We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
APO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in a 1BR apartment a couple weeks ago and I found it to be meticulously well-kept and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The whole property was very well-maintained and with five pools, we never had to fight for space to swim. My daughter enjoyed the kids club. The staff were very good with the kids. However, the length of the program is quite short and did not allow for me to do much more than laundry or go to the gym. Being a single parent, I would have loved to have been able to utilize the kids club so that I could attend some of the other functions, like the wine-tasting. Unfortunately, the times were not coordinated. Overall, this would not deter me from staying at the Residence again. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyandra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your holiday feelings about the Residence.
I am really happy to know that in general you had a positive stay with us.
I have taken good note of your comments about the Kids club and although we have a general program we probably can extend it a bit more and meet the specific needs of our guests…for future stays please kindly contact us so we can discuss the matter


I would be most pleased to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    102
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
209
453
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We visited with friends who are residents with a week in this hotel. What a lovely place. The apartment was lovely, spotlessly clean with all the facilities you need or could want.
The rooms all looked out to sea and the facilities in the hotel were great .the gardens are particularly lovely.
A great stay and we hope to be invited to join our friends again for what was a delightful weeks holiday.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor about your first holiday at The Residence. Hopefully want be your last…

I am really happy to know that you and your friends had such a positive stay.

I would be delightful to meet you on the second visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Have just spent a fantastic two weeks in our two bedroom apartment, where our daughter and her disabled husband joined us for the first week. Firstly the four of us were picked up from the airport by Tony in his specially adapted taxi. (The wheelchair was loaded into the taxi with passenger complete). This was so much better than the extraordinary process onto the aircraft itself. Did not feel at all confident with the way they handled our son-in-law!
However, once we arrived at The Residence, (11am) only had half an hour before Limao Doce opened. If you haven't tried one of their superb milkshakes, make sure you do on your next visit. Must make a special mention of John who has now joined Clare and Tom. We love to travel on the local buses and John printed out timetables for us. He completely compliments C&T. What a team. Already missing The Residence and only been home 10 days.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park and sea, although there does seem to be "night owls" at the weekend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor about your holiday at The residence and happy to learn that in general you had a positive experience.

Thank you also for the public praise of one of our staff members. He will be most pleased to receive your kind words which I’ll pleasurably share with him.

Hope to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment at the residence for 1 week which we really enjoyed. The whole complex is spotless. The studio was large and comfortable. We felt that the interior of the residence would benefit from a little updating ie the carpets etc but in saying that it is very well kept, just not as up to date as we thought it was going to be. The gardens and pool areas are what sells this place and would make us want to return again. They are excellent. The breakfast room is lovely, the food was quite good. We had dinner once in the italian restaurant in the residence part of the complex which was very good. The availibility of a computer for internet use in the lovely foyer is a great plus. The staff are friendly and helpful especially Beirro(sorry im not sure of the correct spelling) on reception. He helped us to book the excellent Do Forte restaurant. At the residence they provide vouchers where you pay €5 at the hotel and then €34 at the restaurant for the set menu, which is amazing value for such amazing food. It includes any starter, main course and desert with a glass of white wine for starter and red with main course. A word of caution about another establishment we tried, just up the street from the residence called "Granny's place".... steer clear.... its horrendous... read my review and other peoples!!
The location of the residence is great. Just a 30 minute pleasurely walk to the centre of funchal, although the hotel does provide a courtesy bus few times per day but only until 5PM. There are many great restaurants in the lido area where the residence is situated. Also this seems to be the part of the island that gets the most sunshine as up in the hills was overcast everyday that we were in madeira which was the beginning of July.
All in all we would definately recommend the porto mare complex!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelsar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your holiday at The residence and happy to learn that in general you had a positive experience.

Thank you also for the public praise of one of our staff members. He will be most pleased to receive your kind words,

Hope to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in The residence, we have been holidaying there for seven years, five of those as a party of four adults and two children. We have all had fantastic time helped by the kind attention given to us by the Residence support team John, Clare & Tom. The facilities at the resort are perfect for all of us, from the well equipped gymn to the swimming pools. Our two grandchildren greatly enjoyed the kids club and magic show especially, their only complaint they couldn't go to the kids club every day! The apartments are well maintained and kept beautifully clean, thankyou once again for another lovely holiday.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that you had another enjoyable stay at the Residence.
Thank you for your thoughts and also for the public praise of Claire and Tom, they will be pleased to receive your comments.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Since our first visit to The Residence as owners in 2005, we have seen continual improvements and upgrades in the standards of accommodation and facilities on offer which makes our annual visit to The Residence the highlight of our holiday year and how we measure other vacations. The staff around the resort are extremely helpful, polite and courteous and a smile greets you wherever you go.

This year friends came out to join us for a week, which happened to coincide with a birthday, and the reception picked the date up from their passport and arranged for a celebratory bottle of "fizz" to be waiting in our apartment when we returned from a day trip. What a lovely gesture.

Wherever you dine, or have a drink, or go out on an excursion, or just sit by the pool on the Porto Mare resort the staff seem to try that bit harder to ensure that the experience is enjoyable and they do this by attention to detail and maintaining the highest standards.

This place really does set the standards!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park area and Lido provide the best accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Massey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about the Residence & Vila Porto Mare shared on tripadvisor. Also thank you for your continuing support by staying with us so many time

Hope to meet you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We have just returned from a short break at The Residence to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This was the first time we had visited this hotel, and we hope to return soon for a longer period. There are 3 differently styled hotels in this complex which all share the same public areas, restaurants, pool and garden facilities; we chose to stay in The Residence, a wing with apartments, some of which are timeshare.

The whole hotel is lovely, a calm oasis, nestled in extensive and beautifully tended gardens. Our air-conditioned apartment was very spacious and comfortable, with both bedroom and living area opening onto a sea-view balcony, and a lovely living/dining area and fully-equipped kitchen. There was a large bathroom and adjoining shower room, with plenty of towels for both indoor and leisure use, and bathrobes to use during our stay.

We were given a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of water on arrival, which was a nice touch, and tea/coffee items replenished daily.

The pools and spa facilities are fantastic, and there is a gym which we didn't use. Lots to do so you can spend a lot of time in the hotel. The gardens are so lovely there are even guided tours to point out the interesting plants.

We were staying on a half-board basis, so enjoyed the extensive buffet-style breakfast and evening meal, which were both really good, with a great variety of high-quality choices on offer.

Above all, the hotel staff were lovely, from the reception staff to restaurant/bar staff, housekeeping and maintenance - helpful, welcoming and courteous, and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JanetG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks to your post about your previous stay at The residence.

I am glad to know that you had such a positive holiday experience and profited from the different gastronomic options we offer at Vila Porto Mare.

Really hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing