We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How lucky were we!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“How lucky were we!”
Reviewed 10 June 2008

We booked this hotel as a late deal at a vastly reduced rate. We were sceptical when our travel agent told us that there was some building work nearby, but it did not impact the hotel. We took the attitude that we would give it a go and use the money saved as spending money. We paid a little extra for a good view.... and what a view! Probably the best in Funchal! The hotel was great, good facilities, clean everywhere, friendly hard-working staff and suitable rooms. We used a combination of the 45 bus, taxis (about 5 euro to the Marina) and the hotel bus. Beware holiday makers who do not book the hotel bus as asked and steal your place ... we had a bit of that going on, which is my only real bug-bear with the hotel, it spoilt an otherwise great service. Buy a bus ticket with 5-10 pre-paid journies on it and you will be fine. There is a supermarket and bank up the hill and round the corner, opposite the barracks which is useful. Other buses stop there too.

As to building work .... not a problem. There is a bit, but there is everywhere in Funchal. We went down to the place where all the other hotels were and what a concrete jungle that was! Building work city! How lucky did we feel at our lovely hotel in a quiet residential area.

Madeira is mainly popular with more mature tourists, but it is very hilly and good walking shoes are needed.

  • Liked — Everyone Friendly
  • Disliked — The live music in the bar each evening
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Quirky_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    247
    71
    4
    5
See reviews for
78
352
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingborne
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2008

I have to agree with previous reviews, overall the Panoramico is very well run and the staff are friendly and helpful. We found no problems getting to and from the city centre as we used a combination of No. 45 bus, cabs and hotel minibus at various times. You can purchase a bus ticket either on the bus or for a much cheaper option prepaid at seafront machine with as many trips as you want (one ticket per person), the trip up and back to Monte I would recommend although get to the gardens early as the cloud comes over by 11am most days. The restaurants by the yellow castle on the seafront to the East are very good and not expensive. Only downside to hotel was the beds; hard and the pillows lumpy.
Beware the cheap trips at travel agents on main roads, these include time share presentations! Our trip with to the West we booked with Fun Tours on main road in was very good though.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Hard beds
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank peterj101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

We spent a week at the Panoramico,a friend recommended it. We requested a room away from the barking dogs (front of top block), and this was supplied. (You cannot hear them when the windows are shut). The breakfasts were excellent, very generous, with lots of fresh fruit and choices. The evening buffet was good, if rather rushed. The bar has evening entertainment, but is rather uninspiring and gloomy.. The bar lacks character and the air conditioning is turned up around 10 30pm (to freeze the punters out?).
The beds were rather hard and pillows lumpy. The staff were friendly , helpful and obliging and spoke good English. We never managed to get a seat on the pre booked shuttle bus, (we heard people booking 2 days ahead!). They could do with a larger seating capacity. Fortunately the 45 bus stops outside, quite frequently, and only takes around 10 mins to the centre.. The view over the bay is fantastic, but it is a pity that there is so much development taking place in Funchal, it is being ruined. We counted 9 cranes from the balcony, and building noises everywhere we went. The charm of Funchal has gone. Fortunately you can get away from it all to the countryside or coast.... Madeira is an island of contrasts, with so much to do. We enjoyed the levada walks, dramatic views, terraced hillsides full of fruit and veg produce and mad bus journeys!

  • Liked — breakfasts
  • Disliked — beds uncomfortable, rather hard.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank blistertoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2008

This was a 4 Star, half board, allocation on arrival hotel from First Choice Holidays which we booked only 2 weeks before we went.

Hotel has incredible uninterrupted views over the whole of Funchal and the Harbour. It is about 20 minutes brisk walk down hill into the town and the port area unless you are incredibly fit you will need to catch the number 45 bus from the centre of town to bring you back up (stops at the entrance to the hotel). The hotel does provide a mini bus service which is free - the bus only seats 6 people and leaves approx every 30 mins up to 6pm (but with a 2 hour break over lunch time - you need to book a seat the night before and the reception staff give you a ticket.

All the staff, without exception, at this hotel are friendly and helpful - nothing is too much trouble.

The food is good quality, plenty of variety of meats and fish, salads and vegetables and well presented . Vegetarians are not well catered for unless you want a plate of vegetables or salad every night. Good choice of deserts.

Evening entertainment at the hotel - what can I say - the fado dancing was interesting!!!! - but then we didnt go to Madeira for the hotels entertainment.

Our room was huge and comfortable, with a large balcony with a lovely view over the bay and the mountains - you could not have wished for a better setting. Rooms are clean, well maintained with a mini bar/fridge - pool towels are provided in your wardrobe and you can exchange these at any time for new ones. Linen changed regularly, towels changed daily. There is a hairdryer in the room - no tea and coffee making facilities - take your own kettle etc.

The outdoor pool was freezing (supposed to be heated) - but no big deal as the indoor pool was nice and warm. Good gym facilities with first rate equipment - obviously well maintained.

Prices for drinks in the restaurant and in the hotel bar were extortionate - bottle of water 3.20, awful bottle of house wine 13.00. The supermarket around the corner is very reasonable and has a good selection of wines,spirits, water and soft drinks, as there are no bars or restaurants in the vacinity, or be prepared to go down into town - taxis vary in price from 7 to 10 euros one way into or out of town.

All in all we had a really good break and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel, and although it is quite a way out of funchal, it suited us nicely.

Recommend you do the cable car ride to Monte - Western Island tour was great - very dramatic scenery, open top bus tour is not worth doing (yellow tour) or worth the money - buy a bus ticket at the yellow booths down town - then you can top it up at any of the booths - then each trip on the bus is only 80 cents - you can go more or less where you like on public transport for a fraction of the cost of most of the tours. There is a nice levada walk which starts from just below the front of the hotel - ask reception to point it out on the map.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Bar prices
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank 50sbumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2008

I have just returned from three weeks in the Panoramico feeling that this hotel is all it says it is good four star value. Very friendly helpful stafff,comfortable rooms, good food, together with all the other amenities, pools, jacuzzis, tennis, squash, gym. Very convenient shuttle to town and back. The down side is the position, not conveinient for a stroll,after dinner unless you take the bus into town. I did hear some complaints about noisy dogs at nights,we had no problem our room being on the sea side,so the answer is take your ear plugs. or book a sea view.

  • Liked — Empty indoor pool
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankieScarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton Devon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2008

We arrived at this hotel,we were shown to our room straight away by the reception staff ,who were very polite and spoke english.The hotel is spotlessly clean with fresh flowers every where in the hotel and in the gardens.Our room was number 11 this is at the front of the hotel with the swiming pool outside your balcony,the view from here looks over the harbour and Funchal,if I was to come here again I would ask for a room at the front of the hotel,as the room in other parts of the hotel you can hear DOGs Barking all day and night.All the staff in this hotel are very polite and helpful,the breakfast was either English or continental, the dinner was OK if you like seafood starters,but the meat dishes were a lot to be desired,there is a la carte resturant as well in this hotel which we didnt use. At lunch times there is a bar that sells snacks this I recommend it is in a loverly position over looking the harbour.The hotel is situated out of town and it is very hilly to walk to.There is a hotel bus that runs every Half Hour to the town of Funchal.This was our first time to Madiera and it was a fantastic holiday ,The locals make you so Welcome.We will be back.They say the best time to come to Madiera is at Xmas.with all the xmas lights and on New Years Eve.Which has the best firework displays in the world . .

  • Liked — Cleaning of rooms was done early.Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Barking Dogs Entertianment Basic.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rayebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#27 of 86 in Funchal
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#42 of 86 in Funchal
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 86 in Funchal
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 86 in Funchal
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Panoramico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Property: Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Address: Rua Estados Unidos da America 34, Funchal, Madeira 9000-090, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Panoramico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the west hillside of Funchal, with superb views of the sea, the bay and magnificent mountains. With a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this is the ideal place for an unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Panoramico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madeira Panoramico
Madeira Panoramico Funchal
Madeira Panoramico Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing