Residence and you holidays.

Glad you had a positive experience and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon.


With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Just got back from our first week as timeshare owners in the Residence. We bought it last year on the strength of a week staying at the Porto Mare hotel. The things that made the hotel such a hit with us are just as good for the Residence - indeed the whole resort complex is what sold the Residence to us. It's a brilliant hotel, and 4 stars quite honestly is less than it deserves. The site is magnificent - pools, gardens, view all imaginatively designed and immaculately maintained, as are the rooms and hotel facilities. There is no space pinching or any evidence of cost cutting, the staff are attentive, friendly, helpful and open. It's a lovely, relaxing,welcoming place to stay. Did we like it? Reader, we bought the timeshare!

Room Tip: They are all good - just decide whether you want sun in the morning, the afternoon or both
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that you are still happy with your decision of being a member of The Residence.

Thank you too for your review shared with so many holiday makers and sincerely hope to meet you in a future visit.

With warm regards,

MUITO OBRIGADO

See you soon,

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews