We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Ranked #39 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Very frindly staff and close to the old town. Room was fine with a good view. The restaurant was good allbeit a bit pricey and breakfast was excellent. Better aircon control would have been good.

Yes, there is a slope to the hotel but I doubt that anywhere in Madeira is "hill free". Makes that pint all the more worthwhile!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnAshtead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Unfortunately when we arrived at reception we were told that the hotel did not have a room for us despite the fact that we had booked and paid in full some 6 months previously on a non-cancellable and non-refundable basis. The hotel seems to have recently become part of a chain (possibly the cause of the problem) and we were sent in a taxi up to a 5 star hotel which was part of the chain. This hotel was very smart and we were given a room with a great view over Funchal but it was a long way out of town and up a long and very steep hill. As we had chosen Quinta Bela Sao Tiago for it's location close to the old town (due to dodgy knees) we were not happy with this arrangement. Thankfully we were bussed down to our chosen hotel at lunchtime the next day and given an excellent room overlooking the harbour. Reception staff were apologetic and gave us a voucher for an excellent barbeque that evening. We liked Qunita Bela Sao Tiago but would be wary of booking to stay there again as it was very stressful arriving after a long journey to find there was no room available for us. We were not the only guests to be "bumped" - there were at least 2 other couples we were aware of, probably more. In all other respects the hotel was a great place to stay although the "a la carte" main course we ordered took an hour to arrive and was pretty awful. After that we ate in the old town at some lovely restaurants only a few minutes walk away. Breakfast however was great. Staff in the main were efficient and friendly and I believe did their best to resolve the problem but the fact remains, it shoudl not have happened. October 2013

Room Tip: The higher up the better for the sea view over the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merlin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The most positive points were the cleanliness (exceptional) & some (not all) of the staff (efficient & friendly). The position of the Hotel for the old town was very good but there are steep climbs in some directions.

We stayed half board (would not recommend because of the plethora of nice restaurants nearby). The half board set menu offered no choice although a simple alternative like an omelette was available. The price of the set menu (almost 50 euros) was frankly ridiculous although the food quality was generally good.

The service at dinner was good although a change in staff midway through our stay led to a collapse in standards. This was quickly rectified.

The breakfasts were adequate if not imaginative with a choice of 'All Stars' and 'Coco Pops' for cereal...throughout the 2 weeks. Hm......? Poor selection of (some tinned) fruit & limited choice of bread. However, the quality was generally fine.

The rooms were dated with a 1970's retro look (not deliberately intended if you know what I mean !), & the shower was old & inadequate in function. However, the cleanliness was excellent.

Beautiful views from the sea view rooms & a hotel that was easy to use with all amenities to hand ( pool, garden, car park, dining room etc). It may be worth creating 'no smoking' zones for the terrace used for meals in good weather as the cigarette smoke wafting around was unpleasant.

Overall, we had a very pleasant stay perhaps slightly disappointing in respect of the food selections. We did appreciate the way that staff tried to rectify problems when they occurred.

Room Tip: Worth paying for sea view & choose high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blu32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed for a week and overall had a very good time. The location is perfect right beside the old town, so access to restaurants, shops and 'real life' in funchal. The manor-type hotel is lovely with marble floors and lovely tapestries. The view was excellent and i loved the little church as part of the scenery. Lush gardens to wander through. The breakfasts were great - we loved this part of the day, including the sparkling wine that came with it; Very clean, and comfortable beds. Re what can be improved: you have to pay to use the in-room safe; have to sign in and out of wifi as you are time-limited and it only works in some parts of the room - not fully reliable; towels could use replacing; sparse soap availability; wall decorations minimal; old-style TV. The pros outweighed the cons.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for a week on b & b
basis. Breakfasts were excellent and we were a short walk from many old town restaurants. The room was huge with wooden floor a small veranda and generous en-suite. There is a decent sized outdoor pool too. We booked with Classic Collection and we couldn't fault the service. The rep was excellent too. We hired a car for a couple of days to see the country properly and it was well worth it. What a beautiful place. There is parking under the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights. First and foremost this Hotel has an excellent location on the edge of the Old Town in Funchal which is easily reached by a short 5 minute walk . If you want easy access to the old town then this is by far the best Hotel to stay. There are many more luxurious hotels near and around Funchal such as Reids and the Savoy but they are in the "Hotel region/complex" on the other side of the main town and it all looks a bit of a touristy strip , lacking atmosphere, clinical and a bit out of the way with nothing else going on nearby.

The Old Town is lovely and interesting with narrow streets, bars, restuarants and shops. For this reason, we recommend bed and breakfast as there are so many restaurants and bars nearby providing excellent value for money.(Hotel dinner menu is limited and expensive). By far the best restaurant is the "Donna Maria". We recommend the restaurants in this street, all are good. Also the there is a bar at the top of the hill with tables , outside overlooking the sea just near the fort and church , its really popular and nice offering drinks and sandwiches (Litre of great Sangria for 7 euros!).
The cable car and bus stops are also nearby, literally a further one minute walk from the edge of the old town. It is also easily walkalble to the main town which is really nice, with nice parks, shops and cafes.We recommend lunch at the Ritz - 2 glasses of wine and a generous snack will cost less than 20 euros with great ice cream (in the ritz) at 1.70 euro per cornet!

We also recommend taking the bus to Santa cruz and camara de lobos. Easy and enjoyable bus rides and the villages/towns are really nice.

The botanical gardens, tropical gardens, cable car and tobbogan rides are all a must.

The room
Nice, spotless and had a balcony offering terrific views. It is not luxurious and the tv for example is old style. The shower not powerful and screen a bit awkward. Needs a bit of updating. But everything else about this hotel makes up for those small issues. Lovely outlook, great verandah and dining area and views and nice pool. Cleaning was excellent, consistent and punctual.

The staff
Lovely. Helpful and work very hard.

Things to note:
No compilmentary water in room so buy from outside.
The in room safe is payable at 1.50 euros per day
No complimentary in room tea and coffee but they do provide kettle on request, so bring your own tea!
No pool towells as standard. They can be provided with a returnable deposit
Free internet access
Library abnd games available
Personally, some of these services should bve included in a 4 star hotel.

Breakfast:
Very average buffet and limited and is the same every day. A bit disappointing. Not really 4 star. When you consider this Island is abundant with fruits and veg there is not even tomatoes/cucmber/peppers, onions or anyhting like that for breakfast, not much fresh fruit on offer and just 3 types of cake. Sausages are not really sausages and are small tinned frankfurters. No potatoe products at all served and no local dishes to try or anything used to herb or flavour the food. Very bland. Same 2 types of eggs, scrambled and fried, served every day. No "egg station" serving omelettes etc. Its ok for the first couple of days but then very dull. They really must improve on this and it wont take much or cost much to improve.

We would recommend this hotel for its traditional looks, cleanliness, good staff and location.

Room Tip: High floow and Sea view is really worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LenandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in a lower ground room overlooking the garden for a week at the end of September. Room location within the hotel perfect to walk to the pool and restaurant. The hotel staff are helpful and accommodating. Reception staff organised our trips. Walk to the Old town down hill which is not far and you soon get used to the walk back, although plenty of taxis if not. We took the cable car trip which I found scary but my husband loved. We went on a Lavada walk and trip to the north of the island which was fantastic, also a cateraman trip, all good value for money. Hotel clean, food fantastic and the pool area relaxing, spacious and pool itself wonderful after a day's sightseeing etc. Glorious views. Weather was hot everyday around 26/28 with odd showers in the afternoon. Only thing we did not use was the spa facilities, the jacussi was not working and we did not have treatments. We will definitely be going back and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We did not mind a ground floor room overlooking the garden, but choose a room overlooking garden or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,892 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#58 of 88 in Funchal
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#34 of 88 in Funchal
453 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
1.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 88 in Funchal
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#42 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £79 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing