We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We spent two weeks at Porto Mare Residence last month.We went on a time share exchange.What a pleasure to book in after a very much delayed flight from Lisbon.The appartment was first class thr beds comfortable ,the lounge and dining room attractively furnished ,the kutchen small but exceptionally well equipped and the bathrooms perfect.We felt that every need had been catered for and the standard equalled any of the top hotels that we have stayed in both in South Africa and Europe.The reception areas were welcoming with friendly staff and beautifull flower arrangements.The pool areas and gardens lovely even so late in the year. There is a courtesy bus which runs into Funchal at regular intervals during the day.I hesitate to recommend restaurants ,there are many within easy walking distance:but standards change and people's taste differs.Besides it is always fun to explore and find one's own favourite.There is plenty to do in and around Funchal .We took the cable car up to Monte Palace and gardens which were well worth a visit and also spent time in the botanical gardens which we loved.There are numerous tour operators offering tours of the island and levada walks.The market was lovely so vibrant and colourfull with a magnificent array of wares.Madeira is a lovely destination for a holiday and we would certainly recommend the Porto Mare Residence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank umhlanga252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay and for the kind feedback about your holiday experience with us.

Very happy to learn that you have enjoyed the all experience and consider us for a second visit in the future,

We will be delighted to welcome you

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Booked a week half board in the 4* Porto Mare hotel and was immediately upgraded to the 5* Residence on arrival, without asking!. The one bedroom apartment was huge with two double beds in the bedroom and a double sofa bed in the lounge. The bathrooms were luxurious, always plenty of hot water, lovely bath robes and the usual toiletries including complimentary insect repellent which we didn't need! plus a bowl of fruit, bottled water and some choccies on the dining table!. The kitchen is a good size with oven, 4 ring hob and a microwave, toaster, coffee machine, kettle etc and the whole place exudes luxury with solid oak everywhere! A large TV/DVD with English channels and surround sound in the lounge and another in the bedroom.The view from the bedroom and lounge patio doors was very pleasant with approximately two thirds garden/one third sea view and there was a good size balcony leading to both .This place really is idyllic, situated directly on the sea front with the most beautiful tropical gardens, including orchid garden and indoor/outdoor pools, spa, gym etc, it is hard to imagine a nicer hotel in a nicer position anywhere on the island. The staff were very helpful, pleasant and attentive (must mention Helena and all the staff in the Alfama restaurant, they were superb) and the food was the best I have had in any hotel abroad,(including previous 5* ones )If you prefer a buffet there is a very good choice in the Atlantic but if you prefer a table d'hote then the Alfama is very cosy and serves excellent food often with live music (also managed to eat in the Med once as part of the set menu for half board, which is classier but less relaxed) The bars and lounge areas of the hotel are beautiful both inside and out and we didn't experience any noise after 9.30pm! plus the drink prices were amazing....4.5 to 6 euros for cocktails!!.Breakfast was buffet style and really tasty, freshly cooked and loads of choice, husband even had sparkling wine each morning ( fruit juices however were not brilliant but the rest of the fruit was fresh, plentiful and varied ).Great free bus service to and from Funchal and the cable car is a must do along with the tropical gardens. Loved the island and intend to go back to the same Hotel again, as previous reviews have stated, it is more like a 5* and there doesn't seem to be a poor room anywhere in the complex!. Weather although a pleasant temperature, was not the best that week with a couple of rainy days and frequent cloud

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank angieh59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a comprehensive description of your holidays and of our resort. It is good to know that you had such a good time with us.
Sorry for the overbooking situation but in the end it seems it was not so bad as we always think in this type of situations.

We will be most pleased to overbook you, sorry to welcome you in a future visit to our island..

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We booked a studio apartment for a week. It was a good sized room with sufficient facilities for producing a light meal, no oven but had a microwave and 2 rings. We actually didn't cook as there were so many places to eat both in the complex and nearby. The room was cleaned everyday and also any odd bits of Washing up we had left in the sink was all done upon our return. Al the staff were very helpful. You could use all the facilities of the two hotels on site. The pools were lovely if a little chilly. No bother about getting a sunbed although this visit was not during peak season. Lots of things to do locally too. We would certainly stay here again. Only negative thing was our room was a long way to get outside and it felt like we walked miles each day just going to and from the room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minty1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to The Residence and for sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.
The corridors are just another subtle way for you to make some exercise and keep the line.

See you soon again,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

My ninth visit and as usual everything was up to a high standard, including the efficiency of and friendliness of the staff, especially the maid service who, this year, were working to cover an unexpected staff shortage. The gardens are excellent and very well maintained at all levels and the visiting birds are a delight. Generally a very relaxing and peaceful venue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2yorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that you had another relaxing stay at the Residence. Thank you for choosing us, and for the review about our hotel and your holiday feelings.

Sincerely hope to meet you in a future stay with us,


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent Resort. Excellent Staff.This was our 6th visit, and we've yet to be disappointed. The Staff are very welcoming, make it all such a pleasurable experience. It's always clean (They do seem to work around the clock!), well equipped, and all within a great location.
We tend to use the local restaurants, not only because of the lower prices, but they're also a part of the atmosphere (I also like to think that we're helping the local economy). There is always plenty to do on the Island, and what scenery!
If you want a warm welcome, this Island, and this resort are the answer. Thank you everyone at the Porto Mare, you made us feel special once again.

Anne and Wayne

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

“Another wonderful week!”, another stay with us…Thank you for both! It is so god to know that we were able to provide another positive holiday experience within our resort.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on your 7th visit to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We've just returned home from a week at the Residence, Porto Mare. A friend kindly lent us her large one bed timeshare as she couldn't use it this year. We had no idea how fantastic it was going to be!
We had (as advised) pre-booked our taxi from the airport to the Residence and enjoyed the twenty minute or so, ride to the hotel. The weather was perfect, even in October it was 21 -23C every day. The Reception area is very attractive, staff knowledgeable and professional as well as friendly. We could not believe our room.. on floor 0 which is one above Reception, our balcony overlooked an immaculate garden (actually everything about the Porto Mare is immaculate!) and the sea. To our delight we could even hear the waves in our room at night when we had the balcony door open.
It's a huge place and probably hundreds of guests but you wouldn't know it. There are so many restaurants and pools that there is always somewhere that's fairly quiet. We loved the garden tour with Cindy - so many exotic plants in this wonderful paradise and she is very knowledgeable.
We ate at a few of the restaurants on site - loved the Med. The service is unbeatable and the food and wine delicious and not expensive. Also really enjoyed a salad lunch at the Bar Varanda a couple of times. Again, really great service.
Off site do try the Scat. I'm picky about fish but really loved the famous Scabbard with passion fruit sauce. We did a few trips - a mini bus to the north part of the island was really interesting but the best trip was by catamaran to see whales and dolphins - we were so close it was wonderful. We went with Sea Born and the staff spent lots of time talking to us and telling us all about the island. After we'd spent some time with the whales we sailed along the coast and saw a tiny lift coming down from one of the mountains, taking farmers down to little scraps of land which they tended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exploreasap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review of your holidays, hotel services and facilities and also about what to see and do in our island.

So good to know that you had time to do so much and do things that honestly some other visitors and even habitants do not know about.

We will be most pleased to see welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,
Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our 2nd stay in The Residence and third within the complex (we stayed in the Porto Mare hotel on our first visit to Funchal). We took friends with us this year and really hoped they would enjoy it as much as us. Well we needn't have worried as they were just blown away with everything from the extensive facilities to the amazing service. All staff without exception go out of their way to make you feel welcome, from the minute you arrive and throughout your stay. The facilities, food and entertainment are more like 5 star than 4. It's spotlessly clean, no fighting for sun beds, peaceful yet not dull - whether it's a relaxing break or something a little more energetic you are looking for, this complex ticks all the boxes! Can't wait for next year!

Room Tip: Garden apartment are great as you have private access to a secluded area and own sunbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Residence hotel and for spending some of your time sending us feedback through TripAdvisor.

It is really rewarding to know that you and your friends had such a fantastic time with us.

We will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 88 in Funchal
2,124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 88 in Funchal
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
916 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £118 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing