We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Peaceful and Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Peaceful and Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights organised by Jules Verne. We had room 101 which was very large and airy with a balcony with a sea view overlooking the pool area. We were traveling with an elderly friend who had a smaller twin room with a balcony 2 doors down from us. All the staff were helpful and friendly, our room was well appointed and clean. You need to ask for a kettle which was brought to us very quickly. We had food on the veranda at lunchtime and service, choice and food were good. At breakfast (buffet style) there was a good choice of cold and hot food, and fruit. dining room was clean and well appointed, the bar area was medium sized but there was a very large veranda area to sit. We had one evening meal at the hotel which was excellent as was the service (thank you Lucia and Fabio). This was quite formal dining.
The hotel is well positioned for a short downhill stroll to the old town where there is an abundance of restaurants and bistros. A thoroughly pleasant stay in a lovely hotel and island.

Room Tip: 101 is very large with a sea view from the balcony, Situated on the left hand wing of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morningchorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    133
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
27
255
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked a room with a sea view and balcony at this Hotel and were very disappointed to be given a room overlooking the road and with no balcony. We were told that they had overbooked and that a sea view was not available. After telling them we were not prepared to accept the room offered they decided to send us up to a sister hotel which was a long way out of the main town. We went up to have a look and were surprised to find three German people in the same mini bus as us who had booked two sea view rooms which were also unavailable. We did not accept the room offered to us as the carpet was very worn out and stained and the hotel was much too far out. It was not what we had booked and paid for. We returned to this hotel and guess what!!! another German couple complaining that they had been transferred to another hotel and were not happy with it. I have to say the management were most unhelpful and very surly and no apology was offered other than a free meal for one night. At least the food was good. Our tour operator moved us to a different hotel the following day which was just down the hill and far superior.

Room Tip: You really need a south facing sea view room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were at the Carnival Dinner here and were served third rate food, poor wine and NO floorshow that we paid for. The hotel were not interested in discussing a refund - so we have no option but to put a review here to warn future customers of what to expect. Sad but true

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank supelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed recently at this hotel near the old town of Funchal. 2 nights we spent in room 218 which was overlooking the road at the back of the hotel. This room was furnished well and very clean but was noisy each morning from about 6 a.m because of traffic. Not a pleasant view either We were moved and upgraded to a junior suite sea view room for the rest of our stay. (we had paid for a sea view room when we booked the holiday !).We loved this room which overlooked the swimming pool and Funchal bay. We could not see or hear the building works down on the sea front which was a big bonus.

There were toweling robes in both rooms,shampoo,bath foam, body lotion,tissues and shower cap, plus a small packet of cotton buds and cotton wool.

The beds were very comfortable and there was a a good supply of white towels.

Breakfast was fine and there were some changes each day in the food offered. Had dinner in the hotel twice but there was not much atmosphere and service was quite slow. Food was OK though but the portions were small. We preferred to eat out and enjoy the restaurants in the old town.

Yes I would return to this Hotel. I loved the location but there is the hill to climb on your return so it is not suitable for any one who has trouble walking.

Room Tip: Loved the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flossyRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We have just spent a week at this hotel and we plan to go back again. Thank you Classic Connections. Perfect service, delightful food, charming people and a view of the sea at was a constant joy. We booked half board and were pleased we did. The evening meals were delicious and portion sizes helpfully modest for me as I am trying to cut down how much I eat. A further bonus of eating in the hotel is not having to run the gauntlet of waiters on the pavements touting for custom for their restaurants. There is also the option of dining at other hotels in this chain, with a free taxi service. The breakfast buffet contained a wide variety of cooked and cold items, fruit, cereals, tea, coffee. I think there were some herbal teas as well but don't quote me on at. There was a variety of interesting breads and cakes

Our room was spotlessly clean when we arrived and the daily refresh and bed making was done beautifully. In the bathroom everything worked faultlessly. There were plenty of towels. There was a brilliant view of the harbour and we watched the cruise ships come and go.

The location in the old part of Funchal was perfect for us. Although it is up a slight hill it is an easy walk from the town centre. It is better to use the road on the seaward side of the hotel as the one at the front, though not busy, is quite narrow and the drivers do not seem to pay much attention to pedestrians.

The only Ingrid's that was missing were tea and coffee making facilities in our room. Though we never got round to asking about them. I am sure it would not have been a problem if we had asked. The staff were all so charming and helpful. They are fluent in English. We heard them also speaking German and French to customers. Their services skills were exemplary.

We wanted a quiet, well serviced hotel with a sea view. That is exactly what we got, only it was better than we expected.

One thing to bear in mind, is that there are large scale road works going on on the sea front. They are likely to continue for another eighteen months. These can be very noisy during the day. However there seem to be very strict controls over the starting and finishing times. We were not disturbed by them at all. The finished result will be well worth it.

Another point, I wouldn't recommend hiring a car. For UK drivers the roads are very narrow, mostly on steep hills with frequent U bends. To my eyes the junctions were not very clear. The local drivers seem quite considerate but the traffic is fast for such narrow roads. Considering the conditions the cars are relatively free of bumps and scrapes, which suggests the locals drive carefully, but it seemed a bit like watching a fairground ride. There are lots of taxis and buses and the prices seemed quite reasonable.

Overall, a wonderful holiday in a lovely hotel. We plan to go back later in the year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonVillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel (a family of 7) over New Year to celebrate my Father's 85th birthday and were very happy with everything. Having stayed at the Porto Santa Maria on a couple of occasions we were disappointed to find they no longer allow children and, for the first time. we were travelling with our three year old grandson. I think we all agreed that this hotel more than made up for that disappointment. We found it very friendly, intimate and helpful, yes, it is a climb up and down to the town but taxis are easy to get. We had requested 3 ground floor rooms together and got just what we had asked for, the rooms were well serviced and very clean. The staff were very good, going out of their way to help; the food was excellent, ok, a couple of mornings the breakfast wasn't very hot but very tasty. Those who complain that breakfast never changes must be having a bit of everything every day - there was plenty of choice! Yes, dinner was a set menu (no different from the set menus in the old town restaurants) but there was always an alternative if you asked. The cooking was fantastic - what skills the team of chefs have and the executive chef around the dining room so much.
The New Years Eve Gala dinner was chaotic getting into the dining room but, once under way, the food was wonderful, again such excellent skills shown, our grandson tackled every course and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the evening - the fireworks sealed the holiday!!
The one down side was that the pool was not heated as was stated in the brochure - but the jacuzzi made up for that!!
Our thanks to Lucia in the restaurant for making everything so special.
Of course no trip to Madeira is complete without afternoon tea at Reids Hotel- so special.
A wonderful start to 2014 and many happy family memories!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bardsroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was given a trip to this hotel by my husband as a special birthday treat and mainly went to Funchal for the fireworks of 2013 which were fantastic, an experience in itself and the hotel opened the roof terrace for an even higher view.

The hotel is situated in old part of Funchal and is ideally located to get to the shops, cable cars and harbour area (I saw 12 cruise ships come for the fireworks in total which was quite a sight) and is mainly away from any loud, late bars etc. The hotel is very clean and organised as you would expect and breakfast was typically eat as much as you like with a wide variety to choose from. The bar is open only till 12:00 pm where live music (pianist) was supplied on Monday and Thursday and was very talented.

Our trip was B & B so we could enjoy all the restaurants (of which there are many spilling out onto cobbled streets & a must to visit) with no pressure to move on to get a second sitting in (all very relaxed). We usually went to a local bar after our meal and got back to the hotel after most of the other residents had gone to bed.

I found the residents very helpful and welcoming and the small shop owners were not adverse to reducing prices and I saved 26 Euros on one purchase. There are hardly any pavements in old Funchal but a lot of the streets were narrow and vehicles didn't go down them anyway.

We did walk into the main city centre and I found it very clean and quite cosmopolitan with lines of trees to break up the paved areas and some lovely architecture (old mixed with new).

The only down side of this trip would be that on the whole the residents of this hotel seemed to be of an older age group so the evenings were really very quiet, but if you are happy to find entertainment if you want it yourself, not a problem.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.5 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
1.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
1.8 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quinta da Bela Vista
Quinta da Bela Vista
#21 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Property: Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#42 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing