We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My family and I used this Hotel to celebrate the 25th anniversay of my parents wedding. The group of friends and family in total was around 45 people.
We haven't seen or used the rooms so this report is solely based on the comemorativa dinner and service.
I think everybody enjoyed the dinner with had plenty of quality food. The service was great and attentive. Before dinner we had a cocktail by the pool which was very well done too.
I really can't complain about nothing on this hotel. The pub on the first floor seems very nice too. The pool is absolutely gorgeous and one of the biggest I've seen on a hotel. Plus the gardens are very well mantain and made for a good background for photos.
Well done Jardins d'Ajuda.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2DD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

134 - 140 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights after staying at our lovely timeshare down the road and felt like I'd walked into something from 70's! It's terribly outdated, lots of very floral curtains and bedspread and breakfast was fine if you French or German and like cold cauliflower and carrots for brekkie. It feels like everything is trying to be done on the cheap....

Having said that it was clean, staff were friendly (but not on check in day)

It was ok but lacked some basics I felt...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JLoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed there for 10 nights and we loved it. The hotel has a very comfortable location, close to a shopping center and the bus stop. The service at the reception was excellent, the receptionists spoke English and French, they took care of all our requests, breakfast was nice with lots of choices, the room was very clean and we had an amazing view from our balcony to the ocean and the city. The pools, Jacuzzi and saunas were clean and the service at the pool bar is also convenient. There is a cocktail bar with live music which we enjoyed too. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the city which we used 3 times at least. We recommend the hotel a lot as this was our second stay in it, hopefully we'll return there next year too. We want to thank especially Luis for taking care of our reservations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSliwka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent one week in Jardins d'Ajuda, the room was very nice and comfortable, with balcony, with nice pool and garden... however it was the only good things i can say about this hotel... service is very poor actually there is no service at all in this hotel, first of all when we arrived they took our passports for check in and didnt return untill next day afternoon, they said they always do this way, when they told us we can pick them up we found them in a pigeon box at the reception completely unattended. In the room there is minibar which offer wine, however no glasses or corkscrew available in the room, we called reception, they said will send someone but after 3 hours we went to reception and collected corkscrew ourselfs, also they told us to bring it back when we check out or they will charge us.... we requested for twin room, however up on arrival got double bed , they didnt separate it even when requested and didnt provide at least twin blanket... i can continue discribing their failures for ever, also hotel advertize free shuttle to the city, but this bus collects people fro m another hotel first and comes to jardins d ajuda last completely full, so u have to wait tillnext hur to try andget another bust, we tried few timesand never got the place in a bus so we had to use public transport and pay to travel, at the reception they didnt appologized that the bus service is not available and refused to help and explain where to purchase the tickets for public transport....

Room Tip: Request for the room which looks at the pool or garden, but i dont thi k they will assist you when r...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent 2 weeks in Jardins d'Ajuda and it was fantastic. We had a nice room with balcony overlooking the nice gardens and the big swimming pool. Staff were friendly and we were always given due attention to all our requirements, treated like kings :) Breakfast varied from day to day and offered everything for the taste of all, being English breakfast, fruit, yogurt, cereals, cakes, juices, a variety of bread, chocolate spread, vegetables, ham .... you name it they had it. Same can be said for lunch and dinner just outstanding at reasonable prices. The hotel is also situated in a prime location next to Forum Madeira, with supermarkets, shops and tons of restaurants. The Hotel also offer a free shuttle bus from the Hotel to Funchal during the day. What do you want more for such a bargain priced Hotel with an outstanding service! We will come again! Thanks you for making us feel home! A safe place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool offer breath-taking views :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank So-Happy_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The food was TERRIBLE but the hotel and facilities are good!
Chemical food
Not fresh food
Low standard food
Not worthy of 4 stars food
Even city trip hotels have better food

But

Awesome view from the room
Clean pool
Great and free shuttle bus toFunchal !

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Sani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The facts about the Jardin D’Ajuda Hotel. It is situated 10 minutes west from Funchal. In a built up area, with many local inhabited apartment blocks and the new Forum shopping centre. The sea is a 5minute walk down very steep path (not ideal if you have joint problems). The promenade is a nice place to walk along. The hotel is your standard basic 1970’s built, their 4* equates to 2-3 in furnishings in the public areas and the rooms. The chairs and carpeted area worn, lacks atmosphere. Mainly suited to the over 60’s and families with young children. Many French, German, Russian and Finnish people. Evening entertainment local singer and keyboard and weekly folk group. Bar prices expensive. All reception, housekeeping staff very pleasant and helpful. If you manage to get a cheap deal be thankful and read other reviews so you are fully aware of what you are getting for your money, as the pictures are very deceiving.
Check your room type allocation before so not to be disappointed if this is important or you may find that you have to pay extra. If travelling with Mercury Direct then be prepared to pay even more upgraded prices as it is only a request.

If this is important to you. There are 10 floors. The rooms, on the 3rd 4th and 5th odd numbers give you views of garden and roof of restaurant which doubles as the tennis court. 6th - glimpse of sea view and small pool and other apartments. 7-10 = better views to the sea and mountain. The pool view increases with the higher up you are. There are 7 other apartment blocks all overlooking onto one another if you are on a pool view rather like a goldfish bowl. The even numbers can look directly across the street into other apartments and the sea view rooms with main road below– the higher you go the better the chance.

Many guests I spoke to thought the meals were basic, lacked flavour and the meat often tough. This is how it is.
Dress code very relaxed and casual.

The indoor pool facilities very basic, small and dated. The smell from the changing rooms sauna and steam not welcoming,. Did not feel inviting or relaxing compared to many other hotel spas. The pool and Jacuzzi water is warm. The outdoor pool great, lots of loungers, showers and cushions plus free towels. The gardens are pretty. The apartments of local residents look down on this area and you are looking at their washing. The air conditioning unit on top of the restaurant roof is a bad design as it is on continuously day and night and when lying around the pool or in your room you have this noisy drone all the time especially if you have the windows open. Such a pity as otherwise would be peaceful and quiet. The fact that smoking is allowed around the pool can be of putting to non smokers.

Smoking is also allowed at the exit area to the pool, around the poolside, outside reception and on balcony’s.

There is a free shuttle bus into town on the hour, it stops about a 5 minute walk into the centre due to the building of a new harbour so if you have difficulty walking best to use the local bus service that will drop you right into the town centre. There are plenty of local buses at nearby stops.
If you are travelling independently use the aero bus from the airport plenty regular times it is 7.50 euros return and stops very near hotel.

The new lido park is 5 euro entry per day + 2 euro sunbed + 2 euro unbrella for locals with a card much cheaper if you know a local person. Great place, safe for children but steep walk back if you use the exit/entrance down from the Baia Zul. Has café.

For sunbathers the sun tends to come out first thing then cloud over later in day. Very deceiving use sunscreen even in overcast conditions.

I was very disappointed with this hotel, a good base but not enjoyable. I would not recommend this to my friends.
To be fair as all hotels in Funchal there will be modernising work being carried out in the future.

Room Tip: If this is important to you. There are 10 floors. The rooms, on the 3rd 4th and 5th odd numbers give...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank aloha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
0.7 mi away
Dorisol Mimosa
Dorisol Mimosa
#76 of 88 in Funchal
361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#41 of 88 in Funchal
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duas Torres
Duas Torres
#42 of 88 in Funchal
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
#56 of 88 in Funchal
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorisol Florasol
Dorisol Florasol
#51 of 88 in Funchal
403 reviews
5.3 mi away
Dom Pedro Garajau
Dom Pedro Garajau
#7 of 13 in Canico
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel

Address: Rua Nova Vale da Ajuda, Funchal, Madeira 9000-720, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range: £35 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated 3 km from the centre of Funchal, on the island of Madeira. Our island is beautiful and, because we want to give you a perfect welcome, we have thought of all the details. Located in the best tourist area, the Suite Hotel Jardins d'Ajuda is very close to the sea, has beach access, as well as access to other amenities, namely restaurants, bars, 50m from the shopping centre (Madeira Forum), supermarkets, public transport services and a private car park. It is a privileged location that unites the comfort and quality of our hotel with all the possibilities of the surrounding areas, to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardins d Ajuda Suite Funchal
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing