We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First year in time share”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our second time in Madeira but the first time in our new time share. The Residence is an excellent facility with just about everything you need for a great holiday 2 indoor pools, 2 outdoor pools a Spa and a Gym. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. The kitchen is well equipped which I admit we didn't use very much because of the great range of restaurants in Funchal - try Il Basilico which is part of the hotel- really recommend this. The rooms are large, infact the bed is almost the size of a small country. The hotel runs a free bus service into the town which you do have to book. Would suggest the walk to Camara de Lobos along the coastal path.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about you first experience as a time share owner. Happy to know that you had such a positive felling about it and hopefully will meet each other for the following years…

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for The Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is our seventh visit to The Residence at Porto Mare and their high standards have been maintained yet again. The staff are well trained, professional, friendly and a credit to the Portobay hotel group. Everyone from the General Manager to the housekeeping team go out of their way to make the guests welcome and ensure they have a good time. The rooms in the apartments are clean and well maintained but are getting a bit dated now. However, this does not detract from our overall enjoyment of the apartment.

We travelled with family again this year, including our two granddaughters age 4 and 7 and the Kid's Club was a particular hit with them. We all love the pools, the gardens, the bars and the general ambience of the place. The BBQ was great as was the "Pink Party" - not sure about the fire eaters though!!!

Had a wonderfully relaxing facial in the Spa - very professional.

This hotel is situated in an ideal location, overlooking the sea and with great walks, restaurants and bars nearby. The food in the Basilica restaurant is excellent - highly recommended.

Looking forward to our eighth visit now - maybe at New Year? Too long to wait till next summer!!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best - the higher up the better the view as the trees have grown along the...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swansonlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for “another fantastic “ post shared on tripadvisor about your stay at The residence.

I am delightful to know that you had another enjoyable family stay and profited from the facilities and activities we organize at Vila Porto Mare.

It will be a pleasure to have you around soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A well maintained hotel we had 2 apartments on the fourth floor which were quiet with sea views. You can use the facilities of the other 2 Porto Hotels on the same site, there were 5 pools.

We used the restaurant for breakfast a lot too choose from but we often found it difficult to find a clean table for 4, but it only took minutes to sort out.

My only bug bear with the complex is the saving of sunbeds, by 8 am the ones by the main pools would have the towels on, and sometimes they were not used for hours. I know the hotel claim they do not want this to carry on but it does.

The staff were all very pleasant and i would recommend it for a base to stay in Madeira

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuildfordLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Residence shared with such a vast audience.
It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience

I would be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in a 1BR apartment a couple weeks ago and I found it to be meticulously well-kept and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The whole property was very well-maintained and with five pools, we never had to fight for space to swim. My daughter enjoyed the kids club. The staff were very good with the kids. However, the length of the program is quite short and did not allow for me to do much more than laundry or go to the gym. Being a single parent, I would have loved to have been able to utilize the kids club so that I could attend some of the other functions, like the wine-tasting. Unfortunately, the times were not coordinated. Overall, this would not deter me from staying at the Residence again. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dyandra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your holiday feelings about the Residence.
I am really happy to know that in general you had a positive stay with us.
I have taken good note of your comments about the Kids club and although we have a general program we probably can extend it a bit more and meet the specific needs of our guests…for future stays please kindly contact us so we can discuss the matter


I would be most pleased to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We visited with friends who are residents with a week in this hotel. What a lovely place. The apartment was lovely, spotlessly clean with all the facilities you need or could want.
The rooms all looked out to sea and the facilities in the hotel were great .the gardens are particularly lovely.
A great stay and we hope to be invited to join our friends again for what was a delightful weeks holiday.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor about your first holiday at The Residence. Hopefully want be your last…

I am really happy to know that you and your friends had such a positive stay.

I would be delightful to meet you on the second visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Have just spent a fantastic two weeks in our two bedroom apartment, where our daughter and her disabled husband joined us for the first week. Firstly the four of us were picked up from the airport by Tony in his specially adapted taxi. (The wheelchair was loaded into the taxi with passenger complete). This was so much better than the extraordinary process onto the aircraft itself. Did not feel at all confident with the way they handled our son-in-law!
However, once we arrived at The Residence, (11am) only had half an hour before Limao Doce opened. If you haven't tried one of their superb milkshakes, make sure you do on your next visit. Must make a special mention of John who has now joined Clare and Tom. We love to travel on the local buses and John printed out timetables for us. He completely compliments C&T. What a team. Already missing The Residence and only been home 10 days.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park and sea, although there does seem to be "night owls" at the weekend i...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor about your holiday at The residence and happy to learn that in general you had a positive experience.

Thank you also for the public praise of one of our staff members. He will be most pleased to receive your kind words which I’ll pleasurably share with him.

Hope to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed in a studio apartment at the residence for 1 week which we really enjoyed. The whole complex is spotless. The studio was large and comfortable. We felt that the interior of the residence would benefit from a little updating ie the carpets etc but in saying that it is very well kept, just not as up to date as we thought it was going to be. The gardens and pool areas are what sells this place and would make us want to return again. They are excellent. The breakfast room is lovely, the food was quite good. We had dinner once in the italian restaurant in the residence part of the complex which was very good. The availibility of a computer for internet use in the lovely foyer is a great plus. The staff are friendly and helpful especially Beirro(sorry im not sure of the correct spelling) on reception. He helped us to book the excellent Do Forte restaurant. At the residence they provide vouchers where you pay €5 at the hotel and then €34 at the restaurant for the set menu, which is amazing value for such amazing food. It includes any starter, main course and desert with a glass of white wine for starter and red with main course. A word of caution about another establishment we tried, just up the street from the residence called "Granny's place".... steer clear.... its horrendous... read my review and other peoples!!
The location of the residence is great. Just a 30 minute pleasurely walk to the centre of funchal, although the hotel does provide a courtesy bus few times per day but only until 5PM. There are many great restaurants in the lido area where the residence is situated. Also this seems to be the part of the island that gets the most sunshine as up in the hills was overcast everyday that we were in madeira which was the beginning of July.
All in all we would definately recommend the porto mare complex!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelsar0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your holiday at The residence and happy to learn that in general you had a positive experience.

Thank you also for the public praise of one of our staff members. He will be most pleased to receive your kind words,

Hope to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £108 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing