We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful week!”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent Resort. Excellent Staff.This was our 6th visit, and we've yet to be disappointed. The Staff are very welcoming, make it all such a pleasurable experience. It's always clean (They do seem to work around the clock!), well equipped, and all within a great location.
We tend to use the local restaurants, not only because of the lower prices, but they're also a part of the atmosphere (I also like to think that we're helping the local economy). There is always plenty to do on the Island, and what scenery!
If you want a warm welcome, this Island, and this resort are the answer. Thank you everyone at the Porto Mare, you made us feel special once again.

Anne and Wayne

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

“Another wonderful week!”, another stay with us…Thank you for both! It is so god to know that we were able to provide another positive holiday experience within our resort.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on your 7th visit to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 863 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

We've just returned home from a week at the Residence, Porto Mare. A friend kindly lent us her large one bed timeshare as she couldn't use it this year. We had no idea how fantastic it was going to be!
We had (as advised) pre-booked our taxi from the airport to the Residence and enjoyed the twenty minute or so, ride to the hotel. The weather was perfect, even in October it was 21 -23C every day. The Reception area is very attractive, staff knowledgeable and professional as well as friendly. We could not believe our room.. on floor 0 which is one above Reception, our balcony overlooked an immaculate garden (actually everything about the Porto Mare is immaculate!) and the sea. To our delight we could even hear the waves in our room at night when we had the balcony door open.
It's a huge place and probably hundreds of guests but you wouldn't know it. There are so many restaurants and pools that there is always somewhere that's fairly quiet. We loved the garden tour with Cindy - so many exotic plants in this wonderful paradise and she is very knowledgeable.
We ate at a few of the restaurants on site - loved the Med. The service is unbeatable and the food and wine delicious and not expensive. Also really enjoyed a salad lunch at the Bar Varanda a couple of times. Again, really great service.
Off site do try the Scat. I'm picky about fish but really loved the famous Scabbard with passion fruit sauce. We did a few trips - a mini bus to the north part of the island was really interesting but the best trip was by catamaran to see whales and dolphins - we were so close it was wonderful. We went with Sea Born and the staff spent lots of time talking to us and telling us all about the island. After we'd spent some time with the whales we sailed along the coast and saw a tiny lift coming down from one of the mountains, taking farmers down to little scraps of land which they tended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exploreasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of your holidays, hotel services and facilities and also about what to see and do in our island.

So good to know that you had time to do so much and do things that honestly some other visitors and even habitants do not know about.

We will be most pleased to see welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,
Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our 2nd stay in The Residence and third within the complex (we stayed in the Porto Mare hotel on our first visit to Funchal). We took friends with us this year and really hoped they would enjoy it as much as us. Well we needn't have worried as they were just blown away with everything from the extensive facilities to the amazing service. All staff without exception go out of their way to make you feel welcome, from the minute you arrive and throughout your stay. The facilities, food and entertainment are more like 5 star than 4. It's spotlessly clean, no fighting for sun beds, peaceful yet not dull - whether it's a relaxing break or something a little more energetic you are looking for, this complex ticks all the boxes! Can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Garden apartment are great as you have private access to a secluded area and own sunbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Residence hotel and for spending some of your time sending us feedback through TripAdvisor.

It is really rewarding to know that you and your friends had such a fantastic time with us.

We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our third visit to the island, second year in the residence and first bringing guests with us. We were proud to share the whole Porto Mare experience with our guests. When we arrive we are always thrilled with the sight of the grounds which are immaculately maintained, the welcome of the staff and the presentation of the apartment. The facilities offered are consistently of the highest standards from the various restaurants, pool areas, activities, bars and gardens.The staff of both the hotel and the Residence Owners Relations team go out of their way to be friendly, welcoming and helpful at all times. The resort undertakes an early evening transformation contrasting the morning walk through the vibrant tropical flower borders to the various poolside and garden locations, with the addition of soft lighting making the same walk to the restaurant in the evening or to the terrace to watch the sunset somewhat magical. Our whole experience of this timeshare could not be further from the rather negative stereotype we envisaged when attending the initial presentation three years ago. Knowing we will be returning makes the ending of our stay more bearable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay and for your feedback about it

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to The residence.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Another fantastic holiday in very beautiful surroundings. The Residence is, as ever 5 star !
A very relaxed and tranquil holiday, and the perfect antidote to the stresses of every day life. Counting the weeks to our next visit. Top class restaurants with a delicious selection of fresh local foods. Very helpful restaurant staff. The only thing that could make the dining experience perfect, would be the addition of more gluten free options and in particular gluten free sauces to accompany main meals.

Room Tip: South facing will give longer hours of sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at The residence. Rewarding to know that you had a good time with us. I have taken good note of your thoughts about gluten free..Please whenever you come and want to go to any of our restaurants please contact anyone in charge or reception so we can provide you with some more options.

We will be pleased to help you.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I have recently returned from our third stay in The Residence and, once again, it feels like a home from home. The apartments are really well appointed and extremely comfortable. They also have the benefit of a daily maid service which is a great luxury. We love having a beautiful garden directly outside our apartment, which lends itself to a variety of birds and butterflies, but it also has the benefit of a beautiful sea view. The facilities are second to none with a great choice of restaurants and bars - the breakfast buffet in the Atlantida is amazing - plus two pools, a spa etc The staff are always helpful and courteous. We always feel extremely well looked after and leave wishing we had another week.

Room Tip: Try for rooms on the south or east side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Artemesia58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Have you been participating on our Portuguese lesson given by Cindy, from our entertainment team? If you have done it “Perfeito”… 
Thank you for another stay and happy to know that you did enjoy it.

It will always be a pleasure to see you around,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

As always a pleasure to stay in the residence. We were impressed to see further development in the local area, this indicates that the whole area, indeed madeira overall is on the up!
The residence itseslf has also benefited from a recent maintenance including a complete repaint
and new carpets. New additions to the entertainments within the complex was a big improvement, particularly the dance and singing duo most nights in portico bar. As usual we really look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Another stay in the Residence, another opportunity to enjoy our facilities and services and really happy to know that you did it.
Entertainment is one of the most difficult issues, mainly when we have guest from 8 to 80…happy to know that you noticed and enjoyed some of the changes we made and always make in order to improve the standards of our resort.


See you soon,
Warm regards

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,068 reviews
0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,193 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#9 of 88 in Funchal
1,449 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £116 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing