We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$247
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
750
113
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
113
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto maretime sharegarden apartmentone bedroom apartmentil basilicomed restaurantorchid gardensecond hometimeshare ownershotel complexporto bay grouplike coming homehome from homeanother wonderful holidayeden mar hoteldvd playerexcellent facilities
Filter
Updating list...
632 - 637 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Just returned from another fantastic week at the Residence, in a 2 Bed apartment. We took friends this time, their first visit. They thoroughly enjoyed themselves and can't wait to return.

We always have the best nights sleep in the Residence, lovely comfy beds and no external noise, woken up by the sun rising.

Added bonus it was flower festival week, the amazing floral displays and parade on the Sunday
is unmissable.

There are numerous fantastic restaurants, The Med in the Porto Mare, meat lovers evening for
a wonderful choice of meat/steaks cooked to perfection. Il Basillico on the front of the resort
well worth a visit. A must every visit, Do Forte in the old town, all inclusive for 35 euros, excellent
food and service, can't fault it. The poolside bar at the Porto Mare prepare first class snacks at lunchtime accompanied by very cheerful staff.

Only 5 months until we return to Madeira, can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank yopu for the"wonderfull" review shared with so many other holiday makers. Really happy to know tha you have enjoyed the time you spent with us and profited from our different gastronomic options.

See you soon,

With warm regards,
Muito obrigado,

AP
...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have just had the good fortune in enjoying a week at this lovely place. The staff were unfailingly kind and helpful,daily evening entertainment varied and most enjoyable. Worth going on one of the site tours they hold, I chose the Garden one and learned a lot plus got free fruit! Also a kitchen one and winetasting. The walks on offer were well run and interesting. The apartment is extremely comfy, a choice of two TVs (BBC and ITV available!) well stocked kitchen, huge comfy beds and each cluster opens onto a private bit of garden so it felt very exclusive and peaceful. I can see why the weeks here are so popular and sought after, I felt a twinge of envy. A tiny gripe, the main pool was too chilly to enjoy, why with all that solar energy is there no form of solar heating? I would return if asked !!

Room Tip: this was a time-share. A garden unit is definitely a good bet.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Sir,

Just to thank you for your opinion posted on tripadvisor.
Happy to know that overall you had a positive stay. Regarding the solar panels we are already working on it not for the outdoor pool but to the two main indoor heated pools.

Please do not hesitate to contact us in case we can be any help for future visits to Madeira and hope to see you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado.

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Maybe I'm biased, being an owner, but this is unashamed luxury. Wonderful apartments, lavishly equipped, many poolside and garden sunbathing areas, five eateries with different ranges of cuisine, from buffet style to silver service. The staff are very friendly and cannot seem to do enough for the holidaymaker. Daily maid service, lots of clean towels, bedding changes, even pots washed if you happen to leave any!

Room Tip: The garden side apartments, if you can get one, are perfect, walk off your terrace onto your 'private' lawn.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedMickDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Many, many thanks for the “Verdant luxury” review shared with so many holiday makers.

Really happy to know that you had another good stay and hope to welcome you soon.

With best regards,

Muito Obrigado.

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Having originally stayed at the Eden Mar, we were shown round the Residence complex and happily bought an initial one week. 2011 was our first year and we found the time went so quickly that on our stay this year we have bought into a second week which gives us the time to really relax. The whole complex is beautifully maintained, the staff are so kind and nothing seems to be too much trouble. With four restaurants, four pools,gym and spa on site, together with the most impressive gardens and plants, it's an oasis to relax in and one could just stay there the whole time- but don't as the island just begs to be explored with it's many contrasts.

Room Tip: The garden rooms, or one facing into the complex,those facing the side road can be noisy as road is on a steep slope.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

It is rewarding to know that you are still happy with your decision of becoming a member of The Residence.

As you stated and as a Residence guest your are entitled to the use of all facilities and services of Vila Porto Mare and I am glad you profited from it.

Hope to meet you next year.

With Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

This was our fourth stay at The Residence and it is always a treat! Our appartment is very comfortable and well equipped and has been refurbished since our last visit - floor sanded and repolished, walls painted and new TV's with wider range of programmes.
The private gardens are quiet and relaxing but also give us the opportunity to meet neighbours.
Being part of the Porto Mare complex means that there are a wide selection of activities to take part in or not as we choose. Guided visits to the gardens, the kitchens (with cookery lesson) and wine tasting are interesting and provide another opportunity to meet other guests. The regular shuttle bus into Funchal is useful but there is good transport from the end of the road anyway.
There is a good and varied programme of music in the evenings. We often choose to go out to concerts in Funchal but breakfast or dinner on our balcony watching the birds, enjoying the flowers and the sea beyond is just about as good as it gets for us.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with so many other visitors of Madeira.

I am really happy that you had a positive 4th visit and sincerely hope to see you around soon.

With warm regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews