We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely little winter retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Vila Vicencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vila Vicencia
Ranked #4 of 31 Funchal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tewkesbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely little winter retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

As weprrefer a more individual holidy experience this lovely little place was perfect. The rooms were well appointed and spacious, the breakfast selection was just right, and the hotel is ideally placed for the Lido and even the Old Town with plenty of options for eating out, and the litte Spar shop on the corner has anexcellent selection of cured meats, cheese and other snacks for a picnic lunch by the pool in the lovely gardens. with good quality wooden furniture not plastic tat! We were here for a week and it is such a perfect place for a winter retreat we booked to come for 2 weeks next Feb before we had even left!

Room Tip: a balcony or patio is definitely worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinker_bell999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    89
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
212
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ebihari
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from our mini-holiday in Funchal where we stayed in Vila Vicencia. The reason to chose this hotel was that they promise wifi coverage and indeed they have full coverage everywhere - not only at the reception area but in the rooms and at the pool.

The staff was very kind and friendly, we traveled with our 5 months old son and the hotel made our stay extremely convenient even with a baby. We got a 2 rooms apartment so when the baby slept we shouldn't have to walk on egg shelves - and we also received a travel cot where the baby had a good night sleep. When the weather turned a bit cold - cold enough for our son - we got a mobile heater as well.

We also liked the breakfast which was in a cozy restaurant near the reception. The menu was every day different and enough for a good day start. The pool area was always clean and you get your privacy while sunbathing.

We spent most of our other meals in the restaurant nearby where our baby monitor still sent a signal and I can warmly recommend that place as well. Excellent food for excellent price and nice staff!

About the location: good location, the sightseeing bus is just a minute away and the ocean is a 5 minutes walk - but be careful a bit hilly backwards. Wonderful garden and place to sit if your mobility is slightly different with a baby.

All in all with our without a child I can recommend this hotel and once we return to Funchal we definitely stay in the same hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

just back from this lovely little b&b just enter the green door in the side of the wall and you are in the perfect place 3 old villas with small garden and pool in the middle we had a great room (no 3) that had a patio in the garden and just by the pool we had the sun on the room just about all day so was nice to sit out at any time breakfast was in the lovely sun room in the main villa and was continental style with a couple of cooked items each day but every day was a fresh baked cake yummy apple,coconut,pineapple etc plus the usual flakes, toast.,yogs. Room and all public places very clean staff all pleasant would go back any time.

Room Tip: if u like a patio not a balcony room 2,3,4 all in the garden by the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We came here after listening to our friends rave about it. It's our first visit to Madeira (same friends, same raving!) and we couldn't be more pleased. This little hotel is tucked away behind gates in a little side street but once inside it's an oasis : ) We are in room 45 and it has a modest but perfectly adequate balcony overlooking the garden and towards the sea. The room itself is a delight. Breakfast is perfect for us in that the choice is good and you have the option of eating inside or in the garden. The staff are all lovely and SO helpful. Wifi is very strong and the laundry service is efficient. We've hired a car to explore the island and we worried that the absence of a hotel car park would make life a little difficult. No worries there.......the car hire outfit is right opposite the hotel and they allow us to park in their underground car par........result! All in all I have to say that we are having a wonderful holiday in Madeira and this hotel is playing a big part in making it that way. We would love to return : )

Room Tip: Try to get first floor rather than ground floor and ask for a garden or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophielouiseemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in.The staff were helpful,away from the crowds, peaceful,great choice at breakfast & also will make you a packed lunch for a days walking. plenty of choice for evening meals within walking.

Room Tip: garden rooms handy for pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed in room 22 -beautiful sea view-lounge area and large balcony--very clean and well maintained. Room Wi Fi
Hotel in good position and secure behind locked gate. Breakfast not brilliant and more fresh fruit would be nice but did not detract from a very enjoyable stay and woulld certainly return

Room Tip: We had a superior room --good views and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murrayl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Tucked away behind a small gate in a back street, this really is a hidden gem. The garden and pool are great to lounge in. Breakfast outside is a real treat, with a different sort of cake on offer each morning. The apple cake was my favourite. There's so many good restaurants within easy distance, it really doesn't matter that the hotel doesn't offer any meal other than breakfast. Everyone, staff and fellow guests, felt like friends by the end of our stay. Definitely a place to come back to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
0.2 mi away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Vicencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Vicencia

Property: Vila Vicencia
Address: Rua Casa Branca 45, Funchal, Madeira 9000-113, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vila Vicencia 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vila Vicencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Vicencia Hotel Funchal
Vila Vicencia Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing