We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$369
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
US$154
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
US$131
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residencial Parque(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$495
US$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$262
US$150
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$70
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
US$309
US$194
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveller rating
743
113
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
113
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto maretime sharegarden apartmentone bedroom apartmentil basilicomed restaurantorchid gardensecond hometimeshare ownershotel complexporto bay grouplike coming homehome from homeanother wonderful holidayeden mar hoteldvd playerexcellent facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 882 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently had our first visit to the Residence at Porto Mare in Funchal and we were delighted.
We had a huge apartment (3117) with private gardens for sunbathing - handy as the pool areas were very busy it being peak season. The complex is beautifully designed with lush gardens and pools dotted around to look like a tropical paradise.
There is a good selection of restaurants available, although we chose to eat in town or the nearby Tricolore pizzeria, and the bars are lovely. Bar Varanda hosts entertainment poolside and the spanish guitar band currently in residence on a Sunday night were some of the best musicians we have seen across the world. The duo that sing in the bar with ballroom dancing are also excellent and the opportunity to dance was a real treat. One evening we saw an incredible blues band as well in the Oceana bar who were absolutely wonderful and not to be missed.
The apartment itself was spacious and equipped with everything one might need with a fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms with power showers, huge bed and both inside and outside dining options. It was absolutely spotless and cleaned every day with toiletries all topped up on a daily basis and fresh bottled drinking water provided.
The views out to sea are lovely and the whole complex is designed so that you never feel too crowded with lots of little areas to hide away in.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BabyBlueLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Muito obrigado for the “outstanding” review posted on Tripadvisor.
Happy to learn the you enjoyed your holidays and profited from the entertainment we have within Vila Porto Mare complex.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on your second visit to our property

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our second time in Madeira but the first time in our new time share. The Residence is an excellent facility with just about everything you need for a great holiday 2 indoor pools, 2 outdoor pools a Spa and a Gym. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. The kitchen is well equipped which I admit we didn't use very much because of the great range of restaurants in Funchal - try Il Basilico which is part of the hotel- really recommend this. The rooms are large, infact the bed is almost the size of a small country. The hotel runs a free bus service into the town which you do have to book. Would suggest the walk to Camara de Lobos along the coastal path.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about you first experience as a time share owner. Happy to know that you had such a positive felling about it and hopefully will meet each other for the following years…

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This is our seventh visit to The Residence at Porto Mare and their high standards have been maintained yet again. The staff are well trained, professional, friendly and a credit to the Portobay hotel group. Everyone from the General Manager to the housekeeping team go out of their way to make the guests welcome and ensure they have a good time. The rooms in the apartments are clean and well maintained but are getting a bit dated now. However, this does not detract from our overall enjoyment of the apartment.

We travelled with family again this year, including our two granddaughters age 4 and 7 and the Kid's Club was a particular hit with them. We all love the pools, the gardens, the bars and the general ambience of the place. The BBQ was great as was the "Pink Party" - not sure about the fire eaters though!!!

Had a wonderfully relaxing facial in the Spa - very professional.

This hotel is situated in an ideal location, overlooking the sea and with great walks, restaurants and bars nearby. The food in the Basilica restaurant is excellent - highly recommended.

Looking forward to our eighth visit now - maybe at New Year? Too long to wait till next summer!!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best - the higher up the better the view as the trees have grown along the front!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swansonlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for “another fantastic “ post shared on tripadvisor about your stay at The residence.

I am delightful to know that you had another enjoyable family stay and profited from the facilities and activities we organize at Vila Porto Mare.

It will be a pleasure to have you around soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

A well maintained hotel we had 2 apartments on the fourth floor which were quiet with sea views. You can use the facilities of the other 2 Porto Hotels on the same site, there were 5 pools.

We used the restaurant for breakfast a lot too choose from but we often found it difficult to find a clean table for 4, but it only took minutes to sort out.

My only bug bear with the complex is the saving of sunbeds, by 8 am the ones by the main pools would have the towels on, and sometimes they were not used for hours. I know the hotel claim they do not want this to carry on but it does.

The staff were all very pleasant and i would recommend it for a base to stay in Madeira

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuildfordLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Residence shared with such a vast audience.
It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience

I would be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed in a 1BR apartment a couple weeks ago and I found it to be meticulously well-kept and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The whole property was very well-maintained and with five pools, we never had to fight for space to swim. My daughter enjoyed the kids club. The staff were very good with the kids. However, the length of the program is quite short and did not allow for me to do much more than laundry or go to the gym. Being a single parent, I would have loved to have been able to utilize the kids club so that I could attend some of the other functions, like the wine-tasting. Unfortunately, the times were not coordinated. Overall, this would not deter me from staying at the Residence again. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dyandra32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your holiday feelings about the Residence.
I am really happy to know that in general you had a positive stay with us.
I have taken good note of your comments about the Kids club and although we have a general program we probably can extend it a bit more and meet the specific needs of our guests…for future stays please kindly contact us so we can discuss the matter


I would be most pleased to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews