We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Ranked #40 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel (a family of 7) over New Year to celebrate my Father's 85th birthday and were very happy with everything. Having stayed at the Porto Santa Maria on a couple of occasions we were disappointed to find they no longer allow children and, for the first time. we were travelling with our three year old grandson. I think we all agreed that this hotel more than made up for that disappointment. We found it very friendly, intimate and helpful, yes, it is a climb up and down to the town but taxis are easy to get. We had requested 3 ground floor rooms together and got just what we had asked for, the rooms were well serviced and very clean. The staff were very good, going out of their way to help; the food was excellent, ok, a couple of mornings the breakfast wasn't very hot but very tasty. Those who complain that breakfast never changes must be having a bit of everything every day - there was plenty of choice! Yes, dinner was a set menu (no different from the set menus in the old town restaurants) but there was always an alternative if you asked. The cooking was fantastic - what skills the team of chefs have and the executive chef around the dining room so much.
The New Years Eve Gala dinner was chaotic getting into the dining room but, once under way, the food was wonderful, again such excellent skills shown, our grandson tackled every course and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the evening - the fireworks sealed the holiday!!
The one down side was that the pool was not heated as was stated in the brochure - but the jacuzzi made up for that!!
Our thanks to Lucia in the restaurant for making everything so special.
Of course no trip to Madeira is complete without afternoon tea at Reids Hotel- so special.
A wonderful start to 2014 and many happy family memories!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bardsroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was given a trip to this hotel by my husband as a special birthday treat and mainly went to Funchal for the fireworks of 2013 which were fantastic, an experience in itself and the hotel opened the roof terrace for an even higher view.

The hotel is situated in old part of Funchal and is ideally located to get to the shops, cable cars and harbour area (I saw 12 cruise ships come for the fireworks in total which was quite a sight) and is mainly away from any loud, late bars etc. The hotel is very clean and organised as you would expect and breakfast was typically eat as much as you like with a wide variety to choose from. The bar is open only till 12:00 pm where live music (pianist) was supplied on Monday and Thursday and was very talented.

Our trip was B & B so we could enjoy all the restaurants (of which there are many spilling out onto cobbled streets & a must to visit) with no pressure to move on to get a second sitting in (all very relaxed). We usually went to a local bar after our meal and got back to the hotel after most of the other residents had gone to bed.

I found the residents very helpful and welcoming and the small shop owners were not adverse to reducing prices and I saved 26 Euros on one purchase. There are hardly any pavements in old Funchal but a lot of the streets were narrow and vehicles didn't go down them anyway.

We did walk into the main city centre and I found it very clean and quite cosmopolitan with lines of trees to break up the paved areas and some lovely architecture (old mixed with new).

The only down side of this trip would be that on the whole the residents of this hotel seemed to be of an older age group so the evenings were really very quiet, but if you are happy to find entertainment if you want it yourself, not a problem.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Having never been to Madeira before, a bit of a risk knowing where to choose, but we couldn't have done better! Despite an extension in 1998 - well in keeping with the original style, I think - this is a moderately sized hotel, high above the Old Town - ideal for the many excellent restaurants (inexpensive too - ask for menu of the day 11€ to 15€ pp). Nice pool with great views. Our only regret was that we had chosen to keep the cost down with a land view room - the compensation was that it was huge! Wooden floor, huge bed, two double doors onto balcony. Yes, the TV is old and small, but we hadn't gone to watch TV! The room was always clean and tidy, but we felt that it wasn't always given the same time and attention - nothing worse than a few bits on the floor though.

Staff throughout were brilliant - friendly, even chatty, and of course nearly all spoke excellent English.

There's no pavement whatever way you choose to walk, but this is how it is in Madeira - just take care.

Plenty of buses and taxis (plus cable car to Monte), but not so many buses at the weekend, so we hired a car (through the hotel) for the last two days to see more of the island than you could by public transport. No-one hangs around, and loads of tunnels, but great fun.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robc042011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Right from the taxi transport from the airport, the welcome at reception, the room and the service, everything was first class plus!
Service depends on people, and the staff were excellent.
The choice offered for both breakfast and dinner was varied and the quality first class. The service was as good as it gets, even down to the smiles!

Thank you to everyone who made our second visit to Madeira memorable! And it won't be long before the re-design of the water channels and seafront will be completed!!

Room Tip: Vary your route into the heart of Funchal. The buildings and people are as interesting & welcomi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Always a gamble booking a hotel but this one was great. We chose it because of its character and its location in the Old Town. We had B and B, partly on the advice of other reviewers, and it was definitely the right thing to do. During our week I did not notice anyone eating in the restaurant in the evenings, so had we done so it would have been a bit sad!
Coffee not brilliant, but we soon learned where to go in the town (Mel e Canel just behind the rear entrance of the Anadia shopping centre, where you can get an espresso and a cake for 1€)
Breakfasts very good and not the same every day either: a wide choice of breads, hot food, fruit
Beds HUGE, rather firm

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maddercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This really a lovely hotel extremely well run with great friendly staff, beautiful rooms, splendid views and a great location. We stayed B&B and there a lot of very good local restaurants within 10 mins walk downhill; a bit a a drag but up the hill but achievable as long as you reasonably fit. Turn right out of the hotel, go down the hill and there is a great local bar with good food overlooking the sea and town; saw staff from the hotel having coffee there! All in all one of the best hotels we have stayed and well worth its rating. A few minor niggles ; TVs and showers need updating and wi-fi should be all over the hotel and totally free with no limits ( you get 24 hrs free for stays up to 6 days and 48 for longer stays)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Quinta Bela in April this year, having chosen it primarily for its location so close to the Old Town, the part of Funchal with the most character. It is also conveniently close to the centre of town, market and cable car. The hotel itself has bags of character and stunning views over Funchal and the harbour from the sea view rooms and pool terrace. Staff are generally very helpful and the ambience is laid back. Rooms are simply furnished and the shutters and black out curtains ensure a good night's sleep, if, like me, you need to block out the light.

I would return to this hotel but on a BnB basis, not half board as we did this time. The restaurant lacked atmosphere and the food just wasn't 4 star standard no matter how many ta-raa! flourishes accompanied it! and as there are so many good restaurants in the Old Town nearby, you are spoiled for choice. You are also charged for jugs of tap water at the hotel which I think is simply unacceptable. Breakfast is good, however, and the terrace a great place to have a drink and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor if you want the best sea and harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,939 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pestana Village
Pestana Village
#29 of 88 in Funchal
938 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
#19 of 88 in Funchal
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean Gardens
Ocean Gardens
#24 of 88 in Funchal
405 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#20 of 88 in Funchal
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#42 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: £84 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing