We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$520
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$353
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
888 results
Traveller rating
749
113
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
749
113
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto maretime sharegarden apartmentone bedroom apartmentil basilicomed restaurantorchid gardensecond hometimeshare ownershotel complexporto bay grouplike coming homehome from homeanother wonderful holidayeden mar hoteldvd playerexcellent facilities
Filter
Updating list...
378 - 383 of 888 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Another week in our apartment at The Residence and once again we cannot fault the place. Room spotless everyday and nothing is too much trouble for the housekeepers. Did a levada walk and visit to Machio gastronomic festival , all arranged by hotel and really good, value for money trips.

We self catered all week and the kitchen has everything you need.

Room Tip: Sea view .
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent stay at The Residence hotel and for your “Fabulous” thoughts about it.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in another future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

After four family stays in the Residence we enjoyed it as much as ever - each holiday has been a bit different adding to the enjoyment of looking forward to next year and seeing the friendly, helpful and supportive staff 'family' again. The food is excellent and our one bedroom ground floor apartment is spacious and airy. We have a private lawn area and easy access to the pools, spa, restaurants, bars and other facilities. The courtesy bus makes travelling into Funchal and bus travel to other places such as Monte very easy. Looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent “Jane and Jo” stay at The Residence hotel and for your thoughts about it.
So good to know that you had such a very positive holiday experience after being with us so many times.


It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel itself is set in such a lovely area, right by a lido and with plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance if you didn't want to stay on site. Having said that Il Basilico restaurant and The Med on site are two of the best restaurants I have eaten in abroad, food is stunning and the staff are brilliant; especially in Il Basilico. The hotel staff are equally as fantastic and could remember me by name despite only going down to the front desk 5 days after we checked in. The rooms are spacious and all you could need and housekeeping is amazing. I had never been to Funchal before and having stayed here I would definitely go back, but only if I could stay at the same place! Thanks to everyone for such a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank shamonemofo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the recent stay and for let us know that you have enjoyed the facilities the service and so on….

We sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a week here in June and were very impressed. The Residence offers self catering apartments which share gardens and pools with its two adjoining hotels, all owned by Porto Bay. We booked through Thomas Cook, but the apartments are available for sale on a time share basis. I say we got the best of both worlds because unlike most self catering accommodation I've stayed in, the apartment gets cleaned on a daily basis, towels changed daily, bed sheets are changed as often as you request, you could also utilise the hotel spa and restaurants if you wished, a good supermarket is just round the corner if you do wish to cook. The apartment was spacious and came with two large bathrooms, one with a bath/shower the other with a large shower cubicle. Nice views of the garden from the balcony; the gardens are very well maintained, my only complaint would be that parasols are in fairly short supply, largely I think because it can get quite windy at times, but that is a small quibble, on an otherwise excellent holiday. Personally I liked it better than the sister Porto Bay hotel that is in Funchal town; which is right in the centre of some very good restaurants; The Residence is a bus/taxi ride away; you pays your money and you takes your choice.

Room Tip: I think they are probably all good; the photographs on the hotel site are very good, but dont really give you a feel for how roomy the apartments are.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the “Best of both worlds”” review shared with so many other visitors of Madeira. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable holiday experience.

MUITO OBRIGADO,

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you,

Warm regards,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Wonderful Resort. The Residence is the 'self catering' arm of the resort offering studio/apartment accomodation, although you have access to the Porto Mare and Eden Mare Hotels, and all the associated restaurants, bars, pools and entertainment. The staff are efficient, friendly and generally happy. We had a a 1 bed apartment on ground floor, no sea view but very close to gardens and pools which we were personally happy with. Rooms are vast with bathroom/sink and separate shower/toilet/sink. Large bedroom and lounge area (enough room for folding bed),with dining table/chairs and more than adequate kitchenette. I cannot speak highly enough of our experience at The Residence only to say that we thought that much of it we have taken ownership of our own apartment for next ten years, if that isn't a recommendation I dont know what else to say !

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank DiP44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for another stay and for let us know that you have enjoyed the facilities the service and so on….

We sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews