We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Another week in our apartment at The Residence and once again we cannot fault the place. Room spotless everyday and nothing is too much trouble for the housekeepers. Did a levada walk and visit to Machio gastronomic festival , all arranged by hotel and really good, value for money trips.

We self catered all week and the kitchen has everything you need.

Room Tip: Sea view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent stay at The Residence hotel and for your “Fabulous” thoughts about it.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in another future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    102
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
209
453
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

After four family stays in the Residence we enjoyed it as much as ever - each holiday has been a bit different adding to the enjoyment of looking forward to next year and seeing the friendly, helpful and supportive staff 'family' again. The food is excellent and our one bedroom ground floor apartment is spacious and airy. We have a private lawn area and easy access to the pools, spa, restaurants, bars and other facilities. The courtesy bus makes travelling into Funchal and bus travel to other places such as Monte very easy. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent “Jane and Jo” stay at The Residence hotel and for your thoughts about it.
So good to know that you had such a very positive holiday experience after being with us so many times.


It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent united kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel itself is set in such a lovely area, right by a lido and with plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance if you didn't want to stay on site. Having said that Il Basilico restaurant and The Med on site are two of the best restaurants I have eaten in abroad, food is stunning and the staff are brilliant; especially in Il Basilico. The hotel staff are equally as fantastic and could remember me by name despite only going down to the front desk 5 days after we checked in. The rooms are spacious and all you could need and housekeeping is amazing. I had never been to Funchal before and having stayed here I would definitely go back, but only if I could stay at the same place! Thanks to everyone for such a fantastic time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shamonemofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the recent stay and for let us know that you have enjoyed the facilities the service and so on….

We sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a week here in June and were very impressed. The Residence offers self catering apartments which share gardens and pools with its two adjoining hotels, all owned by Porto Bay. We booked through Thomas Cook, but the apartments are available for sale on a time share basis. I say we got the best of both worlds because unlike most self catering accommodation I've stayed in, the apartment gets cleaned on a daily basis, towels changed daily, bed sheets are changed as often as you request, you could also utilise the hotel spa and restaurants if you wished, a good supermarket is just round the corner if you do wish to cook. The apartment was spacious and came with two large bathrooms, one with a bath/shower the other with a large shower cubicle. Nice views of the garden from the balcony; the gardens are very well maintained, my only complaint would be that parasols are in fairly short supply, largely I think because it can get quite windy at times, but that is a small quibble, on an otherwise excellent holiday. Personally I liked it better than the sister Porto Bay hotel that is in Funchal town; which is right in the centre of some very good restaurants; The Residence is a bus/taxi ride away; you pays your money and you takes your choice.

Room Tip: I think they are probably all good; the photographs on the hotel site are very good, but dont reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the “Best of both worlds”” review shared with so many other visitors of Madeira. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable holiday experience.

MUITO OBRIGADO,

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you,

Warm regards,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Resort. The Residence is the 'self catering' arm of the resort offering studio/apartment accomodation, although you have access to the Porto Mare and Eden Mare Hotels, and all the associated restaurants, bars, pools and entertainment. The staff are efficient, friendly and generally happy. We had a a 1 bed apartment on ground floor, no sea view but very close to gardens and pools which we were personally happy with. Rooms are vast with bathroom/sink and separate shower/toilet/sink. Large bedroom and lounge area (enough room for folding bed),with dining table/chairs and more than adequate kitchenette. I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at The Residence only to say that we thought that much of it we have taken ownership of our own apartment for next ten years, if that isn't a recommendation I dont know what else to say !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DiP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for another stay and for let us know that you have enjoyed the facilities the service and so on….

We sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I visited the Residence as usual for my annual visit but this year managed to arrange accommadation for some other members of my family. The day of arrival (14 July) coincided with my son-in-law's 50th Birthday and having pre-arranged to have a special birthday meal in the evening I was a little apprehensive that all would go as planned. However,I need not have worried because as expected the celebrations went off without a hitch with a superb meal including birthday cake in The Med restaurant and the service provided was excellent. Special thanks go Paulo Sousa (Restaurant Manager) and his team and also to Clare at Timeshare admin.

This was the first visit for other members of my family who were very impressed by the facilities and service provided by The Porto Mare complex.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west get theafternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the “A great way to celebrate” review shared with so many other visitors of Madeira. We are pleased to know that you had another enjoyable holiday experience. Also thank you for the public praise of Paulo and Claire. I will proudly share your thoughts with them.

MUITO OBRIGADO,

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you,

Warm regards,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This was our 10th year staying at the residence. It's the staff that make it such a wonderful holiday especially our maid Marie who we have become very good friends with over the years, nothing is to much trouble for her. Was pleased that they are sorting the issue regarding people reserving the sun beds around the pool. We were able to get a bed every day when we wanted so that is a massive improvement. As we have a garden apartment the addition of the umbrellas is great for my husband who cannot sit in the direct sun as he burns. The wi-fi has been improved and didn't cut out once. We had a wonderful time and hope we will have many more

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent 10th stay at The Residence hotel and for your thoughts about it. So good to know that you had such a very positive holiday experience after being with us so many times.

Also thank you for the public praise of one of our staff member. I am sure she will be pleased to receive your comments.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,711 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Property: The Residence
Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing