We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Residence
Nearby Hotels
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$466
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$350
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
750
113
17
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
113
17
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporto maretime sharegarden apartmentone bedroom apartmentil basilicomed restaurantorchid gardensecond hometimeshare ownershotel complexporto bay grouplike coming homehome from homeanother wonderful holidayeden mar hoteldvd playerexcellent facilities
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Excellent holiday destination with high quality services, very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and fully equipped luxury apartments, dazzling exotic gardens surrounding inviting exotic pools and numerous locations to enjoy wonderful cocktails whilst enjoying the Madeira sun. If we ever come back to beautiful Madeira then this aparthotel will be our first choice!

Room Tip: Avoid apartment #3922 since it is postioned above the outdoor garage gate. This heavy metal gate with noisy engine opens and closes uncountable times day AND night (!) and was unfortunately positioned right under our bed.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your support by staying with us for the first time.

Thank you also for the positive feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and happy to learn that overall you have enjoyed it .


We will be most pleased to welcome you for the second holiday experience.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We purchased a one bedroom garden apartment in 2008. All I can say is that I'm in paradise when I'm at The Residence. It is absolutely amazing, perfect, the best of the best :)
If you only wanted to stay on the complex during your stay, it wouldn't be a problem as everything you could possible need is there for you including an excellent supermarket just minutes away.
The Residence and complex are kept to the highest standard and the staff are extremely polite and helpful.
Once been, never forgotten.
ALM

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 211,005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay and review shared with so many other holiday makers. Thank you for your support by staying with us so many times and a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your holiday experience so much.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have been staying at the Residence in August 6 times over the last ten years. We have had a wonderful time there every year meeting old and new friends on each occasion. We started coming here on our own, then with our children and now with our grandchild. There is a plenty to do on the island and the staff are very helpful in guiding and assisting you in seeking out the activities you want to do. If you want to stay in the complex you can enjoy evening entertainment daytime activities or just stay around the various pools and gardens and seating areas/bars available. There are no shortage of staff attending to the gardens, restaurants, bars and reception areas who are all pleasant friendly people. The rooms are well equipped modern and spacious. The public areas are superb. I wish I could be back there now but I will have to wait for another 50 weeks before I have the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the another stay and review shared with so many other holiday makers
Thank you also for your support by staying with us so many times.

We would be pleased to welcome, soon...

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having just returned from 2 weeks at "The Residence" our family have had a wonderful time, what more can you say this is such a relaxing place & ALL the facilities are there, so clean, tidy. all the amenities you could wish for, gardens kept in pristine condition, many different pools to suit all ages & comfortable temperatures, indoor & out, EVEN a very reasonable priced supermarket 4 minutes walk, just good service everywhere the maids do an excellent job & are so very helpful with information or things you need. MADEIRA is such a clean & happy place this is our 5th visit & we go with our daughter her husband & 2 grandchildren 2 years & 4 years old.
A few days from the end of our holiday our grandson (4 years old) wanted to watch the sky for a shooting star so we went to a dark area & lay on 2 loungers for 20 minutes & as more stars appeared he sighed & said i want to go home, but i want to stay.
i said to him do you like it here? He replied quote "Granddad I don't like it here, I LOVE IT, I WANT TO KISS the ground, unquote it brought tears to my eyes. Martin Pauline & family.

Room Tip: We loved the sea view rooms fresh air from the atlantic
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Like it we LOVE IT” review shared with so many other visitors of Madeira.

We are so pleased to know that you had an enjoyable holiday experience with your family.

MUITO OBRIGADO,

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you,

Warm regards,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We went to Funchal at Easter and stayed at the Residence Porto Mare. We had a one bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms, a small kitchen, and access to a garden with sea views. Unfortunately the kids couldn't sleep on the sofa bed as it was very uncomfortable - would definitely recommend to upgrade to a 2 bedroom option.

The hotel was very clean, great facilities (3 different pools) and fantastic gardens. There is a wide choice of on-site restaurants and we tried all of them; our favourite was the Alfama as it was quiet and serving great local dishes. There are options nearby however and it is well worth leaving the complex to experience other venues.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DomDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Mare Residence and for your feedback about your holiday experience.

It is rewarding to know that you took a very positive impression of our property

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews