We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impossible to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Impossible to fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

This time we were fortunate to be upgraded to a studio apartment in the Porto Mare Residence. As well as all the usual room facilities it had a small kitchen area with hot plate, microwave, good size fridge and a good supply of utensils. Although we were on a B&B rate this allowed us to prepare lunches and simple dinners in the room. We also had a private sun lounger area, as well as the usual balcony with a sea view. Although the room was excellent the real delight of this superb hotel complex is its great facilities (e.g. gym, sauna, five pools), as well as its stunning gardens with both native and exotic plants, all of which are labelled. The food in the restaurants is excellent but we would especially recommend the a la carte Med Restaurant where we enjoyed two superb meals. Probably the best part of this hotel complex is its superb staff who are all extremely friendly, as well as professional and efficient with exceptional language skills to deal with the various nationalities who visit. We cannot fault this hotel and will be returning again soon, as do the vast majority of its guests!!

Room Tip: Chose a room with a sea and/or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SotonExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review about your first holiday experience at The Residence.
Really pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the services provided by my team.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the forthcoming years,

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    102
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
209
454
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We've been 'owners' for the last three years, and can say that the facilities are superb. 5 pools and other sporting activities. Staff are great, and the Residence Staff themselves are ace.

The apartment is good, with a massive double bed, good kitchen facilities and bath and separate shower. Colour television with all UK channels, DVD player included. The office has books and DVD's for you to borrow. Free wi-fi now in all the rooms.

Restaurants round the hotel are of a high standard, and we highly recommend the Mediterranean Restaurant, and Il Basilico (which is currently being extended).

Spa facilities on site also very good, very clean steam room and sauna.

Room Tip: Choose one with a sea, or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Seddon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay and for the kind feedback about your holiday experience.

It is so rewarding to know that you had such a positive experience with us and took profit of some of the facilities we have within the Vila Porto Mare complex including the gastronomic options.

We all be most pleased to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Excellent accomodation with superb facilities. Lots of swimming pools and other sporting activities.Staff very friendly and helpful. El Basilico restaurant was great.
Lots to see and do in Madeira. The accomodation is only a mile from the centre of Funchal and is a nice walk although you can use the hotel's Courtesy Bus. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance of the resort and I recommend the Sol da Ajuda, which serves steak on a stone, and the Sabor da India which is one of the best Indian restaurants I've been to.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a beautiful resort, so clean and well cared for. It can be difficult to find your way
around due to the size and layout of the place. Staff are very polite and helpful, nothing
is too much trouble. I was there with a friend on an RCI exchange, and felt fortunate to
have found this place available for a week. The Saturday night Dinner Show was superb
and excellent value. We ate in the resort or in the great choice of places nearby.
Only one bad meal at a place called Chancellors...............dreadful and pricey!! Avoid it.
We arranged for the resort transport to pick us up and take us back to the airport. At 10
euros each way per person it was well worth it, and no hitches.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay, for the kind feedback about your holiday experience and for sharing it on TripAdvisor

It is so rewarding to know that you had such a positive experience with us and took profit of some of the activities we organize

We all be most pleased to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Just returned from Madeira on the 18th Nov. We had a wonderful time and loved everything about the holiday. This was our third year in Madeira but our first year in The Residence.
If you are thinking of buying a time share but are put off because of the 'pushy'- on the street -reps then don't be. Porto Bay reps are excellent- no pressure and a lovely experience visiting the complex. The apartments to buy for a '1 week a year for 10 years' are superb. We loved everything about the apartment, the resort and the staff. Really could not fault anything about it.
There is so much more to enjoy than just The Residence' experience though. Find out for yourself and go for it!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first level,south facing. Balcony, lawn, sun beds and sea views. Private and pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demunn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review about your first holiday experience at The Residence.
Really pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the services provided by my team.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the forthcoming years,

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just returned from our usual two week stay. This is our eighth year in the Residence, as well as numerous visits to the Porto Bay Group. Excellent all-round service. We use the Porto Mare facilities for breakfast and evening meals because we are on holiday and like to be looked after, rather than cater for ourselves.
All the staff here are so friendly and helpful.
Must mention our visit to the Med Restaurant for the Wine and Dine event. Paulo, staff and chefs made the evening a really enjoyable occasion. Sorry, Paulo, we did not learn much about wines, only enjoyed them!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a great support by staying at our hotel year after year.
Thank you also for the “Another brilliant holiday.” review about your recent holiday experience and shared on TripAdvisor.

We are so pleased to have your confidence on us and we just promise the good work.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is our 5th week at The Residence over three years so I think that in itself tells you it is a lovely resort. We managed to get two weeks in the same two bedroom apartment as a timeshare exchange. Everything as always was perfect. Our daughter joined us this time for part of the holiday and she was equally impressed with everything. We did one of the outings organised by the hotel, a trip up to the Porto Serra Hotel where we had what they term as a light lunch - three large courses washed down with wine and coffee. We also visited the Wicker factory and local markets. A very enjoyable outing. We did the coastal walk along to the pretty fishing village of Camera de Lobos Once again we used the Aerobus to travel to and from airport - a big saving on taxi fares. All in all it was unforgettable and we must now save up some more credits so we can return there ASAP.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haeremai18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay, for the kind feedback about your holiday experience and for sharing it on TripAdvisor

It is so rewarding to know that you had a fantastic time with us and took profit of some of the activities we organize

We all be most pleased to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing