We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing & beautyfull!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing & beautyfull!”
Reviewed 5 May 2010

Our room had the sea view with a big balcony, very romantic... The room service, the breakfast and bar staff were all so nice and gentle. Always with a smille!

The location is the best, old town, not in the middle of all the other hotels like on the other side of Funchal city. We could walk through the old town narrow streets and admire the portuguese architecture...and in 5m we were already in the city centre!

I trully recommend this hotel, not just for couples but also for business. As a Marketing Director I asked to the Head of Reception to show me the hotels facilities (conference room, private area for restaurant). I might go there with some of our best clients!

Well done to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaurusAgency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    137
    33
    15
    11
See reviews for
29
259
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
woking
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Stayed at the Sao Tiago for 2 weeks. Very happy with all aspects, the view across to the harbour is one of the best in Funchal - even if you don't stay there go for afternoon tea on the upper veranda - its got a better view than Reids which everyone raves about. Being located in the old town, the hotel is away from the noise of the town centre and yet is very close to good restaurants and fine walks both into Funchal itself or up into the hills. The staff provided an excellent service, there was plenty of vareity at breakfast with a good bar menu for those last minute snacks. Internet access is provided free to all guests and there is a library which had more than enough good reading material to while away 2 weeks by the excellent pool. We very much hope to go back there in a couple of years or so.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catenary10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed for a week and had a thoroughly enjoyable stay with good weather. The hotel is excellent, in a good location in the old town, with a bit of a climb uphill to keep you fit! If you can’t manage that, then Bus no. 40 goes right past the door. All the staff were friendly and obliging and did their best to help with any request.
We were lucky enough to stay in a deluxe suite and the room was beautiful, with spectacular views of the ships entering and leaving the harbour. We found the beds comfortable – two large singles pushed together. We also had a dressing room which contained a safe, but were surprised to have to pay 1 euro a day to use the safe. The bathroom had two basins, a jacuzzi bath with shower, a separate walk-in shower and a hairdryer. Bathrobes were provided. The lounge area had a sofa bed, not very comfortable to sit on, and a small dining table and chairs. Outside, the terrace went around 3 sides of the suite and had a small table and two chairs but no sunloungers.
There were tvs in the bedroom and lounge and a minibar, which was locked up when the room was cleaned on our last day. A minor point is that there were no tea-making facilities in the room.
The breakfast buffet was excellent with choice of cereals, fruits, breads, cold meats, cheeses, pastries and hot dishes including scrambled or fried eggs, American-style bacon, mushrooms, sausages, tomatoes, baked beans, etc.
The menu for lunch was limited – mainly sandwiches and salads, but very nice.
Dinner consisted of 5 small courses which looked very pretty on the plate, but were a bit too fancy for our liking. Some of the combinations were strange – e.g. chocolate sauce or curry sauce dotted around the plate on savoury dishes – and some of the items were unrecognizable until you tasted them which did not suit my husband as he prefers plain food. If you ate everything it was a good meal, but a nightmare for anyone fussy.
Having said that, we had a long chat with the chef and he bent over backwards to accommodate us and provide something my husband would eat.
There were very few people dining – perhaps because it’s a quiet time of year – but also if you didn’t have meals included in your package as we did, it would be expensive to eat in the hotel.
Madeira itself is a beautiful island with some lovely gardens and stunning views from some of the “miradouros” - if you have a hire car, try Cabo Girão to the west of Funchal, Eira do Serrado (on the way to the Nuns’ Valley) or Ponta de São Lourenço as far as you can go to the east. The road along the northern coast is also spectacular in places.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LizFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We had a great time at this hotel. Everything was just right. room food location etc etc. Every thing except the pillows. They were the most uncomfortable I have encountered!! One reviewer said that 20 euros to get pool towels was too much but we were not asked for any money and even if we had been it would only have been a refundable deposit. Another reviewer commented on the longest checkin and security queues to get home and said never again but we flew home on 14th Oct and experienced non of those problems so dont be put off. We found the resteraunts in the old town a bit "samey" but good enough for an 11 night stay. As a whole we enjoyed our stay and would recomend the hotel and location.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShePortisheadEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wokingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

An excellent hotel, beautiful, brilliant location, with efficient staff. Staff were attentive, friendly and always helpful. Their English was good and the Reception staff had time to answer general enquiries. The hotel is above the old Fort in the old town in a very quiet site only minutes away from a wide range of restaurants offering excellent value. The cable-car and bus station is ten minutes walk away. Breakfasts are incredible comprehensive buffets with hot and cold food from cereals, juice, meat/cheese to English and continental,even bubbly wine. The restaurant is fine dining, perhaps expensive for some, often with music sometimes live. There is a good range of local cheaper ones for all tastes. We also ate at the Fort restaurant which is excellent. The hotel rooms provide enough space, while not large considering you spend most of your time outside, on terraces, or on the balcony. Spacious pleasant bathroom, good shower above bath, supplied robes. The bedroom appears good but two large twin beds, no doubles, are positioned next to each other –and are rather disappointing. A multi-station tv, fridge (no mini-bar), working desk, and chairs lead to a balcony with chairs to admire the view. Trips to west and east of island are good. Monte Palace gardens are best value, Palheiro very disappointing. The town has several free gardens, those on the gentle climb up towards Savoy & Reids hotels are very good. Avoid the hassle of being accosted every few yards along the front by the marina – time-share etc. A peaceful holiday ruined by 2.5 hours in the longest queues at the airport going back – like Heathrow T4 only worse. 100 yds for check-in, another 100 yds at security, 200 yds and up the escalators ! for passport control, and finally the slowest line to actually board a plane I’ve ever known. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fjharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Travelled with Thomas Cook and the taxi transfer was excellent. Very good welcome from reception staff. We had decided not to pay the extra for a sea view as we had already travelled extensively this year, so we were in the original part of the hotel, very spacious and spotlessly clean. No balcony or terrace as stated in the brochure but we decided not to make a fuss as the room was lovely and very quiet despite overlooking the road. We soon sorted out the air-con and lights control. The breakfasts were superb and taken on the terrace overlooking the pool and harbour - cruise liners in sight. The pool definitely isn't suitable for children - very deep and shelved quickly but lovely and clean. It was quiet, often we were the only ones there. Take your own beach towels - you can hire them though at a deposit of 20 euros each which we thought a bit exorbitant. Interesting mini banana plantation and avocado trees at the bottom of the hotel. Short walk to the old town -lots of restauraunts. I recommend the Restaurante de Forte set in the fortress just below the hotel on the Rua Portao Sao Tiago- truly a gastronomic delight. Had two meals there and the food was wonderful. Pricey but worth every penny. www.restaurantedoforte.com.
Also enjoyed the Risotto restaurant ?Riso as well.
The cable car to Monte where the Tropical Garden and toboggan ride is was also close. Steep climb up and down the tropical garden, but there is a golf buggy available for the exhausted! We got a bus to the Botanic garden and taxi back - easy. Went on two of the trips - one to the west and north of the island and the other to the east, both very enjoyable. Lots of levada walks for the energetic. However Madeira definitely isn't the place to go if you have any walking difficulties, everywhere there are steep hills. No beaches in Funchal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkielyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is an excellent hotel, particularly in terms of its staff and its location. Staff were attentive, friendly and always helpful. Their English was perfect and the Reception staff were always ready to answer general enquiries and offer advice. The hotel is in the old town on a very quiet and beautiful site about 5 minutes walk away from numerous restaurants offering excellent value. The bus station is ten minutes walk away

Helpful?
Thank hpboap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#10 of 86 in Funchal
1,781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quinta Das Vistas Palace Gardens
0.2 mi away
Residencial Mariazinha
Residencial Mariazinha
#55 of 86 in Funchal
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#31 of 86 in Funchal
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago

Property: Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago
Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 70, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#42 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming 4-star hotel Quinta Bela São Tiago was originally a traditional Madeiran Manor House built in 1834. The manor house and its extensive gardens have been carefully restored to create a paradise right in the heart of this lovely old district.The Quinta Bela São Tiago offers a welcoming and relaxing atmosphere in a unique location in Madeira! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Hotel Funchal
Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Funchal
Hotel Quinta Bela Sao Tiago Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing