We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Ranked #28 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great holiday hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Madeira and we had booked with thomsons who have so far not let us down.
And again this was a pleasant surprise, the hotel was clean, rooms very nice (we had room 114) safe (at a 10€ cost) towels, toiletries, mini bar and fridge was all included. Staff where friendly and helpful. The pool area was clean and the pool had a good size. The view from this hotel is amazing as it gives you a full view of Funchal, a must by night.
There are many things to do in Madeira and I can only recommend a boat trip to see the dolphins as you are guaranteed to see them and when I say "see" dolphins I mean they come so close you can almost touch them.
The restaurants are bars in Funchal are also great. And overall we had a great weeks holiday and can only recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank K170187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    247
    71
    4
    5
See reviews for
78
352
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lubusz Province, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel with beautiful views of Funchal, ideal for car trips around the island.
We stayed in room 201, the room slightly larger than the other with a large terrace.
Standard equipment, flat screen TV, refrigerator, mini-bar, safe - paid, extra pillows and blankets in the closet, towels, etc. Sunbathing nothing was missing. The room is located in the second building from the side of a fairly busy street but it is not so much a nuisance, views and air compensate for everything. Boarding good. Service in the rooms and throughout the hotel very good.

In the area there are many attractions, you need to go to the center of Funchal. For promenade of hotels around 1.5 km, to a large shopping center about 2.5 km to the city center about 3 km.
At the reception you can hire a car from the rental CarXop, suffice it to say the basis of the car on the selected date and time, you can pay with cash and credit card. Full insurance is included in the price (which shall include windows, wheels and chassis). With respect to other rental is very attractive. I suggest before you go to the reception, spreading price list and you can immediately book.

Special thanks to the hotel staff who remembered my birthday. You're very nice. Thank you very much for the champagne.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VolmerLeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Although we had some problems with booking everything was solved according to our requirements. If I compare to other hotels same category - hotel panoramico is really great. Nice clean rooms, helpful staff seemed to be always in positive mood, beautiful view, courtesy bus (9am-6pm- there is also public transport), quiet location, free internet (not very fast but this is not necessary on vacation). I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ilonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This was our first time in Madeira for a two-week holiday. Initially we thought it was too long to spend in a place we had never visited but we managed to do lots in the two weeks. The staff were pleasant, helpful and always available to help. The room was spacious, airy, comfortable beds with enough bedding and clean. The views from the hotel are amazing, we watched the firework displays on the two Saturdays we were there. The open top bus (yellow-bus) and the regular bus stop right outside the hotel. The hotel also has a courtesy bus. There are restaurants nearby with lovely food. The best thing was the location, away from the hustle and bustle of town and the food. The down-side is the barking dogs which I think you cannot blame on the hotel as this is common. Overall we enjoyed the hotels' facilities and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East or the swimming pool are quieter though if you want sunshine in the afternoon choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cate_rimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The hotel has an overwhelming view over Funchal's bay. You can spend hours enjoying the sight over the hotel's balconies. The rooms are comfortable, the staff is nice and the meals are very good. The hotel is very lively with daily shows.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I flew into Madeira to join a cruise ship for work and was due to stay overnight. Sadly my company had not booked me any transfers from the airport and the only place I knew was the Panoramico Hotel as I had stayed here before.

I asked Reception for a room and even though it had been over a year since my last visit the Receptionist (Mrs Fernandez - forgotten her first name) remebered me and know that I was with the shipping agency. A room was organised and strangely was the same room as I stayed in before.

This time, I used the hotels restaurant which was actually very nice for a buffett. All the food was hot, well presented and tasty, the wine was also very good and was well needed at his point of my journey.

I know this may be picky, but the second stay in such a lovely hotel is never going to be the same, but there was no phone book/hotel guide in my room. So when I tried to call Recpetion I did not know the number, restaurant menu, room service etc. Then the worse bit about my stay, (which has become a bit of a routine for me now) is that I could not have a cup of coffee as there was no kettle, tea/coffee station.

Now as I said this maybe being picky but is something that in these modern days is expected everywhere in the world.

If there was a hotel manual by your telephone and a tea/coffee station then I would be rating this hotel 100%. Service, food, modern clean rooms and a view that money cannot buy, I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the island.

My next visit is going to be new years eve, sat in a room with a balcony watching the most spectacular fireworks in the Med (so I am told) with a bottle (or several) of bubbles!

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the bridge from Reception I think they are level 3 room (315, 316, 317, 319) if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clint M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was a late booking for a much needed rest with the chance of a little sunshine. I can't believe how lucky I was to have booked the Panoramico Hotel and not one of the concrete blocks down in the Lido area. This was my first visit to Madeira and I was enchanted by it.
The Panoramico is a gem. Perched high on a hill with beautiful views from virtually every corner of the hotel and grounds, the distance from the buzzing centre really isn't an issue and in many respects is a distinct advantage. The hotel has a regular, free shuttle bus, a local bus stops just outside and will take you into town for around £1.40, the walk down is easy and a taxi will only cost you around £4.
All of the staff were delightful, helpful and very patient with my many questions. My room was a very good size with a nice balcony and view and the entire hotel spotlessly clean. Buffet breakfast provided an excellent choice. I was on a B & B basis so that I could sample local restaurants for dinner, though I did have dinner a couple of times at the hot buffet restaurant. I didn't have chance to try the a la carte restaurant but will next time. I had an excellent massage in the wellbeing facility. The ambience there was very calming.
I found out too late that I could've hired a tennis racket and used the practice wall on the tennis court. That's another thing for next time.
The Panoramico really makes the best possible use of the views with lots of little hidden quiet corners, for instance a bench tucked away in one of the garden areas, sunbeds on little flat roofed areas.
It's beginning to sound as though I have a vested interest in this place but I honestly don't. The reverse, I should be keeping it quiet so I can get a room easily when I go back again.. In my many years of holidaying all over the world, I have never before considered going back somewhere a second time but am already making enquiries about my next trip to the Panoramico and probably within the next year.

Room Tip: They all appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gypsy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#27 of 86 in Funchal
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#20 of 86 in Funchal
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Residence
Golden Residence
#24 of 86 in Funchal
975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Panoramico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Panoramico Hotel

Property: Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Address: Rua Estados Unidos da America 34, Funchal, Madeira 9000-090, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#28 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#30 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Panoramico Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the west hillside of Funchal, with superb views of the sea, the bay and magnificent mountains. With a relaxed and friendly atmosphere, this is the ideal place for an unforgettable holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Madeira Panoramico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madeira Panoramico
Madeira Panoramico Funchal
Madeira Panoramico Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing