We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A supperb stay as always”
Review of The Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Residence
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have been staying at the Residence in August 6 times over the last ten years. We have had a wonderful time there every year meeting old and new friends on each occasion. We started coming here on our own, then with our children and now with our grandchild. There is a plenty to do on the island and the staff are very helpful in guiding and assisting you in seeking out the activities you want to do. If you want to stay in the complex you can enjoy evening entertainment daytime activities or just stay around the various pools and gardens and seating areas/bars available. There are no shortage of staff attending to the gardens, restaurants, bars and reception areas who are all pleasant friendly people. The rooms are well equipped modern and spacious. The public areas are superb. I wish I could be back there now but I will have to wait for another 50 weeks before I have the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the another stay and review shared with so many other holiday makers
Thank you also for your support by staying with us so many times.

We would be pleased to welcome, soon...

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
There are newer reviews for The Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having just returned from 2 weeks at "The Residence" our family have had a wonderful time, what more can you say this is such a relaxing place & ALL the facilities are there, so clean, tidy. all the amenities you could wish for, gardens kept in pristine condition, many different pools to suit all ages & comfortable temperatures, indoor & out, EVEN a very reasonable priced supermarket 4 minutes walk, just good service everywhere the maids do an excellent job & are so very helpful with information or things you need. MADEIRA is such a clean & happy place this is our 5th visit & we go with our daughter her husband & 2 grandchildren 2 years & 4 years old.
A few days from the end of our holiday our grandson (4 years old) wanted to watch the sky for a shooting star so we went to a dark area & lay on 2 loungers for 20 minutes & as more stars appeared he sighed & said i want to go home, but i want to stay.
i said to him do you like it here? He replied quote "Granddad I don't like it here, I LOVE IT, I WANT TO KISS the ground, unquote it brought tears to my eyes. Martin Pauline & family.

Room Tip: We loved the sea view rooms fresh air from the atlantic
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Like it we LOVE IT” review shared with so many other visitors of Madeira.

We are so pleased to know that you had an enjoyable holiday experience with your family.

MUITO OBRIGADO,

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you,

Warm regards,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went to Funchal at Easter and stayed at the Residence Porto Mare. We had a one bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, a small kitchen, and access to a garden with sea views. Unfortunately the kids couldn't sleep on the sofa bed as it was very uncomfortable - would definitely recommend to upgrade to a 2 bedroom option.

The hotel was very clean, great facilities (3 different pools) and fantastic gardens. There is a wide choice of on-site restaurants and we tried all of them; our favourite was the Alfama as it was quiet and serving great local dishes. There are options nearby however and it is well worth leaving the complex to experience other venues.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DomDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Mare Residence and for your feedback about your holiday experience.

It is rewarding to know that you took a very positive impression of our property

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have been coming to the Residence since 2007 & this year was just as enjoyable as the first visit. On this occasion we had a week in a garden apartment & week in an apartment with a balcony. The staff are very helpful & friendly & the apartment very comfortable & well equipped. The hotel was very busy but the Residence is a haven of tranquility. Looking forward to our next visit already!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank flo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Another great visit to the Residence” feedback about your recent stay.
So good to know that you had another enjoyable holiday experience

Looking forward to welcome you in any of the Porto Bay hotels,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just returned today from a week at the Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) all I can say is "it just doesn't get any better than this"

This the best complex we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot of places, first off it is absolutely spotlessly clean, luxurious spacious rooms, fully equipped kitchen, even had a "surround sound DVD " system, 3 TV's 3 bathrooms/showers, two sea view balconies, daily maid service, 3 restaurants, and the food is just first class, ok a little more expensive than some of the local "eateries" but well worth that little bit more. 4 bars, loads of sunbeds and parasols, the gardens are just amazing, and the Orchid garden is a thing of beauty, it's well located and a short trip into Funchal centre by the courtesy bus, or cab is only a few minuets away. It even has it's own "supermarket" and yes, it is such good value that the "locals" shop there as well!

But the real stars of Porto Bay are the staff, nothing, and I mean absolutely nothing, is too much trouble, happy,friendly courteous staff are everywhere, this was our first visit to Maderia we had a "delightful" time, and would not hesitate to go back to the Porto Bay and would gladly recommend it as a "must visit" holiday.

Thank you everyone for such a good time.

Dennis and Jean Smith.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your recent stay at The Residence and also for let us know that overall you have enjoyed it,

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a future visit to our beautiful island.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd visit to this wonderful hotel. It was just as good as last years visit and we were allocated the same room as last year which was perfect, room 3359 garden and sea views! Already planning next years visit..... Can't come soon enough!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Juliebarfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Mare Residence and for your feedback about it.

It is rewarding to know that you took a very positive impression of our property

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just returned from our 6th annual stay at The Residence. A little haven of heaven. Staff are friendly and helpful, apartments are very well furnished and roomy, pools are clean and tidy and the grounds are extremely well maintained. Can't wait for next years visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tomomum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for the recent stay at The residence and happy to learn that you have enjoyed it about the

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
2,933 reviews
0.0 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
906 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-566, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £109 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing