We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to fault - a fantastic stay”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We stayed for a week in a 2 bedroomed apartment, arriving on Easter Monday. The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable and had an excellent uninterrupted sea view. The facilities at the hotel were excellent, although we only scratched the surface of what was available - the pool, spa and gym were great. I loved the gardens too which were beautifully maintained. Some good restaurants nearby and a good supermarket (Pingo Doce) a short walk away so we were able to have several meals in too. The walk along the promenade was beautiful. The walk into Funchal is OK as there are good views and its mainly downhill but it is along quite a busy road. A taxi worked out cheaper than the bus for four of us - 4-5 Euros. We also used taxis to get to places like the Botanic Gardens as it was easier than getting two buses. We used Madeira Explorers to do the Pico Areiro to Pico Ruivo walk - this was a tough walk but we had a thoroughly enjoyable day and I'd highly recommend it as a way of seeing more of the island - far better than sitting on a coach all day - we could literally see the whole island from the top - unforgettable.

A lot of people say that Madeira isn't a great place to take children. We went with two teenagers who both really enjoyed it (admittedly they aren't into clubbing etc) - but the hotel facilities are very good and there are plenty of things that interested them including the cable car, boat trips to see the dolphins and the gardens where they developed an interest in photography! I'd certainly take younger children as the weather was beautifully sunny but not so hot that it would make them miserable.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Residence Porto Mare. Fabulous! We were there from 08 March to 15 March. We stayed in a studio at the Residence and it was perfect. It is a very large studio with a large balcony. It appeared almost every room had a sea view except the ground floor rooms. It also has a large kitchen that is fully equipped, Cookware, silverware, dishes, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, kettle and dish towels. There is even a full size ironing board and full size iron in the room. We had complimentary bathrobes that I lived in most of the week at the indoor and outdoor pools. The bed was HUGE! The size of two queen size beds! It had a couch, a dining room table and a huge amount of storage space and lots of hangers for the clothes. Everything about Porto Mare is top notch. Great TV also to have so many English Speaking Channels! And the buffet breakfast is the best I have ever seen. They even make fresh made waffles!
The Residence, Porto Mare and Eden Mar are all one big resort. It is landscaped beautifully and laid out in a friendly manner. It doesn't matter which you stay at because they all can use the same facilities. I really liked my stay here and I could relax completely. Good entertainment day and night. I even took a Portuguese language class. I especially wanted to compliment Pierre (who works the bars) Deborah (the french girl at the desk) and Marisella( also at the desk). Their friendliness and attitude were lovely and made our stay special. The courtesy bus is great and runs all day. In addition for you golfers there is a courtesy bus up to the two golf courses. Book with the front desk at the hotel. My husband only paid 52 euro a game. My husband so appreciated the free bus ride to golf. He said to make sure you specify you want to play the Championship course at Santo de Serra as the other course at Santo da Serra is not as good. He also said that Palheiro is not as good as Santo de Serra. And to bring your own clubs if possible because the ones you rent at Santo de Serra are not very good. A man he golfed with did not book through his hotel and paid 75 euro to play.
Now just a couple of negatives. The Med restaurant was horrible. The food was terrible. Do not eat the Bruschetta. The bread was not even toasted and was stale! The food tasted microwaved and it was cold. We hated the food at the Med as did many of the people we spoke to afterwards. Overpriced and just plain bad. Also the girls at the Spa need to have a better attitude, They were rude and unfriendly. I looked forward to my booked treatments for the week and was very disappointed . The manicures were very unprofessional. I could have done my own nails better and ended up removing their polish and doing it myself. Get your nails done at one of the many salons they have around Funchal. Also the person teaching the Portuguese language class may want to take a class herself in manners. She seemed to have a huge problem with Americans and made a lot of references to it throughout the class. Although I have lived in Ireland for many years I do not think she realized that I am an American. One should always be aware you never know who will be in an audience. I found her constant negative reference to Americans annoying and condescending. I would have thought a classy hotel like Porto Mare would have instructed their staff to never speak negative about any nationality.
If you stay away from the Spa and the Med Restaurant you should have a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank PaintedNails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2008

wow...we have just arrived back from the residence,we had a very spacious 2 bed apartment with 2 huge bathrooms,we also had our own garden.....the views were fantastic...only problem being the new hotels they are building next door they start at 8 in the morning til about 5 in eve.not keen on funchal as a town nothing much there shops are all the same,we went one evening to the old town hoping to have a nice meal as soon as the taxi dropped us off we were surrounded by waiters trying to get you to go to there restaurant,this was very off putting in the end we walked back to the promenade and had a meal on the beatles boat...a very beautiful island we went on the west coast tour only 8 of us in a mini bus met some nice people,plus the mad hatters from HEREFORDSHIRE if you are reading this CHEERS....
a nice restaurant by the hotel is la paella if you walk through to the poto mare hotel entrance and up the stairs in front of you it is across the road plus also there is a lovely bakers, we had 2 huge pieces of gateaux and coffee all for 5 euros.also if u go out of the residence entrance onto the prom walk past where they are building right along the prom you will come toa lido walk on past the views are fantastic soon you will arrive at the magic tea rooms you will need a drink by then....carry on walking along the prom past the pestana grand hotel down some steps to a lovely restaurant overlooking the sea, you then go on through a tunnel along the boardwalk,to another nice restaurant.not a walk for the faint hearted...we were out about 3 or 4 hours we needed a siesta when we arrived back....a lovely island to visit to chill out

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank archieHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We decided to book this hotel for a week for my son's first holiday abroad. The one bedroom apartment was spacious and well equipped and the furnishings were of a really high standard. The staff were friendly and attentive and the man who checked us in remembered my husband's name and asked him how we were enjoying our stay half way through the week.
Breakfast was included and I've never seen such a wonderful array of food! There were various cereals, pastries and breads and eggs were freshly cooked to or der. One of the waitresses, Lena, was particularly friendly and took a real shine to our son. She brought a high chair over to our table each morning.
We would definitely return to this hotel as the facilities on offer were second to none. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2007

16 members of my family stayed at the Porto Mare Hotel for a week in August 2007. The reason for the holiday was to celebrate two things firstly my husband and I reached our 25 year wedding anniversary, and my Mother celebrated her 80th birthday .

We did a lot of searching to try and find a holiday that suited such a wide range of people aged from 8 years up to 82 years, (this included 4 young people aged 17 – 24) and Madeira and the Porto Mare Hotel certainly had something to suit every single person. The staff, the food the facilities were all first class.

We certainly hope to return again in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Elainereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Simply excellent !!! Great location, superb design, very good service, 5 stars facilities including swimming pools, spa, sauna, gym restaurants and bars.

Stayed: February 2007
12  Thank MiamiKeyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2007

This was our 13th visit to Madeira and our 3rd visit to the Residence, from 20th Aug - 3rd Sept.
It was great as usual - great facilities, super friendly staff (particularly at the Bar Varanda - Jose, Rosete, Carina, Pedro, Andreia, Hernan - and all the others whose names I forget!) The guys who get the guardasols are very friendly and can give good advice - thanks Lino, Ricardo, etc.

We ate in the Med again - very good, tho I thought that they had reduced the choice. We also ate at the Atlantida for the first time in all our visits. I am not very fond of buffet type meals but it was very good - everything was very fresh, great choice. We gave the Balsamico a miss this year - it is not very exciting.

We ate in other restaurants nearby - we visited the Brasserie (at the start of the Promenade, underneath the Tivoli) a couple of times. It is very good, not too dear and very friendly staff. They remembered us from last year!

There is a new restaurant opened at the start of the Promenade, just to the left. It is called the Qazbah and, as the name suggests, specialises in N. African cuisine. I had lamb tagine - very nice, good helping. They aslo do a wide range of snacks, toasted sandwiches etc at very reasonable prices.

We always try a couple of new restaurants. This year we went to the Fort San Tiago in the Old Town. Expensive, but a beautiful and very different meal. You get a free glass of cava before the meal. My wife does not drink so I had hers and a bottle of nice local wine which was reasonably priced and very drinkable.

We also went to the Golden Gate for dinner. We had eaten there before a few years ago and we decided to try it again. Expensive and not at that good. The staff were very rushed and the food was basically thrown at you.

I went on a couple of levada walks which were great. It always amazes me how different it is up in the mountains - on one of the walks it was very misty but in Funchal the sun was blazing - 28 degrees!

We love Madeira and the people although we heard that crime is going up tho the local police are very quick to clamp down on it. Apparently there were a lot of young people gathering in the Santa Caterina Park so they put up a fence and the gates are locked each night at 11pm. However, we have seen nothing. Even during the Wine Festival (glass of wine or beer 1 euro!) we didn't even see any drunks! (except me possibly!)

However, we will be back again next year. We may go in May as well as August.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank ianlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £115 - £541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing