We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good base for seeing the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“good base for seeing the island”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is good value for money, clean, very good sized rooms with huge wardrobes and good comfortable chairs and sofas.
Convenient for buses and several restaurants.
Although we had a room at the front of the hotel, next to the road, once the balcony doors were shut there was very little traffic noise. The bathroom was lovely with a shower as well as a bath. Air conditioning worked well and wasn't on a timer!
Staff were polite and helpful but not over friendly.
The pool bar needs someone there the majority of the time. While we were there we had to ring the restaurant next door for refreshments and then had to wait almost 1/2 an hour for them to arrive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ally666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    45
    38
    15
    3
See reviews for
30
58
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked Terrace Mar Hotel through a Dutch travel organization and were given an all in deal, including the hotel, a rental car, excursions, transfers and the flight. Terrace Mar Hotel is a 3 star hotel in the hotel area of Funchal close to Reid's Palace Hotel, Cliff Bay Hotel and all the other hotels in the Lido area. We shared a double and had an extra bed in the room for our mother who travelled with us. If you book breakfast for the full stay, they give you a special day of 5 Euros per day. Breakfast is simple but offers all you need. Wifi is available in the relaxation area down stairs, not in the rooms, but at least it is free of charge, there you can also find books and magazines in all languages as well. Every day we would use the roof top swimming pool after we had spend the day sight seeing. From the hotel you can take the local bus to go downtown for 1.95 Euros. The hotel is surrounded by many different restaurants which offer a tourist menu at very affordable rates (starting at 12 Euros per person for a three course menu). The hotel was opened in 1996 and could use a renovation by now to make it more modern but it was clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kjongman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Spent a week in this nice hotel in middle of march 2014. The room was a bit old fashioned but functional and big enough for two of us. Refrigerator was good to have like double balconies in 4th floor (one in room, other in corridor). Top floor outside swimming pool (temp. 24 C) and jacuzzi (35 C) were used daily. Breakfast included to our stay was basic but good quality, did enjoy the coffee from machine. Free WIFI is available only on bottom floor (breakfast&lounge) but also Terrace D'Ajuda -restaurant had a free WIFI. Staff was helpful and managed to get a smile from staff every time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

For people who care about animals, I would not recommend! The hotel restaurant has 1-3 Ara parrots chained outside their restaurant everyday without shelter from sun/ rain! Horrible!

Basics about the hotel:
The rooms where average. Cleaning staff were friendly, rooms were made everyday.
Breakfast was better then we expected, even though the coffee was horrible! :)

We stayed in Terrace Mar for a week in march. Weather changed a lot, so the terrace and swimming pool were the only place we swam and sunbathe. Big plus! This and the location was the biggest pros.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lero1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orkney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stayed here first week of March and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We had a suite on the third floor with adjoining rooms - one double, one twin - for our family of 4 complete with a small kitchen area and two balconies. We were on a bed and breakfast basis and found the breakfast fresh and varied and all hotel staff friendly and helpful. The location is good with a vast choice of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bornanbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hotel is within a reasonable walking distance of Funchal centre. We went for walk around the block and counted 18 restaurants within 10 minutes walk. Friendly and helpful staff, rooms a little tired, things like cracked sink, chipped bath. Rooms very clean and comfortable, our stay was in January and we were lent a very efficient heater. The restaurant attached to the hotel gives good value and nice local food. One tip, if you are hiring a car and want to use the underground car park (4 euros a day) either have a small car or full excess insurance, it's a bit tight! We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Great experience all over, nice room, two balconies so you can follow the sun or the shade, very clean, good insulation from street noise. Roof pool and terrace with great views. Lovely and very helpful staff. We went for the self-catering option so we could have breakfast of whatever we liked whenever we wanted. Location is very convenient both for the coast promenade and the town centre. Would revisit any time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbara1313Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 mi away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
534 reviews
1.0 mi away
Funchal Design Hotel
Funchal Design Hotel
#54 of 86 in Funchal
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#47 of 86 in Funchal
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#67 of 86 in Funchal
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Jardins d’Ajuda Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Mar Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Mar Suite Hotel

Property: Terrace Mar Suite Hotel
Address: Travessa Valente 7, Funchal, Madeira 9000-092, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Mar Suite Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Totally renovated in December 2016. Concept Terrace Mar result of a thorough renovation, with a light, fresh and timeless concept. The project of decoration and design adds to the previous hotel a more appealing area of the solarium and Jacuzzi, giving the rooms and commons areas all the facilities and features to the current visitor. The generic blue sky of Madeira, together with elegant white wood furniture, are the predominant colours, giving our guests a sense of peace, well-being and harmony. Location Set in one of the best areas of Funchal, this small and friendly four stars aparthotel is located 500 meters away from the sea and the Lido promenade and bathing complex and about 20 minutes walk from the city centre. The Hotel is nearby supermarkets, bars, restaurants, shops, banks and bus stations. Accommodation With a modern, nice and functional decoration, the hotel has 43 spacious junior suites and suites, all with balcony and complete kitchenettes. All the rooms also have air conditioning, flat screen TV with cable TV connection, Wi-Fi, seating and dining area with sofa, table and chairs, private bathroom with hair dryer, walk-in shower as well as a furnished balcony with double glazed windows and doors. Facilities 24 hour reception, nice terrace with a heated outdoor pool with Jacuzzi and panoramic solarium, sauna, massage services and beauty treatments, pool bar during summer season, garage, laundry service, free Wi-Fi and meeting room with TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Terrace Mar Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terrace Mar Hotel Funchal
Terrace Mar Suite Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing